We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stylish hotel with great service”
Review of Velvet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Velvet Hotel
Ranked #10 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had the balcony room with the huge bath and it was absolutely beautiful. I have a bit of a thing for good design details and the room didn't disappoint at all. I loved the complementary biscuits and ice and lemon and lime for our pre-night out drinks (although it did rather encourage us to empty the mini-bar). We had no problem with noise although we were back very late.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,134 - 1,140 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Really nice, clean rooms. Comfy bed and high spec finishes throughout.
Staff very accommodating as we were slightly 'diva'ish in our request to move rooms because the wallpaper scared us! Silly I know. The man on reception was more than professional and patient with us (I probably wouldn't have been!) moving us to another room and checking we liked the wallpaper :)
Next time we're in Manchester we'll definitely be staying here
Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sazzle212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just an amazing hotel. Comfortable, fully equipped with everything you need, fruit bowl and welcome tray on arrival and - most important - a really warm and friendly welcome at the front desk, replicated by everyone from bar to restaurant to housekeeping. Plus, it's as central as you're going to get in Manchester. Faultless. Stay here!

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and go for one of the duplex penthouses
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Hotel is about 5-10 min walk from Piccadilly Station down Canal St.
Upon arrival you are given a complimentary tray of tea/coffee and lovely biscuits and just little fabulous things like a pot of lemon and limes and ice for your drinks. I was shown upstairs and was lucky enough to be staying in one of the penthouses. I've never stayed in a room like this with an upstairs and it was just lovely. They had a bowl of fruit waiting on the table including strawberries, i've never had a bowl of fruit in a hotel room. They have everything you want, really nice toiletries, a lovely stand alone bathtub which i didn't use but i stared at it a few times. There is a safe, a minbar, a goody basket in case you get the munchies, bathrobes, room service and check out the breakfast i got ( see photo ) i didn't even order the whole menu and it was the most PERFECT breakfast i've ever had. Coffee is really good also.
I had to go out and when i came back the blinds were drawn and they had put mints on the pillow and turned down the bed, i slept like a Log! Maybe there was something in the mints. The bar was closed off so didn't get to try any drinks but the mini bar saved the day.
I was gutted when i had to leave.The staff were lovely, well mannered and helpful and i really appreciated all the little touches. When you work so hard and pay out good money it's nice to stay somewhere that is like this and it's my new fav hotel in Manchester and i will be back!

Room Tip: Make sure you check on their website noise levels associated with each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank actornewbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A friend treated the two of us to a night in one of the split level rooms for Hallowe'en. Decor and attention to detail perfect, central location so we could walk to all the bars, and most important of all friendly efficient staff.
Would have loved to have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Velvet is for younger people wanting to stay in relatively luxurious surroundings in the centre of Manchester close to the action. If you're in that demographic, then it's the place for you. If not, then perhaps you should look elsewhere. Be prepared for quite a lot of activity in the street below with higher noise levels than one would normally expect - even in a city centre hotel - but hey, it's on Canal Street and is therefore only to be expected. The service is generally excellent and the welcome friendly. Unfortunately, for some reason, the boutique concept is equated to the provision of very low light levels in the rooms which is not conducive to applying makeup or other such practical activities. I'm genuinely surprised that this hotel scores as highly as it does but then again, I'm not, I suspect, a typical guest.

Having not eaten in the restaurant I can't comment on the food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Canal Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cimbalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our room was great and the attention to detail fantastic. We stayed in one of the split level rooms and it was very cool. Bed was very comfortable. Very handy to train station. Best hotel we gave stayed in in the uk so far. Easy walking distance to restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwisinrichmonduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 121 in Manchester
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 121 in Manchester
1,500 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#39 of 121 in Manchester
2,652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 121 in Manchester
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet Hotel

Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £85 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Velvet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing