We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable - for all the right reasons” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Light ApartHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Light ApartHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorable - for all the right reasons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I havent wrote a trip advisor review for a while - but after staying here on Saturday 2nd November I just had to dig out my login details to tell everyone about it!!
On arrival the staff were extremely warm and welcoming, its always good to see a genuine smile as you burst through the door from a wet and rainy Manchester!
The apartment - wow!!! Beautiful! It was clean and modern, with excellent views from the balcony (we stayed in suite 65 on the 10th floor). It had everything you could want - indulgent verbena spa toiletries and fluffy bath towels. Oh and the shower - perfection.
Absolutely cannot wait to go back, this was booked as a treat for my best friend - who has never stayed in a hotel before. The Light has definitely set the highest of standard for anywhere else she may stay in future, although I know where her first choice will be :)
Thank you!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors for the views!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank page1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review on Tripadvisor
It was truly a pleasure to read and we were so happy that you and your friend enjoyed your stay so much.
We too can not wait to welcome you back for your next stay in Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    199
    99
    50
    32
See reviews for
107
193
27
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caithness
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were lucky enough to stay here for two nights when going to watch a show at the phones4u arena. I had been emailing the hotel and was very grateful for all their help prior to arriving. On arrival we were greeted with very friendly staff and a reception area that had a big wow factor. The reception staff were very friendly and knew the surrounding area very well which was helpful. We were fortunate enough to have the penthouse suite for two nights which was absolutely stunning. Amazing views from the apartment and ultimate indulgent luxury throughout. The hotel is very secure and the rooms are quite sound proof. The beds are mega comfy and the furnishings are of a very high standard. You can see why there was a photoshoot with a major BBC star going on in the room next door to us. The hotel is kept very clean and has a prime location opposite the arndale centre and very close to the printworks, phones4u arena and you could see the emirates stadium from our room. The surrounding area of the northern quarter/deansgate are cool areas with some lovely bars and restaurants. When mentioning the hotel to residents of Manchester they all explained it has a good reputation for quality.

The hotel truly helped make our weekend unforgettable!

I have to also say that although all the staff were exceptional the Manager, Lynda Kaur, went above and beyond to help us out. She was friendly, insightful and incredibly professional. A true gem and real asset to the hotel.

Adam shone

Room Tip: Penthouse suite 100 is truly breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mre1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Adam

Thank you so much for this outstanding review.

It truly was a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
I will also pass on your special thanks to Lynda .

Take care and see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
389 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for one night and have to say that this apartment is in a first class location in the centre of Manchester. The apartment we were given was on the 7th floor away from the main road so reasonably quiet and although clean and spacious it lacked something - windows!!
The lounge /kitchen area had a large patio window leading onto a small balcony and that was it - no windows in either of the 2 very small bedrooms or bathroom which gave the apartment a slightly claustrophobic feel. The apartment was very clean but not that comfortable and the reception staff were lacking in any sort of organisation. There are only two lifts for 19 floors of apratments so you need to be patient. We believe there is parking on site but we parked in the car park across the road - £15 for 24 hours. Would we stay here again - probably not as we like to be able to see out of our bedroom which here you cannot!!

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment away from the main road and preferably with windows in the bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaysabroad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Being once a textile warehouse and converted in 2009, many apartments are variable to the other.

Please do speak to reception when you stay again as requests are always aimed to be met.

Thank you though for the overall positive review and we hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a nice place to stay in central Manchester. Reception staff on initial arrival were very friendly, offering to take care of my bags and call when the room was ready. When I returned the service was less friendly, though this was not a problem.

My apartment was big, clean and well appointed. I heard very little noise from the street or from inside the hotel. The price was very good, booked in advance through a third party, maybe £10 more expensive than a simple downtown hotel.

A couple few gripes: one of the (two) lifts was out-of-order, which on a block of this size is not ideal. The common landing areas are not particularly pretty; purple plastic floors v's the much nicer receiption area. I would also note that the description of the room stated there was a TV in the bedroom (there wasn't) and that it had city views (not really sure the buildings across the street counts as a city view).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear John

Thank you for your comments and kind words for the aparthotel.

Being in the center of Manchester, some rooms on the lower floors have a more limited view than those higher up but when you stay again please add this request to your reservation and we will endeavor to meet it.
I have also noted your other comments for the maintenance team but i thank you for your overall positive review and 4 stars given.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

After meeting lots of friends here, we were staying in room 107 19th floor..penthouse! All seemed ok till we asked for late checkout.. paying £55 for an extra two hours not too bad between a few of us.. although when talking to are neighbours 'who went to the same event as us the night before..very friendly people' they had paid £55 for an extra 4 hours. On ringing the reception to find out if we could extend we were very rudely told no.. not understanding how we paid for the same amount for less time the reception girl bluntly told us we should not of been speaking to our neighbours anyway! We would of understood if someone else was waiting for the room but this was not the case.... overall very nice place... shame about the one rule for one and another rule for another.. no explanation an very rude!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jess89p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
I apologize for the confusion in relation to the late check out fee.
The amount you were charged for your late check out fee was correct, there was some mitigating circumstances that led your neighbour to have an extended length of time, to which i cant go into detail with but again apologies for this not being explained correctly.
Thank you however for the 4 stars and kind comments on the property and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We had a two bedroom apartment. Very clean and modern. Close to all the action in the heart of the shopping area. Really pleased with this place as it is the first time we have stayed there. Good value for 2 single travellers , although it was cheaper to book through one of the web sites rather than direct with the place itself.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Adrian,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that you would come back to us again in the future.
The our website and the team here should always be the most competitive rate and if it wasn't i apologize.
If ever any queries such as this are found please call the hotel, where we can look at matching the rate for you.

We look forward to welcoming you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was a wonderful experience. Our stay was full of good service and friendly, professional staff. The hotel is nice and clean and we would definitely return here.

Would recommend this highly. I will tell all my friends about this hotel :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor,
We hope to welcome you and everyone you tell, to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Light ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Light ApartHotel

Property: The Light ApartHotel
Address: Pall Mall House 20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Light ApartHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Light ApartHotel is the first true ApartHotel in Manchester, occupying a prime city centre location on the fringe of the Trendy Northern Quarter. Our guests enjoy the flexibility of serviced apartment living with hotel-style accommodation, appealing to both the business and leisure traveller, The Light ApartHotel consists of 60 fully equipped and beautifully furnished studios, one and two bedroom apartments and a range of penthouse suites. The Light ApartHotel is a true alternative to top-end hotels and gives flexibility for families whose kids aren't quite independent, but too old to share a room. Once you've tried it, we know you'll come back for more." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Light ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Light Boutique Apart Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing