We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for children and adults” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manchester Museum

The Manchester Museum
Ranked #6 of 172 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Manchester Museum is home to an array of treasures from the natural world and the many cultures it is home to. Highlights include a T.rex and fossils of other pre-historic creatures, ancient Egyptian artefacts and live amphibians and reptiles. You can handle objects from the collection, take part in hands-on activities or enjoy a glass of wine of cup of coffee whilst exploring the latest ideas in science, culture and the arts.
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great for children and adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Took a 4 and 7 year old midweek it was very busy, i think the teachers were on strike so lots of other parents had the same idea. I found moving between the two buildings and the queuing for the toilets a problem. However the actual museum and exhibits were amazing. The staff were very helpful and informative. There are learning activities for the children also.
There is a picnic area as well as a cafe.
The children loved that they were given the opportunity to handle objects while the objects were explained to them.
I plan to go back without the children as there were rooms that the children were not interested in.
The museum is free but welcome donations.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank pompeii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,030
    531
    112
    25
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“manchester museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Simply the best free attraction in manchester by far , or ties with MSI , such a pity the locals don't know or use the facilities here .
My only gripe is there could be a better animal section , but i supose money limits everything doesn't it .
By the was the numismatic (coin section ) is fantastic.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“interesting exhibitions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

enjoyed walking here to see exhibition for free, volunteer helpful and they have objects you can touch. I learnt new things. lots going on.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank s j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Children eager to return already”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great variety of exhibits - all kinds of historical artifacts, meteorites, stuffed animals of all sizes, fossils, and Stan the T-rex - everyone's favourite!
Fun and education with crafts on for children during school holidays - and all completely FREE

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely museum shame some of it was closed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Great visit again today lovley museum and free! however sad to find the dinosaur lower level closed at 3pm for a wedding. Main reason for our visit and my 3 children always save the best until last! As we entered via the cafe we did not see the 1 a4 size poster explaining the closure and had to explain to my children aged 3-8 why they could not see the dinosaur. Such a Shame there was no better signage in place? Or at least 1 or 2 more?
Totally understand the need to take bookings to generate revenue etc. But still disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Manchester Museum also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Manchester Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing