We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Stewkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is very convenient for Manchester city centre. However it is a bit soulless and the restaurant leaves a lot to be desired. The breakfasts are well over priced for what you get....dried up sausages, rubbery eggs, etc. Far better value is the cafe on the corner next door where everything is cooked to order and about a third of the price. The rooms small which is fairley typical of city centre hotels. The staff are pleasant and helpfull.
Five star it is not but serviceable and convenient.

Room Tip: Have breakfast in the next door cafe and eat out for dinner. Also ask for a room either at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodchopperSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your experiences at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City stay.

Please be assured that all comments we receive here at the Hotel are reviewed and acted upon so that we can improve our products and services we offer to our guest. Therefore we will certainly be reviewing our breakfast items. I am sorry that you experienced issues with the food but rest assured you did not experience the usual standards of our 4 star property.

If you wish to take this further our Guest Relations team would be more than happy to help and they can be contacted at the following email address: guest.relations@cpmanchester.com.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,276
    861
    225
    50
    25
See reviews for
347
976
97
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed from 13th-26th July 2014. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The rooms are clean and well-decorated. The mattress was soft, would recommend a firm mattress. The writing chair not comfortable but on complain both the mattress and the writing chair were immediately replaced with a firm mattress and a restaurant chair respectively by Ms. Lavinia Stopponi. The whole staff was very courteous, polite, respectable and helpful. Ms. Lavinia Stopponi was specially very kind and helpful. She would be an asset to the hotel.
The food in the restaurant is of high quality and the service is equally exceptional, especially by Mr. Filipe Silva.
The location of the hotel is very central and easy access to Arnold Centre, train, tram and bus stop.
Recommendation: There must be a telephone in the washroom, firm mattresses in the bedroom and a piano in the lounge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haroonhaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
The Management and Staff of the Crowne Plaza Manchester appreciate all of our guests, especially those that take time out of their busy day to write a review about their stay.
Your comments about Lavinia and Filipe are very kind and I will make sure to pass them on to them.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed Friday and Saturday night... Lovely room very clean, although the view wasn't so good as we looked out over the back it didn't spoil our stay.
First morning breakfast experience was great second morning a little busier so we're waiting for tables to be set etc again didn't spoil our stay and the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janmoo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to maintain our standards.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre in the future.

Best Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here in March 2014 and am really pleased with my stay. I rarely reflect on whether or not the hotel staff are "nice" - I just react if they aren´t. But this was different. All encounters were just naturally service minded and friendly.

The rooms were super tidy, and a tasty full English breakfast with continental supplementary. I will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre.
I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here with my 2 sisters for 3 nights. Reception staff very friendly and effecient. Bedroom very small and really only intended for two obviously as we had to request extra glass, cup etc.each day.I also hated the fact that there was no opening in the window. The corridors are huge and such a waste of space that would be so much more useful in the cramped bedrooms. Bar and restaurant staff very welcoming. Location ideal.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Mary C,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to maintain our standards. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our service in all areas of the hotel and also its surroundings.
I was very sorry if the room size was not up to your liking and the room was not set up for 3 guests.
We do have Twin Deluxe rooms available, they are bigger than the regular Twin rooms and with access to the Club Lounge on the 8th floor, so if you are coming back to Manchester, please remember you also have that option.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed in room 726 on the 7th floor overlooking the road. The bed was comfortable and no noise from the road. Friendly staff, especially Sarah on reception. There was a good selection for breakfast. The only down side is that there is no swimming pool, sauna or treatment room only a gym.

Room Tip: Room 726 was perfect as it had two double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elkie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. I really appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback and I will certainly pass your comments on to Sarah at reception.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was a perfect hotel for me while attending Manchester on business. I stayed in a club room with a wonderful high view. The room was very comfortable and attractive with all amenities (except a little bottle of hair conditioner would have been appreciated). The bed was very snug and comfortable. The bathroom had big fluffy towels. I should have read the website because I missed my complementary glass of wine in the club lounge as it is only served between 6-8pm and I was a few minutes late. I will know next time. Next time I will arrive earlier so that I can experience the benefits of the room and hotel for longer. I will be back.

Room Tip: I stayed in a club room and cannot fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifermsNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
I was delighted to read of your positive comments about your stay especially around the excellent Club rooms and their amenities and facilities. I am sorry that you did not have a chance to experience our aperitif time in the Club Lounge but I look forward to welcoming you back soon so that you will have a chance to use the facility and also enjoy the nice view from there.

Thank you again.

Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing