We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Service”
Review of Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Velvet
Ranked #9 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This was one of the most pleasurable experiences I'vehad staying in a hotel. Considering my awful experience a few months ago in another hotel purporting to be a four star hotel but certainly wasn't! What a difference and pleasant stay this was. Incredibly attentive staff. Prompt and courteous service. The food was excellent and pricewise very reasonable considering. Decorated in that lovely boutique style I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will be booking again on my next trips to Manchester. I booked one of the rooms with a balcony. All the amenities one comes to expect with a top class hotel are anticipated and well presented. A complimentary tray is provided on arrival which was a nice touch. I needed a couple of things which a quick call down to reception was duly sorted for me. Thank you very much to the staff and hotel. My faith in good service once again restored!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelledTheWorld67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,785)
There are newer reviews for Velvet
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,313 - 1,319 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my sister and some friends. What luxury!! Lovely decor, very ornate and Quirky. The beds are massive and so comfy. Very well stocked mini bar, complementary biscuits and sweets and fluffy bathrobes. The breakfast was superb and the staff were great. Very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely return here and have already recommended to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaMck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

truely lovely hotel,many amazing special touches,fresh ice and lemon,large rooms and bathrooms, cocktails are lovely, only let down was breakfast, luke warm and a big disappointment espically as resturant food in pm, was perfect!

Room Tip: all rooms are different, so take a gamble.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwinter_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Our first time staying at Velvet was a great experience - little touches like the fresh milk and biscuits brought to our room at turndown, well presented room and friendly staff make this place money well spent. The food in the restaurant was fantastic - the pizzas to die for!! Breakfast was great too, all freshly made unlike alot of chain hotels where it's been stood for hours on end on hot plates. Huge beds and a lovely deep bath made relaxing in the evenings very easy!! We were able to leave our bags at the hotel whilst out for the day after checking out which was much appreciated - will definitely recommend and look to stay again if we visit Manchester.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a big bed and a deep bath - got what we wanted! Others have commented that...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jun10r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

One if the best hotels I've ever stayed at. Beautiful rooms. Couldn't hear next door which is always a bonus ;)

Would definitely stay again. Superb location too.

Didn't use the mini bar as I do find them expensive.

Only thing did annoy me slightly was taking an extra £50 off my card "in case" I used anything as it held it at bank for 5 days!! Think that's pretty standard tho now sadly

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Our room, 16, was fantastic for a standard room - massive bed, ornate features, great bathroom, all the mod cons.
Great service, drinks on arrival, great supplies in the room.
Really impressed - seems really good value for what you get.
Would highly recommend this place.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen_Marie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A top hotel with excellent facilities ranging from the selection in the mini bar and the selection on the TV. Most hotels just have the 5 main channels and a few radio stations but at Velvet had the fully freeview selection which was a refreshing change. The welcome basket was very nice and included fresh milk for tea and coffee as opposed to the usual UHT cartons you get in other Hotels. The full English breakfast was of the highest standards and very welcome after a night on the town. I will be staying here again and will recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,348 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £80 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing