We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy at night!!”
Review of Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Velvet
Ranked #9 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

Really liked the look of the hotel and was enjoying everything until we went to the restaurant! Don't do it! Then went out and came back around 1am. The noise noise noise. Had to stay awake until 4am Ish when the music from the nearby club stopped. The room was shaking and thudding sound from the bass was unreal. It was like torture that had cost £130. Not nice. Wife was in tears and when asked the night manager to come in at 3.45am and listen he said I've not heard it like that before!!! Mmmmmm! Amazing that a hotel at this price haven't soundproofed the rooms to deal with it. Had to put the tv on to try and drown out the thudding sound. Really spoilt the night! Don't let it spoil yours and if you stay here make sure you are at the club and come in when it shuts or get very drunk so nothing can wake you. Last resort take good earplugs.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetHotel, Owner at Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m sorry your stay wasn’t what you expected it to be.
We take the comfort of our guests seriously, obviously, and have taken many measures to keep external noise to a minimum. However we are a city centre hotel, not a country retreat, and as such, in a 24 hour city like Manchester, have to expect some city noise.
I’m also slightly confused at your extreme words as our Night Manager left a note for the morning staff of his visit to your room. He pointed out that once he had persuaded you to let him in so he could witness the ‘cacophony’, the only noise he experienced seemed to be coming from your TV. There are four other rooms on the same floor as yours and none of the other rooms mentioned a disturbed night.
Noise is such a personal matter and I can assure you we do get a lot of positive feedback from guests who have had a great night’s sleep in our comfy beds.
We do keep ear plugs at reception for light sleepers.
Regards
Mark Cain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,244 - 1,250 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

I stayed at Velvet on a business trip during the middle of February. It was a marvellous experience. Firstly, the staff could not have been more helpful and, for example, were more than happy for me to have a 'singles' dinner in the restaurant on Valentine's Day, making me feel very welcome. The food was exceptional - the best steak and chips ever. And the comfort of my room was amazing, including wonderful coffee.
So, I was able to get loads of work done, and feel very rested.
Just amazing!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenMG2463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I decided to book here as each room is unique, and a lit of hotel rooms can be quite cold and white. The decor was tasteful and the room size comfortable. Would wholly recommend this hotel to anyone who has thought about visiting a boutique hotel in Manchester.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice_kenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Really good location close to station. Room absolutely fab!!! Very cosy and that bit special if you know what I mean. Room very clean, all your needs catered for. Breakfast lovely and meal in restaurant fab. Staff very friendly what more could you ask for!!! Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting something extra special.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed at The Velvet for one night over the last weekend and all I can say is that it was exceptional from start to finish. The service of all the staff could not be better, the food was first rate and the standard of the room was excellent.
We stayed in room 31 which was of a good size, beautiful bathroom and a very comfy bed. The whole stay could not be faulted and we will definitely be staying there again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Just stayed at this hotel had a balcony room was really nice, the service in the hotel is out of this world, they really look after you and if you get room service they are fast. The food is really nice and presented beautifully. The staff are really friendly and seem to work really hard to provide a good service. I have never seen a bath as big as the one in our room! We will be staying there every time now. Thanks

Room Tip: This is a good relaxing hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Velvet - I'd heard about it, but hadn't been until recently and I was blown away. Apparently this establishment has been refurbished, but it still maintains its warehouse/industrial roots, with bare bricks and steel columns. The stairs down to the restaurant had a novel touch - they housed a tropical fish tank, set under sheet glass.
The service was excellent and friendly. The food really lovely and the wine as it should be.
My visit to Velvet was the highlight of a dismal, wet and cold Mancunian week and I will certainly be making another visit soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank gmsManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,377 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,366 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £98 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing