We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Manchester city centre!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Manchester city centre!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely amazing! We stayed here for my 30th birthday weekend. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome.
We stayed in an Excecutive Suite on the 8th floor (a very kind upgrade from the front of house). Our room was stunning, with floor to ceiling windows and great views of the city. We had access to the Club Lounge where free alcoholic drinks and nibbles are served between 6 and 8pm. The measures are huge and it was just what we needed to start our night!
The staff are so warm and kind. Nothing was too much trouble. We ordered room service at 4am and within 15 minutes, we had a beautiful meal brought up to us. Mark was an exceptional host at the glasshouse bar, really engaging and a great conversation!
Our room was left in a very untidy state by us after a long night of celebrating. We went out to see the sights and on our return the room was spotless! Thank you!
We had originally wanted to stay in the Hilton (our usual choice) but it was fully booked so the Crowne Plaza was a last minute decision. We are so glad that we couldn't get a room in the Hilton as the Crowne Plaza is so much better!
We will definitely be staying here again, it is now our favourite hotel in the city centre.
Thank you to all of the hotel staff for making my birthday so memorable!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us on this occasion and to prefer us to other hotels in the area.
I will be more than happy to pass your feedback on to the whole team here at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, I am glad that we made your stay memorable.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,300
    880
    231
    50
    25
See reviews for
355
989
102
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is one of our most favourite hotels in Manchester, we have been staying here since the hotel opened. It is close to the buzzing Northern Quarter bars and restaurants and a short walk from the Arndale Shopping areas...The rooms are spacious, we would recommend the executive club rooms with lounge access!! We cannot speak highly enough of the staff including Gill, Andrea, Juliette - who always go over and above the call of duty to ensure our stay is special and we have to mention the lovely Sara - who is always a delight at service!! Our home from home in the City - fab!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eldautd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Eldautd,
thank you very much for your lovely comments. It is always a pleasure to receive great feedback like yours on some of our members of staff.
I will certainly pass your comments on to them and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Location of this hotel is excellent. Not far from the shops. The Christmas markets were on in city centre which in itself was wonderful. Staff were pleasant. Breakfast was standard enough. Very functional hotel for a base to the city . Will defiantly return.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bawnnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
I was delighted to read of your positive comments about your stay especially around the excellent service that you received at the hotel from our staff.

We will all be happy to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in the city. It has a good location in the Northern Quarter, close to The Printworks and the Arndale Centre.

The hotel is modern, stylish, airy and well decorated throughout. The room was comfortable, well equipped and stylish. The only lowlight was a slight mouldy smell in the bathroom.

We used the bar which was well stocked, had a good cocktail menu and the service was very good.

Service elsewhere in the hotel was a bit patchy, reception was efficient but not exactly 'warm' especially re the wifi (see below). Service at breakfast was slow and a bit hit and miss, however the range and quality of breakfast items was pretty good.

Overall it was very good HOWEVER it had the same problem as many IHG hotels, namely the dreadful and inconsistent wifi service. The standard free wifi is totally unusable for any web browsing or smartphone app usage (<250k bps). The premium wifi is the only usable wifi for streaming, web browsing, smartphone apps, etc.

I was told that I had to pay for premium wifi FOR EACH DEVICE - given a laptop and two phones between us that would have been £30 per 24 hours - what a rip off. Purchasing access via the hotel web site didn't even work. After complaining they gave me voucher access for one device.

However I was able to get a 4G signal on my mobile phone so ended up getting a far better speed that way than by using the hotel wifi but it did eat up my data allowance.

Room Tip: The free wifi is unusable.... premium wifi is expensive... best to use 4G if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAR-AM-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review onto the tripadvisor website following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre.
I was sorry to hear you did not have a very good stay with us but I do thank you for bringing up all the issues you have experienced so that we can forward to the departments involved.

If you would like to take this forward please contact our Guest Relations Team, they are available to help anytime at: guest.relations@cpmanchester.com.

We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This stay was to celebrate our wedding anniversary and I booked the Presidential Suite as a treat for my wife and I. It turned out the footballer Maradona had stayed in the same suite 2 weeks previous. It was on the top floor which boasted some fantastic views of the city. For a suite the price was very good and included breakfast, a very large bath with TV, and large bed. When we arrived there was a bottle of wine and some flowers to greet us with a welcome message from the manger which i thought was a nice touch. To get around the city book Street Cars, lower cost than the rank. Shopping was very good at the Trafford Centre with over 200 shops

Room Tip: High Rise, and book this suite if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve57hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
I am thrilled that you had a great stay with us and that you have been able to appreciate the fantastic views from our Presidential Suite. It really is one of our points of strength and all guests who have been there (including the football champion Maradona) have been able to appreciate its amenities.
We are glad we made it a memorable stay for you and your other half.

Looking forward to have you back here at the Crowne Plaza.

Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewkley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is very convenient for Manchester city centre. However it is a bit soulless and the restaurant leaves a lot to be desired. The breakfasts are well over priced for what you get....dried up sausages, rubbery eggs, etc. Far better value is the cafe on the corner next door where everything is cooked to order and about a third of the price. The rooms small which is fairley typical of city centre hotels. The staff are pleasant and helpfull.
Five star it is not but serviceable and convenient.

Room Tip: Have breakfast in the next door cafe and eat out for dinner. Also ask for a room either at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodchopperSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your experiences at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City stay.

Please be assured that all comments we receive here at the Hotel are reviewed and acted upon so that we can improve our products and services we offer to our guest. Therefore we will certainly be reviewing our breakfast items. I am sorry that you experienced issues with the food but rest assured you did not experience the usual standards of our 4 star property.

If you wish to take this further our Guest Relations team would be more than happy to help and they can be contacted at the following email address: guest.relations@cpmanchester.com.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed from 13th-26th July 2014. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The rooms are clean and well-decorated. The mattress was soft, would recommend a firm mattress. The writing chair not comfortable but on complain both the mattress and the writing chair were immediately replaced with a firm mattress and a restaurant chair respectively by Ms. Lavinia Stopponi. The whole staff was very courteous, polite, respectable and helpful. Ms. Lavinia Stopponi was specially very kind and helpful. She would be an asset to the hotel.
The food in the restaurant is of high quality and the service is equally exceptional, especially by Mr. Filipe Silva.
The location of the hotel is very central and easy access to Arnold Centre, train, tram and bus stop.
Recommendation: There must be a telephone in the washroom, firm mattresses in the bedroom and a piano in the lounge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haroonhaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
The Management and Staff of the Crowne Plaza Manchester appreciate all of our guests, especially those that take time out of their busy day to write a review about their stay.
Your comments about Lavinia and Filipe are very kind and I will make sure to pass them on to them.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing