We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overpriced Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Ranked #37 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed here for 2nights after booking through Laterooms. On arrival the first room we were given had not been cleaned. We went to reception who gave us a second room. Yet again this had only been partially cleaned! After going down again to complain we were offered a third room which was ok. Worryingly the receptionist who showed us to the third room said that "this is a common problem we have had recently". The room was similar to any you would get in a premier inn. The only thing going for this hotel was the swimming pool but it wasn't worth the extra expense when stacked up against the problems above and an average breakfast service and meal. Stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oggy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colm_Feeley, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Oggy100,

It disappoints me to read that we have clearly not met your expectations on this occassion or indeed our own high standards. Please be assured that the cleanliness issues you encountered with the bedrooms is not indicative of the product.

I would be grateful if you would allow me to discuss your experience in more detail with a view to making this right for you. Please contact me at your earliest convenience.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the impact we have had on your visit to Manchester.

Yours sincerely,

Neil Raw
General Manager
E: neil.raw@rezidorparkinn.com
D: 0161 837 8333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,034 - 2,040 of 2,219 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here for one night only as we were attending a music concert. We had researched car parking and the website gave us a number of car parks - word of advice, just park on the NCP on the MEN Arena, all the ones we looked at were little car parks fenced off down back streets. Not ideal, so we paid a bit extra for the day and used the NCP. The hotel has a good location for getting to the MEN Arena which is why we chose it, not far from the town centre where there is a big shopping centre and places to eat. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated with a modern style. Staff were friendly and check in was quick and efficient.Our room was modernly decorated and spacious however the view overlooked a building site, but this didnt bother us. Even though we stayed for a short time, we would stay in a park inn again.

Room Tip: Very modern and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura_S_D_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil_Raw, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Thanks for your review Laura_S_D_11! Great to read your feedback, sound advice on the car parking for our future guests and fingers crossed the apartment block adjacent to the hotel is due to be fully completed including the grounds by end of the year.

If you are planning to visit the MEN Arena again our pre concert package may appeal to you, you can find more info on our website under the hotel deals tab.

Thanks
Neil

Neil Raw
General Manager
T: 0161 837 8333
E: neil.raw@rezidorparkinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

A great hotel for concerts at the MEN arena. Clean hotel and rooms, comfy beds, friendly staff. Breakfast was buffet style when we stayed and was a bit of a let down. Other than that its a good hotel for a city break/concert.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil_Raw, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Hi ilovejimmychoo,

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, apologies you felt the breakfast was not up to standard. I have shared your review with the team and we have taken the corrective action to ensure we meet and where possible exceed the expectations of our future guests.

It is pleasing to read that you feel the hotel is ideal for the MEN as well as a city break.

Kind regards
Neil

Neil Raw
General Manager
T: 0161 837 8333
E: neil.raw@rezidorparkinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We were visiting family in England and went to Manchester for a weekend away, arrived about 10am Friday morning & left Sunday mid-day. Manchester was great. If you arrive by ‘Intercity Rail’ at Victoria Station, first stop should be Tourist Info’ they have a great map & suggested walking down the canal. Well worth doing on a sunny afternoon. If you want shopping make sure you go to the Trafford Centre there is a direct bus from the bus station & is easy to sort out. Probably takes a couple of days to visit all the shops! The largest shopping centre in Europe with all the top Oxford St stores. Be warned the food court is overwhelming and very, very noisy. They had karaoke going full blast at lunch time! Plan to eat outside of the ‘rush hour’, there are other ‘cafe’ if you can find them.
Very good Italian restaurant, Pesto at Deansgate & John Dalton St. We had Italian tapas. Great and not too expensive.
From the hotel everything was comfortable near flat walking distance. Be warned, on Fridays from the finish of work, all the good city bars fill & overflow. The city has improved so much over the years. A great mix of old, historic buildings, modern architecture & plenty of very nice small open spaces with very enjoyable ‘art’ fountains, ‘streams’, statues & flower planters etc.
Now the hotel. From a distance it is unusual, a black cube. Inside a modern design, light, pleasant. The room was clean & adequately equipped, hairdryer, jug, flatscreen tv, three big mirrors. We had got a good deal on the room so although a fridge would have been nice it wasn’t a big deal. Before booking we had made sure that the room had a king size bed. I am tall. It did, but it was made of 2 single beds pushed together. They were not locked together so overnight moved apart. Not too much, an inch or two, but annoying.
On the Saturday morning we had the buffet breakfast. Food was very good. The staff only O.K. Tea is made with boiling water, not warm.
The breakfast was £10 each. As a result of spending that we got 24hrs ‘free’ WIFI. My partner found it a bit fiddly to access but eventually we got there. After that no problems.

Why does any hotel charge for WIFI access? Because they can. The sooner all hotels provide WiFI as a part of the package, a service, not an opportunity to rip off the guest the better. If they are concerned about huge graphics downloads there are ways to prevent that.

Anyway after breakfast we went back to our room. About mid day we were about to go out when there was a knock on the door, the staff asked us when we were leaving. It turned out her list showed us as only booked for one night not two! We had the confirmation of our booking & it was sorted out by reception. What would have happened if we had gone out early leaving our things in our room, or the hotel was fully booked for the second night? Oh well it turned out ok.

Not sure if it is us but the temperature of air conditioning in hotels seems to wander & gets cold at night. Maybe we are just a bit sensitive, but both of us?

The swimming pool, sauna & steam room are great. We wish we had spent more time in them.
Checking out was slow due to a coachload arriving. We had noticed that during ‘busy times’ reception was understaffed. Maybe ‘reserve’ staff need to be available to help out when the pressure is on.
Most of the staff on the accommodation side of the hotel are great; helpful & pleasant. A real asset that help to make this more than just another hotel. If you get rooms at a good price this hotel is well worth while.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colm_Feeley, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Hi Michaelrules

Thank you for your review and detailed feedback, it is much appreciated and will be used to review and improve the service and overall experience we offer here in Manchester.

Please accept my apologies for the confusion over the length of stay and also the noise in the restaurant, it is noted that the music was perhaps too loud and I will review. With regards to the Wifi billing, we are constantly reviewing our position in terms of pricing and as you mention in your review we are offering the complimentary Wifi access to diners in the RBG Bar & Grill. Please be assured we will continue to review.

Many thanks

Neil

Neil Raw
General Manager
T: 0161 837 8333
E: neil.raw@rezidorparkinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I stayed here along with 11 friends for a hen party. A few days before we called to check room names and was told by the rudest woman on reception that you cannot change names and we should have thought of that!! We booked it months before and what is the big deal its a name, as long as its paid for! Anyway we arrived at the hotel and it took us 45 mins to check in as the reception woman did not know what she was doing, and when it came to confirming cost we told her the rate we had booked at and her response was 'i'd like to see that!' - well we showed her and she didn't even apologise! Very very rude! It became a running joke that when someone went to reception we would compare how rude they were, unbelievable from a large chain of hotels!

Plus points - most comfortable hotel bed I have ever stayed in, rooms are quiet, clean and spacious which is the most important thing! Not a 4* more like 3* but overall the hotel is clean and bright. The pool (not spa) is ok, full of kids when we went so not very relaxing. We took taxis into the city centre as it was a 20min walk fine if your not in heels, only cost £5 each way though.

Didn't use the hotel bar or have breakfast so cannot comment.

Could be a far better hotel is the customer service was even marginally good!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finchy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil_Raw, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Hi finchy1, I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, whilst it disappoints me to read that you had some issues on check in, delaying you and impacting on your stay, it is pleasing to read the plus points.

Please accept my sincere apologies on this occassion we did not meet your expectations, I can assure you that the feedback has been shared with the team and the necessary re training has been delivered.

If you would like to discuss your stay further please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,
Neil

Neil Raw
General Manager
T: ------
E: -----

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I stayed here with my 14 year old sister for two nights. Overall the hotel served its purpose for us particularly due to its superb location so close to all the shopping and Victoria Station. We didn’t use the hotel bar or restaurant as we found the prices too high but we were only a short walk from several cheap cafes. For Friday and Saturday night we only paid £55 per night. I would say however that the room was very basic and small, we had booked king size bed and instead had two small singles and there was no bath. Not really a 4star. I would recommend though if you are looking for a central hotel for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BudgetTraveller31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil_Raw, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Hi BudgetTraveller31 thank you for reviewing the hotel, all feedback is much appreciated. Apologies for the room not meeting your expectations, there may have been some confusion with your request as we are able to offer baths and fixed king size beds.

Should you be returning to Manchester feel free to contact me directly and I will make the arrangements for you ensuring that you are have a bath and a king size bed.

Many thanks
Neil

Neil Raw
General Manager
T: -------------
E: ----------

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

One word could be used to describe this hotel..AVERAGE, Is this a good thing considering we all expect a little more for our money, probably not! I would like to write more but there was nothing that jumped out at me on our 2 night stay apart from the unique colour schemes used in the hotel. On the plus side there was nothing bad to report as the room was comfortable and the service was ok. Would I recommend..Yes but there would be many i'd suggest before this hotel would spring to mind.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre

Address: Cheetham Hill Road, Manchester M4 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#19 Business Hotel in Manchester
#21 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#38 Family Hotel in Manchester
#38 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £71 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest staying at this vibrant Manchester hotel enjoy the comfort of one of our 252 rooms and suites amid the bustle of the city centre. Across the street from the Arena, our convenient location puts leisure and corporate travellers in walking distance of premier attractions and business holdings. On-site dining and fitness facilities complete the comforts of the Park Inn by Radisson Manchester City Centre. Round out your stay with a workout or spa treatment at the hotel's health club and a tasty meal in the hotel's RBG restaurant. Guests can find parking at the National Car Park (NCP) directly opposite the hotel, which offers a discount for hotel guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Manchester Victoria Hotel Manchester
Park Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing