We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view and that was it”
Review of Cloud 23 Bar

Cloud 23 Bar
Ranked #3 of 208 Nightlife in Manchester
Attraction details
Solihull, West Midlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good view and that was it”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We booked for afternoon tea on Sunday 13th as part of birthday weekend celebrations.
The service was poor
The food was poor in both choice and quantity
Way overpriced and not worth the money - also a "weekend" surcharge in very small print!

Best bit was the view
Wouldn't go again and wouldn't recommend it either

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank chessykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    346
    248
    173
    151
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average experience, not worth the hype!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Booked afternoon tea as an anniversary treat for myself and my husband.
Although views stunning and staff very attentive, food and tea were below expectation. Tea was very weak, we had to ask for teaspoons.
Overpriced and overhyped!!
Unfortunately not a highlight for our special day

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dissapointed.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Having visited cloud 23 for afternoon tea before we booked for mums 80 birthday. The decor has been updated so is very fresh and relaxing . View is amazing and the staff are very attentive and pleasant. Unfortunately we were dissapointed with the quality and quantity of food for the price . Dont think we'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average trip”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Visited this bar last week and was slightly disappointed. When we arrived we were told that there were no seats and we would have to stand, however one member of our party was 88 so they found a bar stool for us. We were told that as soon as a table became available we could have it and that they would inform us, however there seemed to be no staff members around so we had to move onto a table ourselves. The host told us he would clear this new table for us, but took around ten minutes to arrive. It was then over a twenty minute wait to order our cocktails and the waiter only appeared after a member of our party accosted him. We then had to wait another 20 minutes for our drinks to arrive. When we wanted a second round of drinks we had to again go and find the waitress ourselves, and these took 30 minutes to arrive. To the bars credit they did apologise for the wait and offer us £8 off the final bill. They said that it was very busy, however it was a Wednesday night so I don't know how they cope on the weekends.

There was a lovely view and they served lovely cocktails so would probably return on the hope that they were just understaffed on our last visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katyyyy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing treat”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

After reading the recent reviews I was really dubious about our trip to cloud23 but I couldn't be more impressed!! We had afternoon tea which was beautiful! The staff were witty and attentive and the views just added to the experience! A real treat...which we will be doing again!

Helpful?
Thank Gemmamc2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cloud 23 Bar also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Cloud 23 Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing