We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food excellent value”
Review of Falafel

Falafel
Ranked #665 of 2,275 Restaurants in Manchester
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food excellent value”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Falafel is great. Quick tasty food at reasonable prices. Saves me from eating those dreadful curries on wilmslow road

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Menacechester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

After a trip to Manchester, I decided to visit the famous curry mile. I was surprised to see the vast amount of Arabic restaurants in the area. Gave falafel a try as there seemed to be a real mix of different people inside. It seemed really casual, more of a diner than a restaurant.

The staff were Pleasant, although the language barrier did make my questions a little difficult, until one of the fluent English speakers was happy to indulge my intrigue. A got a spicy potato fatayer, which is kinda like a new York calzone except it's open, a lamb shawarma meal, which is like a kinda spinning meat skewer diced, kinda like Greek gyros.

I also decided to grab a takeaway for my wife. They do authentic Palestinian dishes daily, and I got lamb with okra, which came with some tasty rice that had carrots potatoes and sultanas, which they told me was a special rice for the day. Also grabbed some tasty baclava to take away.

Was pleasantly surprised when the bill came to £15, which for the amount of food was pretty amazing. The atmosphere was informal and the traditional decorations although quite outdated, were indeed fascinating.

Definitely worth a visit and with so much on the menu to choose and mix and match from, it was a pleasant experience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Salvitro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fantastic middle-eastern food”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We have been regulars at Falafel since returning to the UK from the Middle-East. If you hanker for shawarma or falafel and could die for hummus or tabbouleh, then you can't go wrong. Staff are friendly and trust you to pay as you leave rather than as you order.

Only down-side is the cramped, not-too-savoury toilet facility.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank b56c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“average food, but good value”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

been the felafel a few times but always think it's not as good as jaffa. most recently, went yesterday for dinner and had chicken shwarma with chips (there was humous and tabouleh on the side as well as salad + bread). also had a portion of felafels. the food was ok - the meat and felafels were lukewarm and nothing spectacular. the felafels were very green inside too which was a bit odd!! have been on previous occasions with large groups and it is nice to be able to order different things like the mezze and spicy potatoes to share. i have also had the cooked lamb dish with rice before which was tasty. yesterday's visit was disappointing. the food is good value though and you do get alot for your money and the people are nice.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doofvfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible value, flavour and friendly service”
Reviewed 4 January 2011

The food was fresh, tasty and healthy and I couldn't believe the size of the portions. At £2.50 for falafel, £2.50 for a gorgeous mixed salad and £3 for a Fatyer (like a pizza) I thought I would have enough for a modest meal, but there was so much food that I had to have half of it packed to take with me. The layout of the restaurant is basic, more like a diner, but the service is very friendly and the place has tremendous atmosphere. Possibly the most pleasantly surprised I've ever been by a restaurant in the UK.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClareHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Falafel also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Falafel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing