We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is what it is” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commercial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Commercial Hotel
Ranked #24 of 27 Manchester B&B and Inns
ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

If you dont plan on spending much time in the hotel then this is fine. Most suited for a group of lads or girls. It is a budget accommodation so people should just expect what you pay for. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tipp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    17
    12
    80
See reviews for
10
25
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
halifax west yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Cost £60 for a night in a dirty run down pig sty of a hotel.I didn't drink from the cups and wouldn't dare even step into the shower.this place should not offer accomodation.absolutely discusting filthy place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbwlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

When booking the cheapest hotel room in Manchester on a Saturday night, you're never going to expect 5* luxury, nor were we expecting that. Having recently left university, i'm pretty used to poorly maintained and basic properties, but this 'hotel' takes the micky some-what.

Our room was clean and tidy and the facilities were very basic. Using this hotel as a bed for the night on a drinking weekend, it was probably acceptable, but that's the only occasion I would use this hotel for.

Certainly not one for children!!

Some basic safety issues that need resolving such as the absences of a smoke alarm in the room, and the cracked plug socket in one of the communal areas.

I would suggest looking for an alternative hotel unless you're on a very tight budget.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tristan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Absolutely disgusted with this hotel. Stayed for 2 nights, the place was filthy. Rooms falling apart. Tried to hang my coat up on the coat rack and it fell off the wall. Stains all over the walls looks like it hasn't been cleaned in decades. I gained 7 bites from bed bugs and my weekend trip to Manchester ended up with me sitting in a&be due to these bites.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We arrived at the pub hotel to await the room allocation after much discussion between owner and another staff member as to which room we were going to have , when got to the room room 2 we noticed Brown stains on the roof ,catch on door hanging off ,curtains not hung right draft from window which did my close properly ,tiles cracked in the bathroom to mention but a few things ,we also had paid 79 pound to stay here which is not cheep,will not come again despite location

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c_m_williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I'd read a lot of bad reviews about this place, but I don't know what people were complaining about. Yes, it's not exactly The Ritz, the decor's a bit outdated and it could do with a bit of tarting up. But it's a cheap room for Central Manchester, great location, nice beds, cosy atmosphere in pub downstairs, TV, bath in en suite, friendly staff. Maybe I have a bit of a thing for old-fashioned hotels, but I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We went to stay there for the Doki Doki festival 9th November which I thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is another matter, the only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it's not far from the city centre, other than that, it's really awful. There was mould around the bath taps and at the bottom of the shower curtain and you couldn't even shut the door to the bathroom so there's the privacy issue. The beds were so uncomfortable that you might as well sleep on the a rock.One could argue you get what you pay for but I've paid around £20 for a hostel in London where the toilets are clean and it's in a much better condition. I'll let the picture I've uploaded to the rest of the talking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.0 mi away
Castlefield Hotel
Castlefield Hotel
#63 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
2.3 mi away
Elton Bank Hotel
Elton Bank Hotel
#11 of 27 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
YHA Manchester
YHA Manchester
#5 of 81 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rampant Lion Hotel
Rampant Lion Hotel
#4 of 27 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
Old Trafford Guest House
#18 of 27 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commercial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commercial Hotel

Property: Commercial Hotel
Address: 125 Liverpool Road, Manchester M3 4JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Commercial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing