We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #17 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2010

stayed here last night for business. I wanted to stay at the other end of deansgate as it was nearer where I needed to be but because of a united match the hilton, raddisson, malmaison and city inn was full. so i was kind of forced to the crowne plaza although i thought it a bit out of the way. it is not but is right behind the arndale.

valet parking is £18 but we parked in the printworks which was across the road and very light and new for which the hotel gives you 25% discount to about £10

bar was full for the football so I had room service which was great - omlette was £5.99. extra tv channels including itv2

bath and shower, mini bar, tea and coffee (no herbal tea)

altogether very nice

Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
Thank CSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Thank you for your recent comments regarding Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, we appreciate you taking the time to make people aware of experience during your stay.

If you would like to discuss any part of your experience further I welcome the opportunity to discuss with you personally, please do not hesitate to contact me on my details below.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,401 - 2,407 of 2,637 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

The Crowne Plaza Hotel met all our requirements while staying for the ATL Conference in Manchester. We stayed for three nights and the service was excellent. We had room 422 which was really comfortable with two double beds that had lovely soft mattresses and four pillows each, which we appreciated while away from home. There was a large plaza television in the room. The decoration was tasteful and modern, giving a fresh look about the place. The housekeeping was very efficient and the staff friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast provided a substantial meal comprising a complete and full range from cooked food to toast and cereals on a buffet basis, but if you preferred something else such as fish or eggs benedict etc, this could be ordered from the menu. A full range of fruit was available also. A small observation we might make was that the price of the drinks at the bar,we considered expensive, although they were served by an excellent bar steward. Another downside was the lack of hotel car parking , meaning you had to park in the public car park close by and although the hotel gave 25% off the cost, it was slightly inconvenient. Generally overall it is a super hotel that meets all modern requirements. We would recommend the Crowne Plaza Hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disappointed46ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights, hotel perfectly located on edge of Northern Quarter, very close to everywhere we wanted to go. Smooth check-in, very nice Club Room with bath and separate shower, floor to ceiling windows, plenty of room. Only gripe would be that the Club Lounge only serves drinks & canapes from 6 to 8pm every evening which is not long enough. Parking very close by at reduced rate of £10 per day. All-in-all would definitely stay here again if visiting Manchester and could get a good deal on a room. Wouldn't pay full whack for a Club Room, but perhaps that's just me!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Thank you for your recent review; I appreciate you taking the time to alert others of your experience and I have shared your comments with our team here at the hotel.

Should you wish to discuss any part of your experience further I would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss personally, please do not hesitate to contact me on my details below.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

I stayed here from the 24th/27th March with my daughter. Had a rate including full Breakfast - excellent value for money.
Hotel is very modern in design and to some it might appear quite stark. Although no great views from the bedrooms, the hotel is only a few minutes walk from a Metro stop and about 10 minutes walk from a huge variety of restaurants and some excellent shopping, eg Harvey Nicholls & Selfridges.
Buffet breakfast was good, although staff could be quicker about clearing away dirty dishes from tables - tended to walk past and ignore them. Also over the 3 mornings, the plates for the cooked breakfast were never hot.
I had a twin bedroom to the back of the hotel and thought that it had been badly designed. The bed at the window was so close that you could not close the curtain easily and only get in/out from one side. However the main problem was the restricted daylight in the room - the window was only about one third of the available space and this was made worse by a net curtain. The light was poor if you wanted to sit on the edge of the bed and try to read a paper or book as there was no ceiling light - only some small reading lights on the back of the bed - their light did not reach very far.
You do not expect a new build Crowne Plaza, or any 4 star hotel, to have this kind of problem. I make my comments from an industry perspective, as I am involved in the quality grading of hotels. The hotel also does not have a coments procedure in place, as I expressed my concern to Reception on checking out and have heard nothing further.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas19Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Thank you for your recent review; I appreciate you taking the time to alert others of your experience.

I have shared your comments with our management team and we have taken away your comments around the room design and décor, unfortunately as this is a design led issue and very much centers around the overall design of our hotel, given your background as you mention in your review I hope you would agree there is minimal opportunity to amend in retrospect.

I also noted your comments around breakfast; this has since been discussed at great lengths with my Executive Chef and Restaurant & Bar Manager relevant steps to correct such problems including purchasing new heating elements for the plate warmer have been taken.

Should you wish to discuss any part of your experience further I would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss personally, please do not hesitate to contact me on my details below.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

From the minute we arrived all the staff were friendly and helpful, the room lovely, clean and modern and despite other reviewers comments about the lighting, we had no problems and thought it was ideal. Bathroom was spotless.

We had a meal in the hotel restaurant which was good, but I really can't enjoy a sweet salad dressing with a savoury meal. The first two wines we chose were unavailable, not good for a hotel of this standard, but the staff were most pleasant and helpful and made up for the other shortcomings.

I also notice from other reviews there were complaints about breakfast, both of us thought the scambled eggs extremely good for a hotel and the coffee was plentiful, no complaints from us.

Only a five minute walk and you are in the city centre, or the same distance to the Victoria Station for trams and trains. We would definitely return for another Manchester break!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneConwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Thank you for your recent review on our hotel; we really appreciate you taking time out of your day to to alert others of your experience during your recent stay with us.

Unfortunately from time to time we do have wines that are either unavailable from the vineyard or are sold out due to levels of demand, we work very hard to try to source all our wines in large enough volumes but on rare occasions limited availability is prohibitive.

Overall it’s great to read you have a nice stay and should you wish to discuss any part of your experience further I welcome the opportunity to discuss personally, please do not hesitate to contact me on my details below.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

I was with a group for the Manchester vs Liverpool game.
The breakfast was good however, it would be nice to be asked if we wanted more tea or coffee.
The lighting in the hotel and room was a bit dark.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimiCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Thank you for your recent review; I appreciate you taking the time to alert others of your experience.

I have shared your comments with our management team and we have taken away your comments around the room being a little dark, this is very much to do with the design of the property.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

The web site offered me a room with two double beds for the price of a standard room, naively assuming that this implied a larger room, I accepted. Instead they had shoe horned two beds into a normal sized room. The remaining floor space was perfectly adequate for one person – but then the second bed serves no useful purpose! Two sharing the room would be so cosy that you’d end up sharing a bed, and four in the room would be totally out of the question unless you’re planning something very intimate – so I’m not sure if I was upgraded or was simply looking after a spare bed?

The other problem is the room lighting and décor – the lighting levels are absurdly low and the décor includes large gloss black panels and grey walls so that if you try to work in the room, cabin fever kicks in fairly quickly and you have to adjourn to the bar.

There is no parking – but reception will discount your NCP ticket to £10 for 24 hours, and the advertised free internet only applies in the public areas, they charge £5 to plug into the room broadband. The net result is a bill £15 higher than say the Crown Plaza Liverpool where both parking and broadband are free.

On the positive side, the bathroom had a separate bath & shower and the staff were extremely friendly and attentive. Overall, a good choice if you need to be in that part of Manchester, only intend staying one night, and don’t suffer from any form of light deficiency disorder – otherwise, you’ll get better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Thank you for your recent review; I appreciate you taking the time to alert others of your experience.

I have shared your comments with our management team and we have taken away your comments around the room design and décor, unfortunately as this is a design led issue and very much centers around the overall design of our hotel there is minimal opportunity to amend in retrospect.

I note your comments around Car Parking but as I hope you agree car parking in any major city can be a problem and we offer a car parking solution less than 150 meters away from our front door with a discounted (25%) rate and a designated bay to drop off in front of the hotel – given that we do not have a Car Park we feel this is a great service to provide.

I hope this does not put you off choosing to stay in future and we will see you return to Crowne Plaza Manchester very soon. Should you wish to discuss any part of your experience further I welcome the opportunity to discuss personally, please do not hesitate to contact me on my details below.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,878 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 121 in Manchester
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £77 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing