We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Light ApartHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I booked 3 apartments for a hen night, but a few days before we were offered a penthouse suite instead. The 2 members of staff I dealt with were really friendly and helpful, they asked the bride's name and left her balloons, a card and put up hen banners for our arrival. The apartment was spotless, and everything we could have needed was provided. I'd recommend it as a brilliant base for the city centre, however it's perhaps not ideal for a couple or families looking for a quiet night. Saying that, I didn't hear noise when in the apartment, we just saw a lot of hen/stag dos round reception. Couldn't fault it: thank you!

Room Tip: Penthouse is recommended for a group, as the 2 bed apartments might be a bit tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoupDLoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for reviewing on Tripadvisor
It was great to read that you appreciated our complimentary upgrade to a penthouse suite and that you felt the Aparthotel to be of a good location with a friendly team.

The Aparthotel can accommodate a wide range of guests all staying for varying reasons and these do include families, couples and business people but to mention a few - so whatever your needs The Light i'm sure can accommodate.

We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    206
    103
    52
    32
See reviews for
109
208
28
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I write this as I lie awake at 3 in the morning in the light hotel. We paid nearly £300 to stay one night in the light apart hotel, but we never, ever would again.

We picked the light hotel because of the location and dare I say it good reviews.

The best words to describe the room are grubby and shabby (not in a shabby-chic kind of way).

The bedroom stinks of sweaty feet, the wardrobe door handle is broken and randomly we also found 5p in the bed.

The bathroom has a sticky floor complete with footprints and hair, the bath a dirt ring. The grouting is all coming out of tiles.

We have had no sleep as we've got neighbours who are shouting at each other and drunkenly slamming doors (admittedly not the hotels fault, but we've already moved rooms to get away from a stag party singing 'I am the one and only' in full force on our arrival).

The one thing I would say is the staff are great and have really tried to help, but it couldn't possibly make up for everything else. Do not stay here unless you're a hen/stag group.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happyh0liday5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,
I write a joint reply on your review along with your husbands one “Over-procied, unclean, noisey.” review at the same time.
Let me firstly start with an apology as relayed over the telephone during our conversation with your husband and by saying that your displeasure is certainly not something we would want for any of our guests.
As discussed with your husband the Aparthotel caters for any number of our guests and for whatever the reason for their stay in Manchester.
We are by no means a youth hostel nor are we an establishment that only caters for a specific clientele, over a weekend period we can have towards 600 people through our doors and these can range between families, couples, business people and people celebrating an event or momentous occasion.
After receiving your feedback during the early hours we increased our floor walk timings to check for any excessive noise, as relayed via telephone we merely reported that there was no evidence of the noise level you referred too and if we had found evidence then the appropriate action would have been taken and that after conducting an in house investigation with the Housekeeping Manager that all paperwork indicated that the room was cleaned and ready for arrival, that said if the bathroom was not to your satisfaction then we are as you know on hand 24 hours a day to rectify a problem if felt needed.
From the start I feel we had and have been working closely with you to resolve to your satisfaction but the incorrect information relayed on here frankly leaves me dismayed and bewildered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The room and facilities are absolutely excellent. I stayed for 1 night with my boyfriend in a 2 double bedroom apartment and it cost me only 95 pounds. Check in was good but the receptionist didn't seem really friendly and welcome. Right at city center, 500m from Picadilly station, bus stop some steps away, shopping centers a just a corner away, all three metrolink lines nearby.. Tesco and M&S Food are around the corner, so I went down and bought all the things I need for a delicious self cook dinner. Perfect for staying in Manchester. Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Book well in advance to get a good price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HangNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your positive review here on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that your stay was so ideal for your needs.
We always endeavor to ensure our guests have the best possible stay and am glad this was such on this occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Me and my Mum stayed here Wednesday 20th November for 1 night. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly reception staff who were so genuine and polite. When we entered our apartment ... OH MY WORD, it was incredible. I think we may have been upgraded as we were expecting to stay in a one bedroom apartment. The apartment was huge, very clean and homely. We both wished we had come for longer than just one night. We paid an extra £10 for city views, which i would definitely recommend. And at a bargain price of £98 for the night it definitely exceeded our expectations. I would definitely come again, it is so close to the city centre. On Thursday as we were leaving for a full day of Christmas shopping, we asked the man on reception if there was anywhere we could leave our bags until we travelled home later that day, He very kindly stored our luggage away for us, free of charge, Great service, as it saved a lot of stress and pain carting bags around the shops with us, This young man was very helpful, unfortunately we didn't catch his name but he was definitely worth a mention, Overall, fantastic night away for me and my mum after a relaxing spa day in the city. Cannot wait to come again :) thank you!!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Rachel

Thank you for your review and for the 5 stars.
We were thrilled to read that you and your mum enjoyed yourselves so much, we continue to strive to be the best we can be and work hard in all departments to make this happen.

We cant wait to welcome you back and hopefully for more than one night next time.

Once again thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here several times now, and its now under new management that have attempted to refurbish rooms but paid more attention to the reception.

Check in was good, very friendly and welcoming.

When looking at the pictures on the website it appears that the apartments have had a total refresh, but the apartment we got needed allot of work, not just some wallpaper. On previous stays here the welcome hamper was such a great addition, now thats gone and replaced with an insult - Free bottled water!

The bathroom probably had more cracked floor tiles than full 1s, when walking on them you can feel them move and at 1 point I could lift 1 piece of 1 out - health & safety if someone cuts their foot? Most of the tiles no longer had grout and if they did it was dirty and discoloured.

Good views from the living area, though the windows could do with a good clean.

On the Friday night there was quite a bit of noise from neighbouring apartments and people in & out of the lift which was directly opposite the bedroom of the apartment. The room keycard wouldn't work on the second day so after getting to the 13th floor we had to go back down to come back up again which was annoying.

If you don't like to sleep in after 9am then stay here, the cleaners will wake you up. The cleaner which was obviously a male was hoovering the apartment next door banging the hoover around off the walls/furniture - which probably explains why the table in the living area was all chipped and battered!

It's ideal for the Arndale and The Printworks, though now it seems to be attracting more stag/hen parties than anything.

Overall; I think the apartments need some minor repair work doing to them and to reflect the name 'boutique' the furniture in the apartments could be changed to match the style of the reception area.
I would definitely stay again but the prices don't reflect the quality of rooms. The reception looks a 4* boutique but the rooms don't.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_guest1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
The team here has now been with us here just shy of 2 years, were we have been conducting a gradual refurbishment of the property.
This is still ongoing and i will ensure that the issues you raised are given priority in fixing.
I am sorry that you experienced a few noise issues and a key card problem whilst you were here, reception are on hand 24 hours a day and are always willing to help.
Our client base is diverse as is the same with any hotel or Aparthotel, these will include groups of people celebrating an occasion but is certainly not the only base for our business.
After doing an extensive feedback exercise with our guests and taking into consideration wastage and our city center location with Tesco situated right next door, the consensus was that the breakfast items was not what our guests were looking for but if you did still wish to have the items supplied by us these can be booked and arranged as an upgrade hamper prior to arrival.
I was pleased to read however that you felt the team here friendly and that you would stay with us again on your next visit to Manchester and we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Paid nearly £250 for an apartment arrived at 6pm ish even though the apartment is supposed to be ready for you any time after 3pm but yet when we arrived we had to wait for our room because I member of staff was in there fixing a light bulb.... Surely this should of been done before 3pm? The toilet roll was on the roll practically at the end, the remote for the tv didn't work, the shower head was broken and squirting water out from where it attaches to the shower head, but the biggest problem of all was that there was only 1 mirror in the whole apartment, which meant 3 girls getting ready in one bathroom which we thought was absolutely ridiculous so I would no recommend anybody to stay here if you are planning a night out in manchester unless u have enough money to pay for an executive apartment which we were told had more than one mirror because of the mirror problems which resulted in 3 girls getting ready in the bathroom there was no access to plugs which meant we had to ring reception.. Tried to ring off the apartment phone, this was also not working so we had to ring reception on our mobiles to get an extension lead. Would definatley not stay here again it's not worth the money like I said unless you can afford the prices of the executive apartments.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucyrebeccabuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your review.
I was sorry that you felt disappointed that you had to wait a few minutes for your apartment on your arrival at around 18:00
As explained, as you were a late arrival we went to your reserved apartment to turn on the heating and lights to make a cosy arrival, on switching on the bedroom light, the bulb blew so the team member from reception changed the bulb. In this time you arrived but we merely didn't want you to be disappointed that it was not working on arrival and was trying to provide the best customer service we could.
I have taken on board your comment re the mirrors and this can be addressed if it causes such distress to our guests to avoid future problems but please do speak to the 24 hour reception as I am sure some resolution could have been found.
Spare toilet rolls are left on the vanity shelf in the apartment for guest use if needed and maintenance has resolved the leaking shower hose.

Once again, we are sorry to have caused distress on arrival but I hope what has been re iterated above goes someway towards your opinion of us.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed the weekend just past. We where there 2 nights! The reception area is very nice and modern! When we arrived the man at reception said check in time was at 3 but it was only 1, he said he would try get us into our room and he did. He also told us that we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment instead of 1 bedroom so meant there was more room! So we where very happy about this. Inside the apartment is beautiful! A lot of room and really comfortable. Everything about the apartment was great! Arndale is literally 1 minute away! So central but was still quiet at night which was good for when we where trying to get to sleep! Piccadilly gardens is few minutes walk so meant we where able to get trams and buses very quickly which was handy! I would definitely recommend the light! And I myself will definitely be back! :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chloethompson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to do so.
We were thrilled to read your feedback and so delighted that your stay was so memorable.
We hope to be able to have you back in Manchester and staying with again soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,330 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 116 in Manchester
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,878 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 116 in Manchester
1,281 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Light ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Light ApartHotel

Property: The Light ApartHotel
Address: Pall Mall House 20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Light ApartHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Light ApartHotel is the first true ApartHotel in Manchester, occupying a prime city centre location on the fringe of the Trendy Northern Quarter. Our guests enjoy the flexibility of serviced apartment living with hotel-style accommodation, appealing to both the business and leisure traveller, The Light ApartHotel consists of 60 fully equipped and beautifully furnished studios, one and two bedroom apartments and a range of penthouse suites. The Light ApartHotel is a true alternative to top-end hotels and gives flexibility for families whose kids aren't quite independent, but too old to share a room. Once you've tried it, we know you'll come back for more." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Light ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Light Boutique Apart Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing