We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful meal”
Review of China City

China City
Ranked #421 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a wonderful meal”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I went to china city last night for a meal with my partner and I was very happy with the reception. The waiting staff was excellent, we were ushered to our table as soon as we got there. the service is next to none. the male waiter was more than helpful and very polite. the food was out of this world and I really enjoyed it, and the saki was served piping hot. and at £11.50 per person for a 5 course meal is fantastic value for money. I will definatley will be going again and will highly recommend it to anyone wanting to have a really enjoyable chinese meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cart677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    74
    30
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Chinese I've ever had...”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Went here over the weekend I can surely say that this is the best chinese food I've ever tasted.The staff are very friendly and can't do enought for you. The seafood dishes were very tasty and large tiger prawns are used. The osters in batter as a starter are simply the best...I could go on and on...recommend to anyone who visits manchester you will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank daisylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“simply quality chinese food”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

ive been goin china city for a couple of years now and the food is always outstanding. the salt and pepper king prawns are perfect as is the rest of the menu. well worth goin if your in manchester. 5 star food and the waiter will is 10 out of 10. keep up the good work

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelvin2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penistone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value, comfortable, good service”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We visited China City at lunchtime to meet up with family and were very pleasantly surprised. The simply decorated interior together with polite and effective service was perfect for the occasion. The lunchtime menu is extremely good value. A three course meal for £5 per person and a 4 course for £8.50 combined with the good quality made it a good experience. We arrived at 12 noon and left at 4.30, had a great time meeting with family and at no time did we feel pressured to hurry to leave (although the restaurant officially closed at 4pm.). Thank you China City!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jetlaga380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
260 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Had set meal for 4 persons,B section,£14.50 a head,excellent choice,5 courses last course coffee or tea,crispy aromatic duck to die for,total cost 4 persons 2 drinks each £91, excellent service well cooked food recommend

Helpful?
Thank todareistodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China City also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to China City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing