We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”
Review of Velvet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Velvet Hotel
Ranked #9 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Took my wife here for her birthday.We stayed in a fourth floor penthouse suite. It was an amazing room full of lovely touches. The room was very quiest even though the bar was noisy(we went for a quick dance there).All in all go here you`ll love it guaranteed

Room Tip: Room 404 is ace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,123 - 1,129 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Velvet is a relatively small boutiquey hotel on Canal street in Manchester - which is pretty central. The street itself is traffic free - but parking is available within a couple of minutes walking. The staff were very helpful - escorting us up to our room, which had a great heated balcony (with resident full size model sheep) and four poster bed. The room was well designed - with lots of nice touches - and a large bathroom - with cool LED lights. The lady from check-in explained how everything worked - even down to how to switch the lights off over the minibar!
We didn't eat at the restaurant - but the bar was fun - and the cocktail guys really knew what they were doing. Very friendly - clean and comfortable hotel - and well located - will certainly be back.

Room Tip: loved the heated balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We recently stayed in one of the penthouse rooms, it was fabulous but we were very disappointed by the size of the bed!!! Didn't expect a standard double!! Unfortunately the walls are thin and we were kept awake by the people in the next room. However the staff were excellent, breakfast was delicious and we will be back, maybe try a different room next time, with a bigger bed!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The chap who checked us in and showed us to our room was perhaps the most genuinely welcoming of any hotel I have ever been in.

Really quirky and delightful hotel, breakfast was superb, and nice touches really set the place apart and demonstrate why it’s #1 on trip advisor.

We stayed in 7 hotels over the summer and this one was by far the best of them all

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rynin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

It's always lovely food. Great service and nice atmosphere. Please put the crispy duck back on the menu though and maybe consider reducing the crispy chicken portion, nobody ever finishes it...surely?

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jolois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Popped in to the restaurant on a Sunday afternoon and decide to have the roast dinner.

So decided to have a starter along with the sunday roast - I had the mushroom on toast and it was amazing, packed with flavour.

For the roast, I opted for the beef only to be told there was only 1 portion left and so I let my friend have it (but we did go in at the very end of the lunch servicing and didn't book!). So I had the chicken, which was almost a full roast chicken so wasn't disappointed. It was served with lots of vegetable and I couldn't finish it.

So the food was amazing, the service was amazing and the food was certainly excellent value for money. This is a must place to try.....i can't wait to go back to Manchester, and this place will certainly be on the itinerary

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here on 20th-22nd november and stayed in room 31 ,parking in chorlton street car park was less than 5 mins from the hotel and was discounted when we left at reception, room was clean spacious and tastefully decorated, the welcome tray was a great touch as we had driven for 4 hours , the centre of manchester was only a 10 minute walk away so location was excellent and also close to china town, i will certainly be back ,keep it up Velvet !!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bordermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 121 in Manchester
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 121 in Manchester
1,497 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#39 of 121 in Manchester
2,650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 121 in Manchester
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet Hotel

Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £85 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Velvet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing