We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice decor - the end.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Velvet
Ranked #7 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice decor - the end.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

My partner chose Velvet Hotel as it had been rated so highly here and on first impression when walking through the entrance I had my doubts. Gaining entry from a very busy and loud street as well as dodging smokers at the door, we were then faced with some steep stairs into a decent looking reception - alas there were no staff to be seen for a good 5 minutes. We were checked in with haste by the receptionist and promptly shown to our room - decor was lovely and that's all I can compliment the place on. Room was above the bar, noise was unbearable, service was mediocre and the staff were unfriendly and aloof. Breakfast the next morning was bland and again served in a hurry. Manchester was a great place to visit but I'll stick to one of the bigger hotels next time :(

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dingoberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    331
    89
    36
    35
See reviews for
51
1,032
87
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

Stayed for just one night in April for our wedding anniversary, from the minute we walked in to the minute we left it was special. fantastic decor, we stayed in room 15 which was a kingsize standard room, but there was nothing standard about it., complimentry tea & coffee on arrival, ice & a slice as soon as you get there & the same on the turn down service, which also included a fab chocolate...just perfect & we can't wait to go back. We did not eat there but we went to China Town & ate at Mr Fu's which was just perfect....WELL DONE VELVET for a very personal experience in the heart of a busy city!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anishkalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

The team at The Velvet Hotel made our Wedding Weekend the most fantastic and magical weekend of our lives. We had champagne on arrival and were treated like royalty from start to finish. We had looked at other hotels in Manchester, but none even came close to the standard and opulence that we found here. My new husband was even quoted as saying "let's ditch the house and move in here!"

If you are planning your Civil Partnership or Wedding, you will be hard pushed to find anywhere else like The Velvet Hotel!

Boutique Hotel, exquisite bar and a World Class Restaurant in one building , what more could you ask for.

Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants a perfect hotel for their Wedding Night and their Wedding Guest!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IGSA_Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarborough
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

Never been to this hotel before. From the moment we enter'd till we left nothing was to much trouble. the room was great we stayed in room 31, more like japan's type room 3rd floor,
Not much noise apart from the extractor fan on the roof, the room was very well set out and the bathroom nearly as big, two showers very diffrent ! the staff were very good and service was great in the dinning room for dinner/breakfast. This type of hotel is quite diffrent ,we have been to the best hotels in the world and we have found this one well up there with some of the best, i would recommend it to others canal street so what. lots of people having fun in the bars, great night out,great hotel,

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poshroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

I have stayed here a few times now and each time the staff have been absolutely faultless. They have always responded to requests promptly and efficiently and with a great attitude. This service quality extends to all staff I met, including bar staff, restaurant, housekeeping and front desk.
I have a preferred room, so can only really comment on one of them. Suffice to say, it is so good that I keep going back. Spacious, clean and with a well-stocked minibar. It is on the pricey side, even for central Manchester where every hotel seems to be continually squeezing up rates. However, for a slightly decadent night in a vibrant part of town and a good few hours sleep after it is perfect.
I will be returning. Regularly.
Note to manager - frequent guest rewards?!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwistedYoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

This is our 2nd trip to Velvet, stayed 2 nights had a Balcony Room, No34, worth the price,Hotel fantastic, staff excellant, nothing too much trouble, from the Reception staff, Jason and Stewart, to the Bar Staff, and the Security Chap, who came and asked if we had had a good day, as it was raining they provided us with an umbrella. Ate at the restrauant on both nights and wasnt disappointed, the steak was cooked as one had asked for. Desserts to die for. They also have a fab Room Service. Room 34 had the most wonderful bath, could have been for 4, so just chilled. All in all will most def be going back, cant wait.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LiverJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

I was looking for an appropriate hotel for our first wedding anniversay, and after lots of shopping around Manchester, booked the Velvet for the friday night. At the time of booking i was hoping for two nights, but they were fully booked except for their most expensive room, which to be honest i couldn't afford. So i asked them to let me know if another room became available, which they did on arrival, demonstrating their good customer service.
The parking for the hotel was at a public car park just round the corner, which was slightly annoying, but expected in a city centre.
On the friday night we had our dinner in the velvet, which was good but not as good as their breakfast the next day which was excellent.
The location was great, as we went out down canal street on the first night, then onto a casino round the corner. We walked to the shops with a slight hangover, but it wasn't far at all. We got a taxi to a different area of manchester on the second night.
The rooms were clean, modern and very tasteful without being over the top. Loved the shower room. Overall excellent, would definately go back there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenBartez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Property: Velvet
Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing