We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so fresh!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fresh Apartments Manchester
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Not so fresh!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

We stayed here when going a concert at the MEN. The apartments are close to the MEN arena (walkable 5-10 mins) but are located in what looks like a dodgy part of town so i would advise getting a taxi in the dark. The apartment was good value in one way as 3 of us stayed for £69 and the apartment could have slept another 5 so for large groups would make a really cheap way of staying in Manchester. However, the lounge rug was filthy, all the glasses in the cupboard still had lipstick marks around them, bed sheets didn't look clean etc. If you're fussy about cleanliness this is not the place for you. Also as the apartments are right by a railway line you can hear trains arriving and departing which is abit noisy. To make matters worse, the night we stayed a load of lads were causing trouble in the hallway and let off a fire extinguisher in a resident's face we found out the next morning when she asked them to be quiet. The police were called so the next morning the apartment block owner had to knock on everyone's doors trying to find out who the culprits were..... This place is not the place to go for luxury or a romantic stay but if you literally want somewhere to put your head down for the night you might be alright here. If a group of us came to Manchester again I would consider staying in an apartment again, but not this block.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatFarrell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

We stayed here as a family of 6 and apart from a few minor faults with the apartment, these are good value for money. If you walk down the side of The Lowry Hotel and over the bridge you are on Deansgate. The parking is £10 a night and right next door. The bedrooms are small but we only wanted somewhere to rest our heads. Can't say much about the kitchen as we ate out, but the kitchen has the basics in it bread, milk, tea coffee etc, which is really handy. All in all a good find.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morecambians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

Me and five girls friends stayed here last night and were really impressed. Nothing too much trouble for staff and appts clean and modern. Good location for shopping and MEN arena. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

What a treat. Very good directions from the management, located on a not too busy road, execellent car parking facilities.
When we walked in we where impressed. This was a Birthday weekend and we wanted it to be special, and first impressions where good!

The manager asked us to give him a good review as he was commision based, a group of women like ourselves on a bit of a jolly, where charmed by him and said "of course". Then we began noticing things, first off, the promised welcome basket was nothing more than tea and coffee sachets in a fruit bowl, none of goodies mentioned in the apartments blurb.

Then we discovered the balcony door was locked, no problem, obviously a safety thing, but then we saw all the fire alarms had been disabled and there where no escape maps on any doors, this was not a safety consciences person!

Well, the disappointments just kept mounting, intercom didn't work, just a weak "beep" and no sound from the handset very useful when the take away arrived from the "city servants", the 'put me up' bed fell apart as soon as weight was applied, the walls where covered in scuff marks, (surely a good scrub would have removed them!) there was an oddment of cutlery, not sufficent for 7 adults, unless we shared the knife & forks an a mug of coffee between 2.

We found a curtain stuffed behind the sofa, and a broken lamp underneth the side tables. We where informed it would be too expensive to replace every light bulb that blow as they where £1.00, which is why, I would think, we where left with 2 non working lamps and a kitchen light out!

And HE asked for a good review, I prefer honest reviews unfortunately.

The appartment did have beautiful feature walls, and the fixed double beds where comfortable, the bathrooms where large and warm.
Always end on a positve.

  • Liked — close to city, walking distance from ammenities
  • Disliked — lack of care from the owners. no need to hide lamps!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grimlysmegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel
1.5 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#13 of 15 in Stockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chancellors Hotel
Chancellors Hotel
#69 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
3.6 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fresh Apartments Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresh Apartments Manchester

Property: Fresh Apartments Manchester
Address: Fresh 138 Chapel Street, Manchester M3 6DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Manchester
Number of rooms: 135
Also Known As:
Five Star Apartment Hotels Ltd Fresh Luxury Apartments Hotel Manchester
5 Star Apartment Hotels Ltd Fresh Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing