We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Velvet
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My partner and I stayed this Sunday evening for a last minute night away as had been my birthday. When we arrived (Around 1PM) the room wasnt available as they had some late check outs and check-in wasnt until 3PM. However as we wanted to shop we were happy to leave our luggage and after being shown places to go on a map provided for us went into Manchester.
On our return at around 6PM we were shown our room (number 21 red room very very nice) and our luggage had been taken up for us, fantastic. we were offered a hot drink and were also given 2 glasses of champagne (Happy Birthday me ;) ), a lovely and very touching gesture.
The room was lovely and the bed to die for (we really want to know what type of mattress it was as was so so comfortable) a huge queen size wooden and leather one, gorgeous!
Very clean! Great upto date mod cons, DVD player, docking station, free view flat screen.
The bathroom was lovely with blue night lights, lovely touches with the V duck, cotton wool etc all extras that make your stay comfortable and different to large branded hotels.
We were a little cold but later discovered that the heating / ac worked with bathroom light on...
It was quite noisy from the street and the room above has a squeeky floor board but they didnt spoil our stay at all we absolutely loved it.
This hotel may not be for everyone, it is in the heart of all of the gay bars and clubs. It has a lovely avenue of lit up trees at night by the canal.
We didnt eat in the restaurant however the bar area was nice with chandeliers and dark surroundings modern and chic. The toilets in the bar werent as clean as the hotel ones and a little worn.
Very helpful, friednly and welcoming staff here and we will definately be staying again.
Recommend use of NCP car park as get a discount at hotel. Once stayed you also get an e mail for a discounted next stay, great for return business!!!!
Will be trying the restaurant next time. Thanks and well done fantastic hotel and service to match!!!

Room Tip: Room 21 red theme double (although bed a queen size and uba comfortable). Along with above mentioned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyREngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,242
    356
    94
    39
    36
See reviews for
52
1,081
91
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stopped at Velvet on our return from Mauritius. The hotel is as exactly as expected and more. Fresh milk and biscuits delivered to the room, fluffy good quality towels, good selection of DVDs behind reception. Nothing was to much trouble from the moment we arrived and shown to our room, taxis ordered for us, room service and storing our luggage on check out.

They certainly do go the extra mile and no wonder they are no1 on trip advisor! Well deserved.

Thanks again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sticky3679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Having visited and reviewed the restaurant before I had the chance to stay at Velvet. I live in Manchester but had a friend coming up so I decided to treat my self.

What a place, from the moment we arrived and checked in with Ricky everything was 5 star! Yes I know it's a 4 star, but they went out of that box!

The room was exquisite and have all the amenities you would need. DVD player, flat screen tv, I pod docking station, tea making facilities, iron! They bough us the welcome tray, which includes fresh milk and biscuits and this was replenished on turndown! A good sign of a hotel!

The bed was super comfy and had a luxury mattress topper, I didn't want to get up. Good quality, spotless clean linen!

The location is right in the heart of the city, in the gay area. No noise could be heard from either outside or from the adjoining rooms, something which other reviewers have noted. I did have a few glasses of wine which may of helped slightly but People should do their research more. Stay in the country if you want peace and quiet!

Overal I would wholeheartly recommend this place. If you don't love it, there must be something wrong with you or your just plain boring!!

Love it!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jem79rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This was one of the most pleasurable experiences I'vehad staying in a hotel. Considering my awful experience a few months ago in another hotel purporting to be a four star hotel but certainly wasn't! What a difference and pleasant stay this was. Incredibly attentive staff. Prompt and courteous service. The food was excellent and pricewise very reasonable considering. Decorated in that lovely boutique style I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will be booking again on my next trips to Manchester. I booked one of the rooms with a balcony. All the amenities one comes to expect with a top class hotel are anticipated and well presented. A complimentary tray is provided on arrival which was a nice touch. I needed a couple of things which a quick call down to reception was duly sorted for me. Thank you very much to the staff and hotel. My faith in good service once again restored!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelledTheWorld67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my sister and some friends. What luxury!! Lovely decor, very ornate and Quirky. The beds are massive and so comfy. Very well stocked mini bar, complementary biscuits and sweets and fluffy bathrobes. The breakfast was superb and the staff were great. Very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely return here and have already recommended to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaMck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

truely lovely hotel,many amazing special touches,fresh ice and lemon,large rooms and bathrooms, cocktails are lovely, only let down was breakfast, luke warm and a big disappointment espically as resturant food in pm, was perfect!

Room Tip: all rooms are different, so take a gamble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwinter_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Our first time staying at Velvet was a great experience - little touches like the fresh milk and biscuits brought to our room at turndown, well presented room and friendly staff make this place money well spent. The food in the restaurant was fantastic - the pizzas to die for!! Breakfast was great too, all freshly made unlike alot of chain hotels where it's been stood for hours on end on hot plates. Huge beds and a lovely deep bath made relaxing in the evenings very easy!! We were able to leave our bags at the hotel whilst out for the day after checking out which was much appreciated - will definitely recommend and look to stay again if we visit Manchester.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a big bed and a deep bath - got what we wanted! Others have commented that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jun10r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 118 in Manchester
1,284 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 118 in Manchester
1,288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Property: Velvet
Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing