We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular Visitor - Reliable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2010

I stay at this hotel regularly as do members of my team as we get a consistently good level of service and support from the hotel. The rooms are in pretty good condition, the staff are excellent, friendly and helpful and the hotel is well located. The biggest problem is often getting a room and the hotel often help out when we are struggling with this. This only really reflects the hotels popularity. I would recommend this hotel and will continue to stay here. My only complaint is that the in-room internet is now chargeable and this is a detrimental change as 3G signal in the hotel isnt brilliant due to its construction.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 246,170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Thank you for your recent comments regarding Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, we appreciate you taking the time to make people aware of experience during your many various stays.

If you would like to discuss any part of your experiences further I welcome the opportunity to discuss with you personally, please do not hesitate to contact me on my details below.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,


Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,367 - 2,373 of 2,612 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2010

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre with friends, as we were seeing Peter Kay. Arrived at 3.30 (check in from 2.00) to be told that rooms weren't ready and they didn't know when they would be! Went for a drink in the nearby Printworks complex and returned at 4 - still not ready!! After a bit of persuading 1 room miraculously became free and at 4.30 we managed to wrangle our 2nd room. People were checking in at 5 and were still having to wait for rooms. Apparently the hotel was fully booked the night before, probably due to Peter Kay residency at the MEN - hint to management get more room cleaners in. No sign of management offering anything to compensate for delays, like a drink on the house.

Once we got to the room it was very stylish and trendy. Bed was very comfortable.
Best - Beds
Worst - Check in

If you're staying here to see PK don't bother turning up too early!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arsenal-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Thank you for your recent review, I appreciate you taking the time to alert others of your experience although on this occasion we did not meet or exceed your expectations.

Regrettably we did encounter some problems on the weekend due to late departures from guests the night prior, this was an isolated incident and the arrival and check-in process is normal seamless and second to none at the hotel. I also note your comments around “managerial” presence on the day; I will follow this up with my departmental managers as there are dedicated managers that are present every weekend including a member of our senior management team.

I hope this does not put you off choosing to stay in future and should you wish to discuss any part of your experience further I welcome the opportunity to discuss personally, please do not hesitate to contact me on my details below.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Stayed there for 4 nights and cannot fault this hotel. From the check in staff to the housekeeping-- just immaculate. The gentlemen at the concierge were the best I' ve ever come accross and I am in the hotel business so I know what I am talking about.
We were stranded because of the airport closure so had to stay two more nights. The concirege helped me all along updating me regularly on the status of the flights. They even assisted me in calling the airport several times. They went out of their way to make sure we were at ease and comfortable.
The ladies at the reception were always attentive, They always smiled, nicely dressed in their well fittinging suits and prompt when I asked for an extension of stay and very accomodating when I requested a late check out on the final day.
I had drinks in their restaurant and they were cold and servers very attentive
The rooms are very comfy and the beds and pillows are the best. They are by no means huge but very warm and comfy. The lighting was soft but ample.
The location is also very good and just a few minutes walk to many great Restaurants and Picaddily .
my family and me will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frogieusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, i will ensure your comments are circulated accordingly to all of our team here at the hotel.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

would like to say its one of the best hotels i have stayed in, in manchester will go back again ,close to everywhere esp the m.e.n , tidy ,gud size room upgraded to club lounge well worth in for an extra 40 pound for both which included breakfast ,complimentary drinks 6-8pm and soft drinks and coffee all day , and very nice staff both at reception and restaurant looking for deals to go back !!! lol from rachel shields

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Dear Rachel,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre - I have shared your comments with all departments including the Restaurant & Reception.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Crowne and we were really happy. The lobby was very clean and made us feel very relaxed checking in. We got to our room and we were very very happy the room was pretty new and the furnishings were so chic we really felt comfortable and knew we would have a relaxing time in the room. The bar staff were fun and friendly and breakfast was extremely fresh and plenty of options.

The location was fabulous really close to shops, bars etc. walking distance 5-10 mins downhill. Overall a great choice of hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLJ32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, it’s so rewarding to read comments from guests who have had a great stay and wish to share their opinion – I have shared your comments with all departments (especially the bar!)

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We had booked into the Princess hotel - crossed wires when we arrived, it was closed for renovations - no one had informed us. Anyway, trying not to panic, we were redirected to the Crown Plaza - it was an absolute delight - could not fault the service - will be back for another stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountyTyroneLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, i will ensure your comments are circulated accordingly to all of our team here at the hotel.

We hope we can welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

we had a very enjoyable stay in this hotel. would like to single out one person in particular and that is Tom Mackey he was so helpful and has a great personality thanks for a peaceful stay despite the trouble we had with all flights being cancelled

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniemacMaynooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, i will ensure your comments are circulated accordingly to all of our team here at the hotel including Tom!

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Princess St. Hotel
Princess St. Hotel
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £72 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing