We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food; surprisingly spicy”

Zouk Teabar & Grill
Ranked #695 of 2,355 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: US$11 - US$63
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Visited here on a Saturday night, and was pleasantly surprised. From other reviews I was expecting something below standards, but it was lovely: the restaurant looked very modern and clean; and our waiter was adorable - he sang 'Happy Birthday' in an almost operatic voice! - and the food was good and portion sizes were very generous.
Service was a little slow, but it was nice to have a break between courses - plus it was a busy Saturday night; however, the staff were never slow in bringing drinks or clearing the table.
Would visit again :)

1  Thank BexC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracyLeeds, Guest Relations Manager at Zouk Teabar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your comments and for being "pleasantly surprised" our team work incredibly hard to provide excellent service to compliment our delicious food & drink. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 516 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We travel all over the country to try Indian cuisine and this is by far the best we have ever eaten. Cafe spice in London you should be very scared because zouk will destroy you!!!

1  Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracyLeeds, Guest Relations Manager at Zouk Teabar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, they are gratefully received. Also a bit of healthy competition is always great to experience in the food industry :-)
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Wait time is horrendous. Staff are unqualified and do not acknowledge you. They are unprofessional and do not know anything. After waiting for half an hour we asked how long we would he waiting for before we got seated. They waiter said and I quote "I don't know" and walked off. We eventually decided to take our service elsewhere. Poor overall experience and I will not be going back

1  Thank Heegan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracyLeeds, Guest Relations Manager at Zouk Teabar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

I am sorry you decided to take your business elsewhere on this occasion, it would be interesting to know if you pre booked a table as we always recommend this. Otherwise it can result in long waiting times ( like you experienced), and yes the waiter is right if you haven't pre booked we cant forecast how long the wait time could be ( as we plan our tables and time slots out in advance)
We find it dis respectful to our waiters that you claim they don't know anything just because you had to wait for a table. Our staff take pride in the training they receive from Zouk and most have worked with us/industry for a number of years therefore are experienced and knowledgeable.

I do hope that you will re consider visiting us as we offer fabulous food from highly trained staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Big group of 13 in a big noisy space is always a waiters nightmare.
However getting the drinks sorted and poppadums on the table shouldn't be too difficult but they insisted on getting food order in first..
Drinks took ages....bar was seriously undermanned as focus on cocktails needs manpower v usual bottles of cobra! If you push the cocktails make sure you've the staff to get them mixed and out!

Anyhow food came and was delightful. The prawn starter was really tasty and generous portions throughout the meal. Good selection of unusual dishes and flavours to try. Flavour is gained from indoor charcoal grills and the spices....

Despite some of the initial chaos great meal and will be revisiting...l

Thank Spoiler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracyLeeds, Guest Relations Manager at Zouk Teabar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback, yes you are correct we have created Summer Cocktails menu so we are pleased you ordered however its just a shame that their was a delay. Although you were not impressed by us at the start we are pleased you enjoyed our menu and your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went in for lunch. Ordered from specials board. Were then informed that the dish we had ordered was not available. Chose another special. Waited for 10 minutes, then the waitress informed us that this was not available either. Only 5 other people in the restaurant at the time so it wasn't that they were particularly busy. Won't come again, there are much better places within walking distance that serve good fresh food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Suse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracyLeeds, Guest Relations Manager at Zouk Teabar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hello Sue,

Thank you for your feedback, I do find it a little un fair that you have not allowed us the opportunity to respond to your email, that you sent to us directly yesterday and then gone straight to trip advisor and posted the same message (however a lot more harsh then your email.)
We of course will respond to your email directly in due course.
Please note that yesterday was swap over day for our monthly specials so this could have been where the breakdown in communication came from, for this I am very sorry. However I don't believe that from a dish not being available on the menu therefore means that were given "terrible service."

Yours Sincerely
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zouk Teabar & Grill also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Zouk Teabar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing