We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the touches you want in a hotel”
Review of Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Velvet
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“All the touches you want in a hotel”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Hotel is about 5-10 min walk from Piccadilly Station down Canal St.
Upon arrival you are given a complimentary tray of tea/coffee and lovely biscuits and just little fabulous things like a pot of lemon and limes and ice for your drinks. I was shown upstairs and was lucky enough to be staying in one of the penthouses. I've never stayed in a room like this with an upstairs and it was just lovely. They had a bowl of fruit waiting on the table including strawberries, i've never had a bowl of fruit in a hotel room. They have everything you want, really nice toiletries, a lovely stand alone bathtub which i didn't use but i stared at it a few times. There is a safe, a minbar, a goody basket in case you get the munchies, bathrobes, room service and check out the breakfast i got ( see photo ) i didn't even order the whole menu and it was the most PERFECT breakfast i've ever had. Coffee is really good also.
I had to go out and when i came back the blinds were drawn and they had put mints on the pillow and turned down the bed, i slept like a Log! Maybe there was something in the mints. The bar was closed off so didn't get to try any drinks but the mini bar saved the day.
I was gutted when i had to leave.The staff were lovely, well mannered and helpful and i really appreciated all the little touches. When you work so hard and pay out good money it's nice to stay somewhere that is like this and it's my new fav hotel in Manchester and i will be back!

Room Tip: Make sure you check on their website noise levels associated with each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank actornewbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,219
    347
    92
    39
    36
See reviews for
51
1,062
90
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A friend treated the two of us to a night in one of the split level rooms for Hallowe'en. Decor and attention to detail perfect, central location so we could walk to all the bars, and most important of all friendly efficient staff.
Would have loved to have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Velvet is for younger people wanting to stay in relatively luxurious surroundings in the centre of Manchester close to the action. If you're in that demographic, then it's the place for you. If not, then perhaps you should look elsewhere. Be prepared for quite a lot of activity in the street below with higher noise levels than one would normally expect - even in a city centre hotel - but hey, it's on Canal Street and is therefore only to be expected. The service is generally excellent and the welcome friendly. Unfortunately, for some reason, the boutique concept is equated to the provision of very low light levels in the rooms which is not conducive to applying makeup or other such practical activities. I'm genuinely surprised that this hotel scores as highly as it does but then again, I'm not, I suspect, a typical guest.

Having not eaten in the restaurant I can't comment on the food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Canal Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cimbalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our room was great and the attention to detail fantastic. We stayed in one of the split level rooms and it was very cool. Bed was very comfortable. Very handy to train station. Best hotel we gave stayed in in the uk so far. Easy walking distance to restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwisinrichmonduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

The food is superb , menu has lots of choice . Good value and lovely service . Well worth a visit. Food was cooked fresh for each order. The burgers are amazing. Would recommend to anyone . It is my first choice when visiting Manchester and is 5 minutes walk from the station.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A quirky independant hotel, good service and central location. Wooden stairs make it noisy with people coming and going at night and the rooms above are very creaky, so not the best nights sleep unfortunately. Were given coffee and tea with biscuits on arrival which is a nice touch.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Absolutely loved our stay, perfect from start to finish. Stayed in room 32 which was lovely, beautiful decor and a bath that could fit a family in!!! Hubby had paid for the 'romantic arrival' which was a gorgeous suprise, rose petals, roses and heart shaped box of chocs. All the staff were great and really helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Loved the welcome tray brought to the room just after arrival with fresh coffee, milk, ice and even lemon slices for the cold drinks. All the little touches made the difference, REN toiletries, sweet jars a well stocked mini bar and snack hamper (chargeable but reasonably priced!). Ate once in the restaurant and meal was delicious and well priced. The bar was lovely, beautiful decor and a fantastic range of cocktails! Five minute walk from train station so ideal location. Really don't have anything negative to say. We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,800 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Property: Velvet
Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing