We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food but could not manage a large party”
Review of Laughing Buddha

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Laughing Buddha
Reserve with OpenTable
Laughing Buddha is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,195 of 2,254 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Didsbury
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice food but could not manage a large party”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I attended a birthday celebration here recently as part of a party of 16 people. Admittedly this was quite a large table but as a restaurant I'm sure they should be able to cope with this many, especially as the table was booked 3 weeks in advance and confirmed on the day.

It was a Saturday evening but there was only one other table in the restaurant at 7.30pm. Upon arrival we were seated on seperate tables, with two tables of 8 with a sizable gap between them. This felt very unpleasent and not at all like we were all members of the same party. We asked the waitress if we could move the tables together and she informed us that this would not be possible as it would be too difficult if we wanted to get out for the toilet. We said that this was fine by us and we wouldn't mind if we had to struggle, we would rather be sat together - she then said that it makes it difficult to serve if there is one long table and refused to move the tables. Her manner was quite abrupt throughout the night, as if she was very flustered to be serving us even though there were two waitresses designated to our table and hardly anyone else in the restaurant.

The drinks orders also got mixed up with wrong drinks being brought and then some completely forgotten about.

The food was very nice. It is a little more expensive than other restarurants but the portions are generous and for the most part the food is very tasty. There is a great range for vegetarians. The mock duck satay skewers are delicious. One dish that someone in the party ordered was soft shell crab and was far too salty, to the point of being inedible, and was left uneaten. Apart from this, the food went down well.

Overall, I think I would visit again as I have been before as part of a smaller gathering and as a couple and never had any problems with the service. The food is always good. But I would definitely advise against making a large booking. The bill came to over £400 and for this you would expect friendly and helpful service which was sadly lacking on this occassion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Welbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    16
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Can I have some Chinese with my salt?”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Visited as a party of 8 (4 couples) having made a reservation believing that the restaurant would be very busy at 8pm on a Saturday night. On arrival it was not, they were only using the front section of the restaurant and this was the case for the whole evening.

The restaurant was very hot and the tables were a bit cramped when eating a range of dishes on the banquet.

We had banquet A and ordered 1/4 duck. Each couple in fact ordered 1/4 duck and they had prepared one short - they had brought a 1/2 on one platter and 1/4 on another. When asked about the 1/4 missed they tried to say the 1/4 they had brought was 1/2 until we pointed out that it was half the amount as on the 1/2 platter! They eventually brought out another.

We were underwhelmed by banquet A. The chicken and sweetcorn soup was inedible for 5 minutes as it was white hot, and then inedible once we tasted it as it was just like salt water with corn floating in it. The 2 mains were no better, both very very salty. As soon as we left we were both so thirsty we needed a soft drink.

The service was very poor throughout the evening. Courses were forgotten, people were waiting whilst others were eating mains and as a whole was very slow - we finished our meal at 10:40pm.

There are plenty of other nice restaurants in Didsbury so I would not choose to return here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyGards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Takeaway bad experience”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

On a saturday night myself & 2 friends ordered a takeaway which we ordered quiet abit of food, & also got the order confirmed back to us over the phone, the first time it came within reasonable time but the order was wrong. we rang and explained to 3 difference people the problem which they came back with the order a second time, again the order was wrong. We decided we did not want the food after 2hours of waiting ( which did not look great & wasnt what we ordered ) & drove the restaurant ourselves to get a full refunded and handed back the food. They also lied to us the time was half 9 and told us there driver has finished so we asked a simple question as to why a driver would finish two hours before they close, which they responsed they have a second driver he just wouldnt come to our address, very disappointed with service wont be eating from here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livvy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food in South Manchester”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This restaurant is very unfairly rated. The food is as good as any other Chinese restaurants we have tried in Manchester (including what are regarded as the very best).

In a way we are spoiled - we live in their delivery catchment area so we have deliveries from them most weeks, and we still regard them as great treats! But we have used the restaurant as well, which is very nice, with good attentive service. And a better atmosphere than the Pacifica in Eccles, which is much more highly rated but with no better food.

I wouldn't suggest that you make a special trip to this place if you are far away, but if you are in the area and are looking for a place to eat, then this place will not disappoint.

Personally, I feel blessed that this place is on my doorstep.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average, salty, massive portions”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Lovely atmosphere, in a good location to pubs etc. The starters were good, my thai green curry was salty and lacking in flavor. My boyfriend said that his Kung Po beef was great. It is quite over priced for what it is, but the portions are massive and you can have a doggy bag. Service was okay, two of the staff were great, one wasn't quite was to speed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laughing Buddha also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Laughing Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing