We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Light ApartHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“great location and value”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Went to UK for the end of the football season to watch both Man U and Man City and decided to make manchester the base, i wanted something that had excellent location and apartment living rather than a one room hotel style accommodation.As we were going to spend 3 different visits to manchester i spent hours researching and eventually came up with the light boutique.First impressions were a little mixed as the receptionist was fairly "frumpy" and did not seem to care we had just travelled 32 hours, although i must admit over the length of time we stayed she did become far more personable,maybe staff training of first impressions are best should be conveyed, anyway most staff were most helpful particularly as over a month period we had 3 stays and 16 days there collectively.
The units were showing signs of age but reasonably modern and the staff did a great job of servicing and cleaning.The units had separate kitchen with washing machine/dryers which was handy and combined lounge/dining areas were great if someone wanted to stay up and watch the tv.At the time we went it was nothing short of bloody freezing and the heaters in all rooms were most welcome, for aussies we really did not appreciate how wet,windy and cold manchester was...thank god for the football otherwise i think most people would migrate from there.
The apartment was a 2 minute walk to the Arndel shopping complex and there in front of the centre was the most pleasant of surprises ROWNTREE CAFE where you got the best breakfast and football banter in town, a must for the hungry football tragics.
On a sour note this hotel is used particularly saturday nights by the young party goers or football fans whose whole idea of a good time is getting drunk and making as much noise as they can, you can almost guarantee at least one of those groups on your floor every saturday and the most you can pray for is that they are not your next door neighbour( funny story was told from one of the staff of one group were leaving and cleaning staff rang up reception so concierge asked the guest to open their case only to see the large plasma tv which was removed from the wall).

Value for money i do not believe we could have made a better choice as the light boutique provided a very comfortable, safe and well located base for our stay in manchester

Room Tip: A must to have breakfast at Rowntrees Cafe food is great and the staff so friendly although in manch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenroben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
I read with delight your comments in relation to your stay with us and i have taken on board your feedback in relation to first impressions.
myself and the team can not wait to welcome you back

Kind Regards

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    206
    103
    52
    32
See reviews for
109
208
28
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

From the minute I booked these apartments I had nothing but a pleasant experience.We arrived 6 hours before check in time to be told that 2 of our 4 apartments had being upgraded at no extra cost and there was no problem storing our bags while we shopped.The locality of hotel was excellent literally across the road from the Arndale shopping centre and all major shops.Receptionist recommended Cafe Metro for breakfast which was excellent and very reasonable so we went all 3 mornings.All apartments were spotlessly clean and very well maintained even supplying hair dryers irons and ironing boards as well as stocking the fridge with the basics i.e orange juice milk butter jam bread and cereal.
Reception even allowed us to use computer behind the desk to check in bags with our airline.
We stayed for 2 nights and met a lot of staff and each one was as pleasant as the last to deal with.
Have no hesitation in recommending this hotel in future.
Only negative thing I could say was maybe supply some extra towels as we stayed 2 nights and felt we could of used some more after 2 nights out on the town.

Room Tip: If your not fond of heights book a lower floor ha ha
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
I read with delight your comments and we are so pleased that we made your stay enjoyable.
We are constantly striving to acheive the best for our guests and we cant wait to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed one night for a night out in Manchester, room was huge, very clean and stylish, couldn't have asked for more. Would like to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ELL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you for your kind words on Trip Advisor.
I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

From start to finish the dealings with this hotel was a shambles. Which is a shame as the actual apartments are really nice.

When bookimg last year, I was misquoted prices multiple times and got a final quote in writing months prior to our stay in April for a group of 27. Called up to pay and a front desk agent advised me the charge to pay was £200 more! 

Then spoke to the new reservations manager the day before our stay. He was polite at first then was curt and aggressive. I explained that we had been given a total price which had been confirmed not once, but twice, he said ‘if you don’t want to pay the full,  I will cancel your booking’. Cancelling was not an option as I had arranged an event for 27 people the next day and reorganizing accommodation would be near impossible. We had no choice but to pay the new higher price. Ryan then offered to meet us halfway on the price difference betweenadvised. He then said that as an apology he had upgraded one of the rooms to a Penthouse. The gesture was appreciated. He also advised the room we would be getting was room 100 and we should ‘make sure we were in that room’ after stating that he had ‘kicked someone out of the penthouse to make room for us’. He also advised that the penthouse would be ready for us to use from our arrival at midday in advance of the rest of the rooms being ready from the usual check-in time so we could gather in the penthouse.
 
On arrival, a member of our party advised we had a reservation for Room 100. She was advised that no rooms would be ready prior to advertised check in time. At 113advises river and advise we had a reservation for 7 rooms, with us staying in Room 100. Again, we were told that there was no room available for early check in.
 
We then asked for the parking gate to be opened as we had been advised they had limited spaces available, with the other option being a local NCP. I was then informed that there was a £15 charge - despite calling ahead to ask about parking at no point did anyone mention a cost of £15. Another group ahead of us also had the same argument on check out.

Whilst out in the day I was contacted by phone and told that the Penthouse was no longer available. There was no reason for this, other than being told that it was already booked to someone else and was therefore not able to be used by our party.  

I then spoke with several team members regarding this failure to fulfil the agreement but was met with little sympathy or understanding. I also discussed the fact that the family rooms were not as described when originally booked. We had been advised that the single foldout beds were able to be moved into the living rooms, when in fact on our arrival they were in the bedrooms. We couldnt expect our single guests to sleep in the same room as another couple! We did look at the possibility of moving the foldout beds into the living room, but the lack of curtains meant that this would cause serious issues for whoever drew the short straw to sleep in there. 

In fairness the deputy manager brought up 2 bottles of wine in an attempt to appease us. We then asked that they waived the car park fees for our guests as we felt this was an unfair charge given the failure to mention any associated costs at any point during our exchanges, which was agreed to.

My partner spoke to the manager, on the phone, he found our complaint ‘draining’ and wouldn't talk face to face. He then accused me of being a liar with regards to the promise of a penthouse apartment despite the fact Ryan had even referenced to it in an email.
 
My partner then told the manager we would write to him on our return home and would allow 7 days to respond satisfactorily; otherwise we'd take matters further. They lost their temper, shouting down the phone saying he would cancel our booking and that we would have to leave the hotel. He then said that he didn’t want to ruin our night so would allow us to stay in the apartments, but would ring the police to advise them they were expecting trouble when our party returned later(!)  The manager accused our entire group of being out to cause trouble which was totally misrepresentative.

We left for our meal and 20 minutes later I received an email from The manager which I read straight away on my phone. He stated that my partner was rude and aggressive and he'd called the police to 'warn' them of us. He'd given me his details so i could contact him once we had left after our stay. I found this email Really untimely and upsetting and it ruined the start of the evening. My friends (2 of which are police constables funnily enough) were appalled and couldn't believe how we'd been treated.

When we got home we emailed the manager and the owners. The owner rang my partner to apologise and offered a free stay which we may not actually use.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank MissBeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel for a get together with friends... From start to finish my stay was perfect!!! The rooms are really fantastic! Everything you need is right there, well kept, staff and service excellent!!! Would highly recommend and look to stay again in the very near future!!! :-)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meggy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you so much for your extremely positive review.
We are striving to ensure our product is the best on the market and was please to read you felt we are.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This was my first time staying at this hotel and it won't be my last.
From start till finish the service was top notch. The room was amazing and very clean.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an extra special night in Manchester.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, General Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your excellent review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. It’s always great to receive positive feedback that I can share with our new team at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in executive apartment - extremely clean. The seating could have been more comfortable (seat cushions a bit worn down) but for the time we spent there this was not a big issue for us but have mentioned it so the soft furnishings can be considered when improvements are made. Also, no blinds on the lounge windows. We were told that the building is undergoing a major refurbishment so I guess more 'comfy' chairs/window shades will be installed in the upgrade?!! The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely recommend here as a place to stay as its so central and hope to come again in the not too distant future!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ziegfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, General Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for your comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms, this will be passed onto our new housekeeping team who has been working really hard to improve our standards. We are currently going through a refurbishment and can assure you that we are making some really exiting changes to the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Light Boutique Hotel in the very near future, and please contact the hotel direct for best rate guarantee.

kind regards

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,330 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 116 in Manchester
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,878 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 116 in Manchester
1,281 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Light ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Light ApartHotel

Property: The Light ApartHotel
Address: Pall Mall House 20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Light ApartHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Light ApartHotel is the first true ApartHotel in Manchester, occupying a prime city centre location on the fringe of the Trendy Northern Quarter. Our guests enjoy the flexibility of serviced apartment living with hotel-style accommodation, appealing to both the business and leisure traveller, The Light ApartHotel consists of 60 fully equipped and beautifully furnished studios, one and two bedroom apartments and a range of penthouse suites. The Light ApartHotel is a true alternative to top-end hotels and gives flexibility for families whose kids aren't quite independent, but too old to share a room. Once you've tried it, we know you'll come back for more." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Light ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Light Boutique Apart Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing