We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a good clean”
Review of Velvet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Velvet Hotel
Ranked #9 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel is average, there are some nice furniture and decoration and a big bath, but everything looks tired. The room was really dirty, piles of dust on the ceiling lights, bed, curtains. The windows also was extremely dirty.
The service was OK, so was a breakfast.
We stayed there on Tuesday-Wednesday, so there was very little noise from the street.
My impression: the hotel is nothing really special, and for the price the customers pay they could at least have tried to clean the rooms properly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena_A_M_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for one night. The hotel was lovely and the rooms were very neat and clean. The rooms are bit small but service throughout was superb.The staff were very friendly and polite. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed at the hotel in January 2013. The hotel is really nicely decorated, very fancy and looks fantastic when you go in the room.

What I didnt realise before I went, was that thr hotel is right on the gay high street of Machester, and there were poeple partying until 4am. Safe to say I didnt sleep well as I was on the ground floor!

I know this was more of the hotel guests fault, but at around 5am, there was loud banging and screaming coming from the room next door, which to be honest sounded like a fight between a group of girls, what wasn't good though, was that the hotel just knocked on the door and asked them to be quiet, this was repeated 3 times, and eventually they were quiet. But nonetheless, I must have slept about 3 hours that night!

This hotel would be great for a group of girls/guys that are going for a bgi weekend out, who wouldn't be in bed when the clubs on the high street were in full flow. If a weekend away for business, coulpes or solo, I wouldn't be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBoyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

So the wedding was to take place 2pm sun 12th jan 2014 at manchester town hall. Reception at velvet central was at 3pm where sunni and the team put on a fabulous wedding breakfast downstairs and wonderful and attentive party upstairs afterwards (great party venue). The magic of the weekend wad in the penthouse at velvet hotel where the bride stayed the night before and was thoroughly looked after, no ask to big, the detail in the room was stunning and any pre-wed nerves were put to one side as she relaxed in the sumptuous rolltop bath with a glass (or two) of chilled wine. I spent the wedding night in the most comfortable bed, I almost forgot a husband had duties to attend to!! I couldn't speak highly enough of Mark, Sue and the rest of the Velvet team at the hotel and restaurant....look forward to our anniversary stay there.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank stevierouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary at the Velvet and will definately return. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the room and service were very personal. On arrival to our room they brought a beautifully presented tray of milk, biscuits and sliced lemon and topped this up later on in the evening. The room itself was beautiful and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had lunch at the hotel and it was really nice, the staff again extremely friendly and the breakfast the next morning was presented beautifully. i would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed here for two nights as I was combining a trip to Liverpool with a shopping trip in Manchester. This is a unique hotel with lots of character and its sumptuous interior. We were lucky enough to stay in a room with the big, grand, white carved bed, it was one of the comfiest bed I've ever slept it.

As for location it was approximately a 5-10 minute walk into the city centre.

If you stay in this hotel make sure you head down into their restaurant for a meal, the food was absolutely fantastic. We were gutted we didn't eat there on both nights we were there.

I wouldn't hesitate to go back if we have another trip up North.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WishyWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I travel all over the world and this hotel has the WOW factor - nothing left to chance - the eye for detail is everywhere, the room was magnificent, the bed comfortable, the bathroom was incredible and the choices in the mini bar area was exceptional, from drinks to sweets to chocolates / crisps - and a cheeky glass of champagne on arrival - PERFECT!!

The staff were really accomodating and nothing was too much trouble for anybody, the restaurant was really nice and the staff friendly and professional

Check out was swift

I would recommend this hotwel to anybody and it was that good I have booked next weekend!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellowsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 121 in Manchester
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 121 in Manchester
1,497 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#39 of 121 in Manchester
2,650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 121 in Manchester
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet Hotel

Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £85 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Velvet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing