We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous venue shame the food didn't match”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Room - CLOSED

Room
Price range: US$13 - US$63
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Manchester Piccadilly train station is 8 minutes walk
Description: Room is a modern, unique restaurant and cocktail bar located on King Street in the centre of Manchester's commercial and shopping district. An eclectic mix of antique and retro makes this a stunning place to enjoy a private dining experience and we also offer cocktails until late.Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 120 diners, whilst our bar can cater for up to 80. Room is absolutely perfect for a business lunch, a shopper's retreat or simply somewhere to drop in for a coffee. By night, the restaurant comes alive with the kind of brasserie atmosphere that you would expect within any cosmopolitan city and Room in Manchester is no exception. Enjoy dinner for two in a quiet corner or take a window seat and enjoy your Room with a view.
manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous venue shame the food didn't match”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We visited midweek and ordered from the very reasonably priced early menu at £12 for 2 courses. For starters the pate was delicious but the duck salad a disappointment; a few small pieces of duck on a bed of lettuce with a couple of blackberries, pretty tasteless. The winner of the main course was the vegetarian risotto which was vibrant, well cooked and tasty but the pork main was dry and the steaks were sent back due to being overdone. These were replaced quickly and without fuss although our sides were left on the table while we waited.
Overall, slightly disappointed as the venue and decor is superb. The staff and service were great and it's the perfect place for drinks as the bar area is fantastic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mouse06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    150
    83
    36
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cocktail central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Visited for cocktails with friends. Really great atmosphere and beautiful interior. Really good selection of cocktails and other drinks. Bar food excellent. Will definitely go back to try the restaurant. Absolutely will be back there for drinks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value lunch deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I visited Room on this occasion for a lunch with colleagues from work as a fair well treat for someone who is leaving the office.

We wanted somewhere which felt special, but not too expensive and with great food - which is exactly why we chose Room.

The lunch menu is an absolute steal at two courses for £10 or three courses for £14.50.

Two of our party opted for two course whilst the remaining two (which included myself) opted for three courses. The menu had a good selection of options, a lot smaller than the Al a carte menu, but the options change every two weeks.

The food looked and tasted amazing, all three courses.

We happened to be the only table in the entire lunch time, which was surprising for a Friday afternoon , but I imagine most people opted for a beer garden to enjoy the nice weather.

My only complaint would be that despite being the only table, the service was extremely slow. All in all, we were in the restaurant for two hours from our order being taken to leaving after paying the bill. Perhaps this could be the reason why it is so quiet at lunch!

I would definitely recommend visiting Room, but perhaps in the evening when the atmosphere is better and service dramatically increases in speed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshH_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice location, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Room is in an area where there is a lot of competition, but they manage to stand oit from the rest. Although the bar area is rather small, it is just nice for an aperetif before going to your table.

Service was niche, good advise on the wine to go with a perfectly cooked steak.

Really enjoyed a great evening with lovely flavored food and wine.

WILL CERTAINLY GO BACK AGAIN.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dutch_munchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very special meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have a hilife card so managed to get 2 for 1 on 3 courses, which made this excellent value. Beautiful room, great service, delicious food.

My boyfriend had the salmon and crab ravioli to start, which was very nice, and I had the french onion soup which was amazing, and came with cheesy dumplings, cheese straws and a delicious mayonnaise. For mains we had the three little pigs, which my boyfriend loved, and I had the bang bang chicken which was normally 18.75, which I would have thought was a bit steep, but as it was two for one, it was very good value. The crispy noodles were lovely, the satay chicken beautifully cooked, and the cucumber salad great. The only downside was the Szechuan chicken leg (basically a tiny chicken leg covered in sesame seeds which wasn't flavoursome but this is just being picky.) We both had ferrero for dessert which was one of the best desserts I have ever had; the chocolatey bottom of the creme brulee with the little nut and white choc surprises were amazing.

As we both weren't drinking (unfortunately as it was happy hour and the cocktails looked amazing) we had two of the non alcoholic cocktails, which were absolutely delicious.

The only bad points we could come up with was the overpriced cokes we also had, and the £8 tip which was added on automatically to the bill, which I thought was a bit steep (the put 10% of the original price of the meal without the discount on) We did pay it however, as the service was faultless, we weren't made to feel embarrassed about using a 2 for 1 card, and the food delicious.

Having read some of the bad reviews on here before going, I was slightly put off, but I can honestly say having been that it was genuinely a truly special meal, with fantastic food, great service and a wonderful atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ajones90194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Room also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing