We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Horse and Jockey

Horse and Jockey
Ranked #724 of 2,243 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Grill, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The location is lovely - on the green, but the bar service is quite slow and the food mediocre. The pie and mash came without gravy and the mash was stone cold. Pretty poor. Do yourself a favour and eat elsewhere on Beech road.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    79
    68
    56
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shocking!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Visited with group of friends from the USA & was very embarrassed. Waiting staff very friendly but bar service incredibly slow. Meals ordered together arrived at different times & of poor standard. Hotdogs advertised as large bratwurst were definitely not! Baps were rock hard & served with orange flavoured pulled pork?! Lancashire hot pot was basically lamb with a few slices of potato on top & measly side of red cabbage. All meals we ordered were very poor & small servings, hardly traditional English pub grub. Will definitely not be returning! A few of had very dodgy bellies later in the evening..perhaps we all got a bug but quite coincidental after a shoddy meal!

Helpful?
1 Thank NIMANC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Vast improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This places is MILES better than it used to be - since the re-furb and the new menu/chef. I live locally and eat here a lot - the food is lovely, good-sized portions and a nice variety of things to try (hanging kebabs and lasagne definitely our favourites). All in all a great visit, lovely surroundings and great food. [The customer service is also much, much better than it used to be too.]

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gar82uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vayrac, France
Level Contributor
213 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Pleasant place but mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were lucky that it was a sunny day and could sit outside; otherwise we would have found the crowds a bit much. We were there in mid-afternoon on a Saturday and were surrounded by children, buggies and harrassed fathers. One food order was forgotten. I rather wished it had remained so.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Molepolole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Gave the place a try after Holts` much vaunted takeover some months ago and vowed never to return, however time must have mellowed my murderous thoughts and we ventured back last Friday lunch (sadly !). First of all it`s a miracle if you can get served albeit the Pub was almost deserted, Chorltons` yummy mummies who used to monopolise the place have voted with their feet and gone to the Lead Station and who con blame them ? Please don`t try the "Hanging Kebabs" because colloquially speaking they are hanging. The bacon steak, described by a member of staff as posh gammon, whatever that is, was inedible due to the amount of brine remaining after curing. On sending the bacon back to the kitchen we were informed that everyone in the kitchen had tried it and it was fine " when we asked to speak to the chef we were informed that " he never comes out of the kitchen ". Unbelievable. And don`t bother to e-mail Holts with any complaints, observations or even compliments as you won`t even get the courtesy of a computer generated response. Stick to brewing beer and leave restaurants to restauranteurs.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank hilary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse and Jockey also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Horse and Jockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing