We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visiting Family in Manchester” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Light ApartHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Light ApartHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Visiting Family in Manchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

From the minute we arrived at the Light ApartHotel, the staff did everything they could to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.We were upgraded to an executive suite and that was a great start to the stay!The apartment was very clean, beds were extremely comfortable and the kitchen was very well equipped.The apartment had everything described in the information that we had read when booking i.e. iron, towels etc. Any requests were dealt with promptly by the very friendly staff. Members of our party used the gym on a daily basis during our stay and were very pleased with this facility. The complimentary Independent daily newspaper was another very welcome extra-thank you. The weather during our stay was warm so the balcony was great as after dinner drinks were very pleasant while sitting outside. We would definitely stay at the Light Aparthotel again especially since it is so central;close to stations, shopping and cinema. Thank you to all the staff who contributed to making our stay as good as it was and we definitely would recommend this hotel to all and we will be making a reservation again in the future.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieW46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Rosie

It was a pleasure for us to read the lovely review you have posted following your stay with us. The team were delighted with your comments and glad that they were all able to ensure your stay was exactly how you wanted it to be.

Fingers crossed the weather will be nice again for your next visit so you are able to make full use of your balcony.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    199
    99
    50
    32
See reviews for
107
193
27
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Staff upgraded us on arrival to Penthouse suite.Brilliant but not bathroom wheelchair friendly .Excellent experience on way to Commonwealth games.Beware pillars in underground car park especially if tired after long drive or eager to get away in morning.Our car sustained a 'double whammy'


  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Amanda

Thank you for the great review you have given the Light on Tripadvisor; I was pleased to see that you had enjoyed your stay with us and it was nice that we were able to upgrade you to a Penthouse for your extra comfort. We hope to welcome you back here very soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Excellent base for our weekend, great apartment, short walk to main shopping. Staff extremely friendly and efficient. Rooms were clean, comfortable. We had a room with a balcony which was great when we came back from our night out, we sat outside with a cup of tea and carried on our evening. Definitely book again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maddogsmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read the lovely comments you have left on Tripadvisor recently. The location of the Hotel is ideal for shopping and we are really glad you were able to make the most of it.

We are looking forward to your next visit with us, and hope the weather is nice so you can again enjoy the balcony.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Lovely clean spacious apartment! Everything you needed with a Tesco Express next door for all your drink & snacks! Great views over Arndale Centre! Only very minor point as we were 4 women sharing is that more mirrors are needed! Very pleasant staff. Secure luggage room available too. Would def recommend! Our apartment was number 94.

Room Tip: Room 94 had lovely sunny balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneybabeCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi Jane

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay here, your comments were lovely to read and we were really pleased that you enjoyed the lovely views being so high up.

On your next visit here, if there is anything you need in your apartment, please just call down to Reception at any time.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed last night in an executive apartment and it was great. Matt took my reservation the week before and he was very helpful. I made particular requests such as a couch rather than separate chairs, fully kitted kitchen as I was staying in to cook, and a bedroom with a window. Not only did Matt make sure these were all in place, he upgraded us to a 2 bed. The apartment was clean and well stocked with towels and toiletries. The beds were extremely comfortable and we had a good night's sleep.

I will definitely stay here again on my next business trip instead of a hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AliZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review of your recent stay at the Light you have left for us, Matt also sends his thanks and was pleased he was able to look after you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to having you with us again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at the apartments as recommended by a colleague. I wasn't disappointed, the staff on the front desk are very welcoming, genuine and provided a fantastic service...They even gave me an upgrade! The apartments are very spacious, quiet, clean and in a great location with a Tesco right on their door step. I will definitely be staying again. Thanks for the lovely stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ClaireMcNal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
HI Claire

It was lovely to read the lovely feedback you have left for us on Tripadvisor, your comments will be passed through the team. Hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I called in advance to ask about the possibility of having guests in out studio room. I was told they could stay up to 11pm.

When we arrived, we were upgraded free of charge to a delux 2 bedroom apartment. It was beautiful. 2 lovely double rooms with a kitchen, balcony, dining area and large bath room. We were provided with an iron on request as well as iphone charges as we forgot ours.

Overall, it was a nice surprise and a really pleasant stay. Second time I have stayed and won't be the last!

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a 1 or 2 room apartment. They really are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicelonsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Alice

Thank you for your lovely comments following your stay with us at the Light. We look forward tom seeing you here again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#8 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Light ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Light ApartHotel

Property: The Light ApartHotel
Address: Pall Mall House 20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Light ApartHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Light ApartHotel is the first true ApartHotel in Manchester, occupying a prime city centre location on the fringe of the Trendy Northern Quarter. Our guests enjoy the flexibility of serviced apartment living with hotel-style accommodation, appealing to both the business and leisure traveller, The Light ApartHotel consists of 60 fully equipped and beautifully furnished studios, one and two bedroom apartments and a range of penthouse suites. The Light ApartHotel is a true alternative to top-end hotels and gives flexibility for families whose kids aren't quite independent, but too old to share a room. Once you've tried it, we know you'll come back for more." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Light ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Light Boutique Apart Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing