We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good view and nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
161 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very good view and nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nice clean and with great ambiance.
You look out over the city old and new from the club rooms on the 8 floor.

Room service breakfast isn't great black pudding rock had bacon but sad looking but the pastries are better.

Reception/concierge are good responsive and give a professional feel to a well appointed hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nfwragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this great review. Your comments, positive or negative help us gauge what we are doing well and what we need to improve on.
It was great to read you enjoyed the wonderful views from the 8th floor and the professional service from our reception and concierge staff.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    851
    221
    49
    25
See reviews for
341
963
96
481
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopton on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed for one night and booked a double room using iHG points. No upgrade on arrival as there was none available but we were offered access to the lounge. No welcome letter either? Being picky, I seem to find that ihg hotels, no matter where I am staying all have a massive difference in how they meet and greet their members.............strange as I thought it would be standardised.
The hotel is well located centrally, about 2 minutes from the Arndale shopping centre. Both train stations are also close by, about 5-10 minute walk and I wouldn't bother getting a taxi unless you have lots of luggage.
Check in was quick and easy, staff were polite, smart and multi lingual. We had a room on the 6th floor. Certainly ask for a room as high as possible as the road below is quite busy if you get allocated one at the front of the hotel.
The room was clean, well equipped although poorly decorated, red and black? I felt like I was in a pay by the hour room!! Also, the shower had little power and was a small cubicle. Nonetheless, the room had all we needed.
Overall, this hotel is great for location, only 2 minutes walk to the corn exchange, Tiger Tiger, Hard Rock Cafe etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scopie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear scopie100,
My sincere thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. Needless to say, I was delighted to read your comments about the staff at check-in and I look forward to sharing this great feedback with all of the team.
I am sorry that you experienced some noise from the street and that you didn't enjoy the decor of your room, but pleased that you had all you needed.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Perfect location for shopping. A ten minute walk to the Deansgate and the bars of Manchester.

The breakfast was superb and the housekeeping was of an excellent standard. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie_floozie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,
it is a pleasure to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us as well as its surroundings. Your comments about the quality of our breakfast and our housekeeping department will be certainly passed on to the relevant managers.

Thank you again.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Decided to use this hotel to cash in some ICH reward points; really good move. Location is great for the City centre and access to busses and trams. Reception & check-in is swift with the room being available on arrival about one hour early (1pm) so that was pleasing after a three and a half hour drive. Rooms are kitted out to a good standard with comfortable beds, bath and shower, fridge, kettle, tea and coffee, hairdryer and decent TV set. One small point was we requested some extra tea and milk for the room; we got some of our request but lots of others with the milk being somewhat rationed. Not the end of the worlk but just missed that attention to detail.
Breakfast was good value at £11 and under 16's free. Choice is on par with most hotels such as cerals, pastry and cooked selection; some options are available on request such as poached eggs at no extra cost.
No onsite parking avaialble, instead the close by NCP Printworks carpark runs a deal for 12 to 24 hour stays costing £12 - be sure to validate your ticket at hotel reception though to get this deal saving £3.
I hadn't previously though about Manchester for a weekend or few days stay (being from the south) but it is well worth it with plenty to do and endless shopping (Arndale and Trafford Centre along with good street shopping) but I'll be returning sometime soon for sure.
Crowne Plazza will certainly on the list as a place to stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40somethingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your most recent visit to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room amenities, as well as indulging in our delicious breakfast in our restaurant. It is an immense pleasure to hear such kind words, please be assured that I have passed these on to the teams.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Very little complaints with hotel. Stayed a week during visit and overall would recommend.

Pros:
- Clean
- Located less than 5 minute walk to Arndale Mall and about 5-7 minute walk to Printworks, Manchester Victoria Station and the National Football Museum
- Within walking distance to lots of Manchester attractions and many pubs/restaurants
- Staff very friendly
- Good breakfast but expect the same food each day
- Stayed in double room and room is quite suitable

Cons:
- Free wifi is horrible (lucky to have 5 straight minutes with no interruptions)
- Shower stall very tiny
- Hotel restaurant has good food for dinner but very pricey

Overall I would come back if I ever had to come to Manchester again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Saverio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Saverio B,
thank you for submitting your very detailed review of the Crowne Plaza Manchester. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed some aspects of the hotel such as its surroundings, staff and food. I do appreciate the points you have brought up in regards to shower size and wifi connection.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a family break for the school holidays.
The hotel is very modern and clean. Very good location if your arriving at Manchester Victoria. It's only 5 mins from the station. The hotel is also in a good location to visit the main heart of Manchester. Arndale Centre is only a 5 min walk and Northern Quarter about the same.
Family Rooms consist of 2 double beds are very spacious. They have ultra modern black and white decor and full length windows.
Breakfast was excellent and had a good selection to suit all tastes.
Staff were very helpful and checking/out was a breeze. They provided a map of the city and explained how to get around either on foot or by the free city centre shuttle buses.
Overall the Crowne Plaza is an excellent hotel and I would highly recommend a stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
I am so pleased to hear that you and your family had a memorable stay with us! Thank you so much for sharing your experiences here, and for your lovely comments about the hotel, its surroundings and the staff.
I'll be pleased to pass your comments on to the team.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is simply fantastic, we stayed here for my husbands birthday and after being out all day decided to try the glasshouse restaurant, the food was amazing and very well priced and the waiter David could not be more helpfull and friendly

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franhammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your most recent visit to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's surroundings, as well as indulging in a meal in our restaurant. It is an immense pleasure to hear such kind words, please be assured that I have passed these on to the teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back where a warm welcome will await you.

Best Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,736 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing