We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something a bit different”
Review of Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Velvet
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Something a bit different”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

A very pleasant hotel in a very vibrant part of Manchester. We booked a balcony room for ourselves and a king room for our daughter . The King room was roomy and tasteful and whilst the balcony room was a bit smaller I'd recommend it highly as the balcony was cleverly done and a very pleasant place to sit on a balmy evening. There's always the possibility of noise in such a vibrant part of town but we were never bothered by it and once all the doors were shut it was perfectly fine.
Staff were extremely helpful and the hotel is less than 5 minutes walk from Piccadilly Station. If you want to get away from the big corporate hotels you usually get in big cities then this should do the trick .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,242
    356
    94
    39
    36
See reviews for
52
1,081
91
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

we only stayed one night on a theatre trip to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary & my birthday!wish it had been longer,what a wonderful place the velvet hotel is.everyone was wonderfully curtious and the hotel itself could,nt have been more perfect!! will definately stay there again.so romantic!!

Room Tip: we had a quiet room but would definately upgrade to a balcony room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazza344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon tour of the UK. We were surprised and delighted when we were upgraded to one of the nicest suites in the hotel! GORGEOUS!!! Also, the cookies (biscuits) brought up to our room with the welcome tray were a thoughtful and welcoming touch. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoRoamingTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Wonderful boutique hotel and would definitely stay again. The decor and ambience is excellent as are the staff. Set in the great canal street area. The rooms are stunning and each have their own individual twist

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Switch1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Velvet Hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of Manchester. I was greeted by the very friendly night manager who took me to my wonderfully converted room, with many original features. There was only one minor issue, the wifi was very slow. However, I would whole heartly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kga2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Upgraded to a penthouse room 406! WOW! Lovely room. Escorted to the room with an offer to carry our luggage, complimentary biscuits, fruit and tea/coffee. Large double freestanding bath, low lighting, 2 tv's and plenty of seating. Staff are very helpful, polite and ensure your needs are met. Close to all amenities. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you are looking for a funky hotel in the heart of Manchester, that's clean, great food, comfortable, trendy decor and professional service, where nothing is too much trouble...then look no further !

Room Tip: Each room has it own style...from suites to penthouses...amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadget67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 117 in Manchester
1,278 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
1,341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 117 in Manchester
1,287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Property: Velvet
Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing