We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb ”
Review of Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Velvet
Ranked #9 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night, very close to Manchester Piccadilly, fantastic hotel would definitely stay here again!! Probably one if the best hotels in Manchester I loved it xx
Very good touch with the sweets and the games had a drunk game of connect 4 x

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Louisepj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 1,803 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and loved it! Canal Street is quirky for sure but the Velvet is just super. We loved the decor, our room was very spacious and clean. There was also a/c in the room. The bed was very comfy. The bathroom was exceptional and huge! It had a huge 2 person shower. We had no noise issues as noted in some of the other posts, but we also upgraded to be on the top floor in a large room- but the price was still much and far less than what we paid for comparable rooms in London and Edinburgh - so we were delighted. The staff were very nice and welcoming. The breakfast was terrific! Getting fresh fruit and the fresh breads were a treat after traveling for several weeks in the UK. The hotel is also within an easy 5 minute walk to to train station - so very handy. We arrived quite late so this was handy and we were also within a short 5 minute walk to ChinaTown to get a late night dinner. Very much enjoyed our short stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Islandlegacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Sitting outside in Manchester is a rare treat and the meal beside the canal was fun as this is the alternative centre to Manchester and fun for people watching. I'm glad I took the offer for a late room here as the low priced alternatives in the area can be very patchy. I probably found the only barman in England who didn't know what a Vespers aperitif was, but the service was good both in the restaurant and the hotel generally.

As a middle aged 'bloke' I was clearly not their target audience but with only one slightly narky exception I was treated very well throughout. I can only hope this level of courtesy is extended the other way around in other establishments. The plushness can be a little over the top, and the pricey mini-bar etc gets frankly a bit old now and most boutiques of this quality simply don't do it any more. But very comfortable and welcoming, safe and tidy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hussar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Booked on the back of other trip advisor reviews and was expecting this hotel to be something special. For the price we paid (over £200) we were sorely disappointed. Felt the hotel was dark and dingy, almost seedy. Great staff and customer service. It's in an excellent location, near to train station and central to the city centre. The room was clean, well appointed, with modern bathroom, quality toiletries, reasonably priced mini bar, nice touch bringing tray of tea/coffee cookies to room once checked in

On the downside, the sound proofing of the rooms was awful. We could hear every footstep, chair movement etc from the room above. We would have put up with this and almost expected it from a midrange lower priced hotel, but not when you are paying what this hotel charges.
For the price, breakfast should be included. We went down to the basement for an average breakfast, eaten with a faint smell of 'night before' stale alcohol, disinfectant, urine etc coming from off the street.
Wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you got it on special offer and weren't expecting anything fantastic,

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floor so you can't hear other guests above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank stalig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I stopped here on a Sunday night (10.08.14) for my birthday, we arived in the luxurious hotel late afternoon and parked across the street in a separate carpark which was ideal. The rooms are beautiful, they have a mini bar, hamper basket full of treats (you have to pay for them), complementary toiletries, and we had a welcome tray with cold milk, ice, lemon slices and biscuits delivered to our room for no extra charge. The hotel is mostly for gay people and didnt bother us but what do you expect on canal street? It had a lovely atmosphere to the hotel and bar area and a real chilled out feeling which made it a great relaxed night. While we were out in the evening our room was 'turned down' which was a great touch they dimmed the lights put the t.v on and opened the bed up and layed chocolates on our pillows. Would definetly stay here again, we are planning to go back around christmas for a night out as the night life is great around the area.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This small, unique hotel is tucked away on Canal St in Manchester. We had a friendly greeting and were shown to our room with a follow up a few minutes later of the delivery of tea, coffee and biscuits. The room was large and luxuriously decorated and the bath was large enough for both me and my husband to lie down in at the same time! The beds are also enormous and very comfortable.

We used the bar that evening and found it to be very relaxing and lovely to sit outside soaking up the atmosphere. The noise from the street after midnight did keep us awake for a while so it's not ideal if you have an early start and the blackout blinds were not flush to the window letting in a stream of sunlight too early for us. We would go back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

One night stay for a birthday, absolutely fantastic rooms, all with their own unique style, highly recommend this hotel, the staff were very welcoming and helpful! Price for one night was approximately £100, this is rather pricey but what a fantastic hotel! Well worth it, we will hopefully be returning!

Room Tip: Have a look on the hotel's website and email them requesting a specific room that you like the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#7 of 120 in Manchester
1,430 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#35 of 120 in Manchester
2,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £86 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing