We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Excellent Service”
Review of Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Velvet
Ranked #9 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The service at the hotel was exceptional from the moment we arrive to when we left. If all hotels could be this good! The room was excellent, restaurant was pleasant and offered a range of lovely meals. Breakfast was also of a high standard. Would go back in a instant!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,786)
There are newer reviews for Velvet
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

958 - 964 of 1,786 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

To me - this is over rated by TripAdvisor - as I found it to be only average. It's small and hard to get into. I was calling at the back door and nobody answered despite sign saying to ring the bell. Rooms are ok. No free water. Internet was crap. Staff were ok - definitely nothing to commend !
Sorry. Love TripAdvisor but this one didn't live up to expectations.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank SimonJRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in the most of the rooms and we love them all. The staff is fantastic and cant do enough for you. Great location for shopping or partying. Some may think is noisy but never bothered us. Definitely 5 stars!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room to avoid some noise or even better indulge yourself to a penthouse room t...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank teogti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have stayed several times at this small boutique hotel in central Manchester and have constantly been delighted by the warm welcome, quirky rooms and excellent cocktails / food. The rooms are all different some with Huge baths and very comfortable beds. We have always been given a welcome tray with tea / coffee and homemade biscuits. We keep returning to this little gem.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Most times I've spent at Velvet have been v good but twice I struck unlucky: a room opposite reception which was v noisy, as was a room at the back of the hotel which, apart from having no view (not even of the 'backstreet') because the windows were so high, was esp noisy as the taxis collected legions of raucous women at 3.00am directly under my window - and all for £100+
Not good. Yet if you get a balcony room at a reasonable rate the stay is heavenly!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Can really say no more than this hotel is perfect !!!!
Each room is individual in design and has all sorts of unexpected little touches,
we want to try every room
The staff are excellent, attentive and friendly
I really can find no fault what so ever
This is our favourite hotel ever !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dawnybrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Velvet Hotel in Manchester combines a discrete, exemplary level of service with a unique and luxuriant offering. The rooms combine comfort with an appropriate level of technology to deliver an unbeatable experience. The bathrooms are beautiful and well proportioned and the toiletries match the high quality of the rest of the hotel. Just don't trust the rubber duck!
The staff are friendly and helpful and make an excellent hotel into the best hotel in Manchester. I love it. Go! But not all at once.

Room Tip: Ask for a different room each time you stay - none have disappointed, but start by insisting on antl...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 119 in Manchester
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 119 in Manchester
1,351 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 119 in Manchester
5,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 119 in Manchester
1,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 119 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £80 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing