We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic!”
Review of Velvet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Velvet Hotel
Ranked #9 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I travel all over the world and this hotel has the WOW factor - nothing left to chance - the eye for detail is everywhere, the room was magnificent, the bed comfortable, the bathroom was incredible and the choices in the mini bar area was exceptional, from drinks to sweets to chocolates / crisps - and a cheeky glass of champagne on arrival - PERFECT!!

The staff were really accomodating and nothing was too much trouble for anybody, the restaurant was really nice and the staff friendly and professional

Check out was swift

I would recommend this hotwel to anybody and it was that good I have booked next weekend!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellowsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,100 - 1,106 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

very enjoyable stay .room was fantastic once again .standards are excellent .reception staff went that extra mile on arrival offering us a choice of rooms with bath or double shower or a four posted bed .had a meal in restaurant it was excellent service again been top notch .definatlley would recommend a visit .

Room Tip: we have stopped in 4 different rooms all have been very nice .the suites are nice for a special trea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suggie1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed over At the velvet hotel this Saturday and was very impressed. The service was spectacular they couldn't do enough for us! The facilities in the room were marvellous the bed was extremely comfortable the only thing I would say is the decor behind the bed a large scary looking woman scowling at you , I didn't see this in any photos on the website and it wasn't something I'd ever choose .. However the rest of the decor was beautiful. We ate in the velvet restaurant it was absolutely delicious and the cocktails in the bar were also amazing . Thanks velvet we shall be returning

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephaniee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here on Friday night. Fantastic location close to Piccadilly and right on Canal Street. Room was stunning and the staff really helpful and professional without being pushy or in your face. The whole hotel has a really relaxed feel about it.
Bathroom was great with a lovely bath and shower and great toiletries.
Only thing that I can really grumble about is the pillows were flat and uncomfortable and the bed was two singles pushed together but that's really minor.
Would definitely recommend and will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edf194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Me and my partner have eaten here on a few occasions and we can honestly say the food, wine and service is excellent. The staff are non evasive, helpful and knowledgable about the menu, we tend tend to go for the 4-7 menu and you are not short changed, the house wine at £9.50 is excellent value and two courses at £15.95 you can't go wrong... People have opinions about the village being dirty.... But I can honestly say this establishment is perfect for a romantic meal, a family meal, a special occasion... But above all those who appreciate good food... Highly recommended

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here last night for my birthday. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the room was gorgeous (we were in room 25). The bed was really comfy, the bathroom was lovely and it was just everything we hoped for! Really can't sing their praises enough! Perfection.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I NEVER write reviews but seeing as this hotel has such rave reviews (which is the reason we booked it) I felt compelled to do so on this occasion.
I'll try keep this short and sweet. The staff are excellent, very well mannered and attentive. The room was beautifully decadent (no.14) with one very major flaw..... it wasn't designed with women (especially short ones) in mind!! The lighting is DIM to say the least. The dressing table in the bedroom doesn't have a mirror so you can't use it to put on your make-up, the floor length mirror in the hall doesn't have a light over it so you can't use it to put on your make-up and the mirror in the bathroom is so high (especially if you're only 5'1") that you can't see in it!!! Even if you are tall enough to be able to see in it the sink and toilet are in front of it so you're a good 2ft away so you can't put your make-up on there either. In the end I had to resort to standing on the loo seat (which wasn't that sturdy and I only weigh 8st!!) to put on my make-up and the lighting was still terrible!!!
So, to sum it up, great staff, beautiful room but not for women!!!! Sorry. :(

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolyn-muriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 121 in Manchester
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#8 of 121 in Manchester
1,495 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#39 of 121 in Manchester
2,649 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 121 in Manchester
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet Hotel

Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £82 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Velvet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing