We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plugs in the wet room?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #14 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Plugs in the wet room?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

In general, this is a lovely hotel - new and v trendy. The corridors were a bit futuristic and I felt like I was in some American movie!

My room had a wet room as a bathroom, which was a bit of an experience! I didn't realise wet rooms came with a plug, so when I showered, the bathroom promptly flooded, leaving me with a wet carpet and a v soapy bathroom floor. Once I got the hang of this, it was much better!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen7ify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, Operations Manager, Robin Ford at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2010
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and my apologies for the delay in responding to your review.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation and your comments are very important to us. The plugs situated in our wet rooms are a standard and requirement although i note your comments around easily flooding the bathroom and we are reviewing a more suitable solution at the moment.

Thank you for your review and if you would like to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Warm Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

P: +44 161 828 8641
E: robin.ford@cpmanchester.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    844
    218
    48
    24
See reviews for
335
952
96
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

I have just stayed at this hotel for one night on a Business Trip, the room was great, very comfortable king bed, great bathroom with bath and separat shower cubicle (although the cubicle was a little small), room clean, room service excellent and prompt for breakfast, the location is ideal for shopping, nightlife and business sector. Valet parking good for £18 a day, great to have free internet access in all rooms. I look forward to returning soon to the CP Manchester Citry Centre.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, Operations Manager, Robin Ford at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2010
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, we appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

Had a one night stay and got given a room with a view over a building site. Very modern and chic room. Had room service which was expensive, poor food, small portions and slow service (including an auo tip!). Breakfast is great . Overall I thought the hotel looks good but has no soul or atmosphere. Staff were fine but nothing special and the price (£115 inc breakfast) was expensive for a standard room.

May stay again but only if I can get a deal and wouldn't order room service!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fcuom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, Operations Manager, Robin Ford at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 8 March 2010
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, we appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your stay.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, thank you for your comments, if you would like to discuss them further please do not hesitate to contact me.

Warm Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

P: +44 161 828 8641
E: robin.ford@cpmanchester.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

I recently had a 1 night stay at this hotel and had a very good experience.

The hotel is fairly close to the city centre, although on a brief wander around the area i didn't find anywhere i felt like eating. I decided to just have a burger in the bar and it was good quality and freshly prepared.

Check-in was very friendly and efficent and check-out just as good.

My room was clean and very comfortable. The style is very modern with "mmod" lighting and dark colours. The bed was large and comfortable, the wall mounted TV was very good with a good range of free channels. The bathroom was spacious with a good power shower in a seperate cubicle, although i could only just get the shower head above head height.

The whole place seemed to run smoothly and while i was only there a night i would certainly return and recommend it to anyone visiting Manchester.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amarone61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 7 December 2009
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, we appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

Had a great one-night stay at the CP Manchester City Centre. Hotel is well located about 10 minutes walk from Piccadilly station and within a short walk of the Printworks, Urbis, and 'Manchester's fashionable Northern quarter'.

Check in was quick and efficient despite the fact we arrived just after a coach party. We were upgraded to a Club Level room (perhaps as I am Priority Club Gold member). The room was quiet and very comfortable, with a great shower and trendy decor. The room wasn't huge but as big as expected in a city centre hotel.

We ate breakfast in the club lounge as we only wanted coffee and a some toast as we were having a big lunch. The lounge was a bit soulless (like an airport lounge) but convenient to get coffee or drinks.

My only criticism would be a lack of information about the hotel facilities - for example, we didn't find out that there are free alcoholic drinks in the club lounge each evening until the next morning. But I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mxlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, Operations Manager, Robin Ford at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 7 December 2009
Thank you for your recent review on Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, I really appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive acknowledgment and praise. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our efforts and takes the time to say thank you.

Your comments will be shared with our entire team as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre.

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

Our journey to manchester had been a long one so to avoid any hassle we called as we reached manchester to get directions, after a 10 minute wait on hold we had a clueless member of staff give us directions but failed to explain all the roads surrounding were being dug up so absolutely no chance of getting close to the hotel. We parked in the nearest car park (the printworks) and dragged our cases through a busy bus station with no offer of help from the hotel...great start. We were then greeted with a dingy front foyer that looked less inviting than the bus station we had just had to walk through.
We had booked the presidential suite for 2 nights and when we entered the room we thought it was a joke! Firstly the room absolutely stunk of bad drains and was filthy. The room was the size of a shoe box, (seriously was marginally bigger than most standard rooms in this class).
Within 30 seconds of seeing the room we went downstairs and checked out. We explained clearly that we were not happy about the rooms and that the website had purposely not shown pictures of the room as to call this a presidential suite was nothing short of a breach of trade descriptions. This was greeted initially with it being no problem to checkout, however we were then told it would be a £400 cancellation charge!!
Needless to say I was not happy to pay £400 for a 30 second stay and then an almighty argument ensued. Eventually a senior manager joined in and agreed to reduce this to £200!! . The nett result is that I have now had to charge this money back through my creditcard company.
We stay in hotels approx 3 times per month and this is by far the worst experience of a blatant lack of customer care I have ever seen.
If the presidential suite was of this quality I dread to think what the standard rooms are, however as we were arguing in the reception there was more than one other comment saying others were experiencing problems too.
1 out of 5 is far too good a score and I urge all to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B6723UYjasonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, Operations Manager, Robin Ford at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 7 December 2009
Thank you for your review regarding your recent experience, I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation and your comments are very important to us, I am only sorry you feel we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.

Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

I've stayed here twice this year. Once for one night on business and then later for two nights at the weekend. Both rooms were comfortable and spacious, although the first one (with two double beds) would be a little cosy for more than two people. Both rooms were at the back of the hotel and were quiet with exceptionally comfortable beds. One room was immediately behind the lift, which made a small amount of slightly irritating noise, but not to enough to disturb my sleep. Breakfast was a little busy on the weekend visit - especially Saturday morning, when there was a queue as I was leaving. The staff in the hotel were all helpful. Highly recommended if you can get a good rate (one of the weekend nights was under £100, the other was close to £150). Free internet is a bonus and the location is OK (close to Victoria station, some way from all the others, but very close to the Shudehill Interchange where the trams will visit once the system has been renovated).

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshire-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, Operations Manager, Robin Ford at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, 7 December 2009
Thank you for your recent review, we really appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our efforts and takes the time to say thank you, i will ensure your comments are shared.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

PS: The trams are back up and running!

Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#15 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing