We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great staff, horrible bed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Ranked #25 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great price, great staff, horrible bed!”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

First off be aware that there are two Premier Inns at the Manchester airport. One on the left as you enter and one on the right. Not sure, but the one on the right may be newer because it had only self serve kiosks to check in at while the one on the left had an actual staffed desk. We discovered this when we went to the wrong inn. I must say that the price was excellent as was the location, the check in process and staff. We found the staff to be friendly and welcoming. The room was larger than expected and very clean but it felt like a sauna - and that never improved! The temperature and humidity in the foom were stifling to say the least. It was only about 62 degrees F outside too. The window only opens a crack so opening it made no difference and we got a lot of noise from the motorway. Our major source of contention though was the bed. My husband never complains about anything but this bed in 437 was an exception. It was like sleeping on a box spring with no cushioning and the springs felt like (and sounded like) they were coming through when you sat or layed on the bed. I guess I have to remember that when it comes to this hotel - it is what it is - a budget hotel, close to the airport. For that it served its purpose. Not so sure I would stay again though because it was certainly not restful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyd_Green, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Premier Inn Manchester Airport.

I am pleased to hear that our team provided excellent service to you.

Regarding your comments about the bed in your bedroom, I have contacted you directly to get some more information so that in line with our Good Night Guarantee we can refund the cost of your accommodation with us.

I have asked my Housekeeping Team to inspect the bed in your room as any mattresses that are reported as being uncomfortable will be replaced.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to Premier Inn Manchester Airport and would like to assure you that all feedback is acted upon to ensure our guests have a restful stay with us.

Regards

Lloyd Green
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,364
    927
    339
    111
    65
See reviews for
862
1,159
203
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere In
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We have stayed at this modern generic budget hotel a few times now. We find it convenient when catching a plane early in the morning or having a place to stay between flights from the Manchester Airport.

The staff are professional, courteous and accommodating. The rooms are large, clean and well-kept. The hotel is a stone's throw from the airport and next to a highway so it can be noisy if the double-glazed windows are open.

The restaurant does a buffet brunch that is reasonably priced with a wide variety of breakfast options (eggs, sausages, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms, fresh and dried fruit, toast, cereal, juices, coffee, tea, milk, yogurt, muffins etc and is well-prepared and of good quality.

Note: For those that are not encumbered with heavy luggage and wish to stretch their legs, the airport is a 20 minute walk from the hotel along a paved curving bike path. You will see a variety of birds such as ring-necked doves, wrens etc. and the rare cyclist along this desolate trail.

Room Tip: Rooms either face the highway or face the parking lot so you will get noise from cars or people comi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah90
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed here before flying the following day. Check-in was fast and staff were helpful and polite. Room was excellent. Plenty of space and very clean. Not too noisy around the corridors. Ate in the restaurant and service was again excellent. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahm90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We just stayed one night before our flight paid £29 and it was very good, only two or three mins from long stay car park, would use again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed before my flight to Greece. Not much to say as premier inn are so uniformed and the same as each other.

Rooms comfy and clean, large enough to swing a cat in as the old saying goes.

Girl on reception was really nice and friendly, bar staff were the same. Was up at 4am so didn't sample breakfast or their food at all.. Nice pint though!

They sorted taxi for us... No problems with that.

only negative was on the side of the building I was on I could hear the m56 motorway... But this was by no means loud, very low volume and didn't interfere with my sleep.

Great pillows by the way.... Lovely and spongy, and spares if required

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howardmcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed at the Freight Terminal Premier Inn with my 5-year-old the night before collecting my better half from an incoming morning flight arrival. All-in-all, what I'd expect from Premier Inn. Clean, modern and very comfortable room with a truly excellent breakfast. A good experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mardconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I paid extra to stay here than the other Manchester Airport hotel as the online map said it was closer - they share a carpark!

A carpark incidentally you have to pay for, £5 a night when I went, which brings me to my title - you can anything you want, it just costs you extra, wifi? That's another fiver.

By the time you've finished paying everything you could've stayed in a non-budget hotel and actually had a nice stay.

The bed was as hard as granite and I think it've been more comfortable to sleep on the floor - they have a "good night's sleep guarantee" but by the time you've overslept because it's taken you so long to fall asleep you're too busy rushing out the door to argue with them for the refund.

The advertised £29 a night may be achievable if you book 49 months in advance whilst the moons are aligned and your booking was made via satanic ritual involving goats blood and a disembowelled chicken - booking a month ahead it cost me £70, more than twice as much for those slow on the ol' math. (241.37931034483% more for those with OCD)

I see alot of positive reviews for this hotels, I'm not going to outright call these people masochists or proof that care in the community should have it's limits but I do wish I could have some of whatever it is they're on - especially as a week after I had the "opportunity" to stay at a Travelodge in London which did it's best to make me look back on this visit with rose tinted glasses - going the extra mile in their effort to make every single point worse than Premier Inn.

It's places like this that make me glad I don't travel with work and I get to stay at my desk most days, next time I think I'll just pay for overnight parking at the local NCP and curl up in my boot - I'm sure it's more comfortable, and I own a Micra..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Murrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#58 of 118 in Manchester
3,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South

Property: Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Address: Wilmslow Road Runger Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#14 Family Hotel in Manchester
#21 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#34 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be up, up and away before you know it with a stay at the Premier Inn Manchester Airport South. Right on the spot for a flying visit, it's also a handy base for exploring Cheshire, Manchester and the Peak District. Only 2 miles from the airport, it's easy to get to the terminal with affordable shuttle buses and taxi pick-ups. All our twin and family rooms have two extra-comfy double beds and pod-style showers, and there's a tasty restaurant on site too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing