We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good venue”
Review of Manchester Central

Manchester Central
Ranked #38 of 177 things to do in Manchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Manchester Central is an award winning, globally renowned venue in the heart of one of the world's most vibrant cities. This unique convention centre combines iconic architecture with state-of-the-art facilities to provide a dynamic venue for the world's leading conferences, exhibitions and events.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good venue”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

At a conference and the staff were very courteous. Could do with a few knives and forks for the lunch "cattle market" run, but the conference dinner was excellent, very well dressed tables the food was spot on brought to us by very attentive staff. 50 tables with 10 covers done and dusted in no time. On with the dancing... Very clean facilities. Even the left luggage last day thign ran very smoothely.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FlyerUK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    71
    29
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I spent 3 days at the GMex for the ATL annual conference. The venue is ideally situated, it has big open spaces and is comfortable. A real strength is the staff, they are willing to help with any requests and they are knowledgeable. The lunch was, to be fair, a bit rubbish, but the evening dinner we had for the gala was a lot better. Overall, a decent venue.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
792 reviews
542 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is my second visit to the convention centre ,I found the staff extremely friendly and helpful ( recommending local places of interest and places to eat .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary38677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I visited the venue earlier this year on a buisness trip. I found the experience warming and very welcoming although the concessions were extremley priced.The concierge staff helped me so much advising me on what local attractions and eateries to visit. Thank you amanda for all your help

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank trinawalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not the best facilities”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I went with my niece and her 8-month old baby to Manchester Central to attend the Cake and Bake Show (April 2014).
The show itself was quite good although everything was hugely overpriced ... I understand that the exhibitors want to recoup some of the expense of having a stand there, but the prices they were charging did not encourage me to want to look them up any further online afterwards.

As it didn't take very long to run out of cash (majority of stands were cash only), myself and niece went to find the cash machine in the convention centre. ONE CASH MACHINE AND A QUEUE OF AT LEAST 100 PEOPLE !! Eventually I had to leave my niece and baby there while I went out in the pouring rain to find an alternative cash machine, as did quite a lot of other people.

Also, there were no facilities for warming a baby's bottle, which I found astounding. A couple of very nice,helpful assistants went to the trouble of taking the bottle and warming a bowl of water to stand it in and waited until it was warm enough and then brought it to us. There was a lack of seating in the hall and lots of people were having to sit on the floor around the edges of the hall. But again, helpful events people came to the rescue by bringing around extra seats.

On the whole it was a good show, but lack of facilities let it down on the day. But a big thank you to the staff who were very friendly and helpful.

Recommendations:
1. Reduce exhibitors costs so that they then don't have to pass this expense on to visitors.
2. Provide at least 2 more cash machines within the centre
3. Provide enough seating, heating facilities for babies bottles and decent coffee !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rochdalecowboys2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manchester Central also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Manchester Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing