We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, shame about the restaurant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Ranked #42 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We were going to a concert at the MEN so location was fantastic as hotel is just across the road. Arndale Centre is only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

Staff at reception were excellent, welcoming and friendly from the moment we arrived. Our room was lovely, we had a suite. The suite was very spacious with a separate seating area with TV, bathroom was very large with a separate shower.

The food in the restaurant was lovely, couldn't fault it but shame the same couldn't be said about the restaurant staff. We asked for a table at around 1815, restaurant was only a quarter full, we were told all tables were booked and it would be well over an hour before we could be accommodated. Stood our ground and were then told we could be "squeezed in" another member of staff appeared and said there was no way we could be accommodated. Reception had said no need to book a table so we stood our ground again and strangely enough they managed to "squeeze" us in, only after futher trying to put us off by saying that we would have to wait a very long time for food!

We were in the restaurant for an hour, during that time no other customers were shown to tables! When we left there were less people in the restaurant than when we arrived, so who knows what happened to everyone that had booked a table! It was almost like we were an inconvenience, I asked for a glass of iced water and was brought a glass of ice with no water!

At breakfast the next morning we were shown immediately to a table and asked if we wanted tea or coffee, which didn't arrive! So we asked again, two staff members then proceeded to have a full blown argument right in front of us as to whose fault it was that our tea and coffee and not arrived. Seems entertainment at breakfast is included in the price!

Really liked the hotel and the location but not so sure I would endure the restaurant again, shame as the food was lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Engadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colm_Feeley, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Hi Engadine

Thank you for your review and detailed feedback on the restaurant. Please be assured that I have taken all the comments on board, discussed with the team and retrained where necessary to ensure that we do not repeat the failings you endured during your stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies, it is reassuring to read that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.

Many thanks
Neil

Neil Raw
General Manager
E: neil.raw@rezidorparkinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,119 - 2,125 of 2,294 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stopped here for one night for my partner's birthday. We found the room clean and tidy and packed with the usuals like hairdrier and tea facilities.

The layout of the bathroom was obviously designed for someone who was not able bodied as it was more of a large wetroom with a great number of mobility assistance aids, which was a bit odd as the sink was too low for us and the water obviously went everywhere after a shower!

We found the design of the bar and terrace area quite stylish and pleasant despite the location very near a busy main road. Breakfast was a bit chaotic but no worse than most hotels and the usual wide choice of food was available.

Bar prices were quite steep but we went into town anyway. Word of warning, the room rates are competitively priced but to get to most decent places in the centre it's a bit of a walk so be prepared for a taxi ride.

All in all it was worth the money and a good deal compared to some of the other hotels on offer on the same date for higher prices.

Room Tip: If you're disabled definitely opt for the specially equipped rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiceGirlLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colm_Feeley, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Dear SpiceGirlLeeds,

Thank you for reviewing the hotel, great to here that you enjoyed your stay with us. Appreciate your comments about the bar prices and will continue to review with the team to ensure we are offering value in this area.

Apologies you found the layout of the room and in particular the bathroom a little odd, it was indeed an accessible room that you stayed in. Also disappointing to here that breakfast was a little chaotic, whilst breakfast can be very busy we should be delivering the same attentive service you would expect on a quiet morning.

I hope that you will consider the Park Inn for your next stay in Manchester, please don't hesitate to drop me a line direct if you would like to discuss your stay in more detail.

Many thanks
Neil

Neil Raw
General Manager
E: neil.raw@rezidorparkinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The hotel is set in an ideal location for central manchester, very high stanard of finish to the rooms and lobby areas.The desk service is fantastic and very friendly and helpful. It does have a very 'business' feel to the place.
The down side is the restaurant, not necessarily the food but the waiting staff. It seems as though the restaurant is ran as a seperate business with completely different standards to the rest of the hotel. It's hard to find a smile an even harder to get attended to when it's busy...come to think of it even when it's quiet.

Ultimately if you need a hotel for a business trip and you don't intend to eat there: fine. If you want the full package: look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letsgoforlunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colm_Feeley, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Hi Letsgoforlunch,

Thank you for reviewing the hotel, great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the front desk were fantastic. It is disappointing to read that we failed to deliver the same service standards in the restaurant. Clearly on this occassion we have not met our own service standards and I sincerely apologise. Please be assured that this experince is not indicative of the standards we strive to deliver.

If you are returning to Manchester in the near future please don't hesitate to contact me direct at the hotel as if you would allow us the opportunity I would like to make this right.

Thanks again for the feedback,

Neil

Neil Raw
General Manager
E: neil.raw@rezidorparkinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

basic rooms, am sure is only a 4* due to their spa

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colm_Feeley, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Dear Oldsurfer,
Thank you for your review, I have tried to contact you directly on Tripadvisor. I appreciate that you have already reviewed the hotel however I would like to discuss your stay with you.

If you would like to discuss the stay please contact me direct at the hotel.

Many thanks
Neil

Neil Raw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Stayed in twin room in early July 2011 for a concert in the MEN Arena.

It a one minute walk to the Arena, so perfect location if that is why you are in Manchester.

it is also and easy 5-10 mins to the shopping district.

Check was quick and efficient, staff friendly. The bathroom in our room was not as clean as i would have expected and i called reception straight away. They offered an alternative room and apologised. I just wanted the duty manager to come up and see that housekeeping had not done their job properly, giving constructive feedback.

The Duty manager visited the room and arranged for housekeeping to clean it while we were out.

I didnt request any discount or special treatment, but at check out the hotel discounted the room rate by 20% as a result of this. Very good customer service.

The Park Inn chain seems to be all about 4 bright colours and the hotel and rooms are painted with bright colours which might not be to everyone's taste. I didnt mind it.

The bar and restaurant are bright and airy (although tables are too close together).

Food at dinner (we had the pre concert package) was a limited buffett. It was OK, not a great selection and the meats were dried up. The salds were amazing though. There was a full menu if we werent on the package deal and some of the meals looked very good.

Breakfast was good.

All in all a good value hotel, generally friendly professional staff and comfortable room.

What was surprising was that for a new budget chain, it doesnt have free WiFi

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDMIsleOfMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

My girlfriend and I recently stayed here for two days and although it was a short stay it wasn't the greatest. The reception staff weren't completely helpful when it came to asking about concert venues for music or places they would recommend. They did recommend a great Italian restaurant though. During the two days Housekeeping never cleaned our room, I don't know why they didn't. We had to ask for fresh towels and we were refused an Ironing Board when I asked for one. Also when we arrived they had no city maps which I was very disappointed with. Overall not a great experience for such a reputable hotel.
contact: ------------

Room Tip: Ask for room to be cleaned. Hold down button on hair-dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

me and my husband went for our 2nd anniversary and were made welcome instantly, our room was very clean, the swimming pool sauna and gym were off high standards...the breakfast the next morning was again to good standards and you could eat as much as you liked...hotel is a close walk into the night-life and over the road from the M.E.N :) would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emms85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre

Address: Cheetham Hill Road, Manchester M4 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#19 Business Hotel in Manchester
#21 Family Hotel in Manchester
#22 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#38 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £73 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest staying at this vibrant Manchester hotel enjoy the comfort of one of our 252 rooms and suites amid the bustle of the city centre. Across the street from the Arena, our convenient location puts leisure and corporate travellers in walking distance of premier attractions and business holdings. On-site dining and fitness facilities complete the comforts of the Park Inn by Radisson Manchester City Centre. Round out your stay with a workout or spa treatment at the hotel's health club and a tasty meal in the hotel's RBG restaurant. Guests can find parking at the National Car Park (NCP) directly opposite the hotel, which offers a discount for hotel guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Manchester Victoria Hotel Manchester
Park Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing