We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roomzzz Manchester City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roomzzz Manchester City
Ranked #7 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Booked a studio room (5th Floor) with a spiral staircase to the bedroom for my partner and I to enjoy our Sunday night at The Script. The room was superb well aired (a little hot on entering but thats because the previous couple had left the heating on full wack), the bed was quiet and comfortable and the little fancy touches such as electric blinds and the iMac gave it a home from home experience. We felt that we'd had a great nights sleep and were happy with the service we received. The only downpoint for us was the in house breakfast which was (a hot drink, a piece of fruit or a pastry), but with so many outlets around breakfast was easily accessible elsewhere. Long & Short of it, we loved it and we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtrademark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    323
    59
    22
    16
See reviews for
89
721
52
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Booked well in advance and asked for a quiet room- they obligued by putting right at the back with only skylights and a very steep spiral staircase up to a small kitchen- I really couldnt see my husband climbing up and down those sairs with hot tea so asked to be moved. They didnt have anything that night but could the next day to the only free room. This was a corner room on the 4th floor which was also quiet but ahd a view which was at least better- BUT the room smelt awful- it seemed to be coming from the bathroom - we reported it and they said they cleaned the drains but where ever it was coming from it remained and permeated the whole apartment. Also the BED- extremely low to the ground and not supportive - seemed to roll out to the sides- backs for both of us in worse condition for the stay. Very friendly staff and great location but somehow more style than substance for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guntars T, General Manager at Roomzzz Manchester City, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Saedy,

Thank you very much for providing this feedback. Your comments are appreciated and they help us to learn and develop. I was delighted to read of your positive experience regarding the high level of customer service offered by the team throughout your stay.

I was however most concerned to read your comment and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Roomzzz Aparthotels pay the utmost attention to guest safety by running regular tests and inspections, and I can assure you that the spiral stairs are safe to use and there are anti slip treads on each step to meet with the health and safety regulations.

As the issues you mention with regards to the Housekeeping & Maintenance are inexcusable. I have spoken with both department managers and they too would like to be associated with the apology for overlooking of the room.

Once again please accept my apologies and allow me to reassure you that this is not the experience we would like to promote to our guests.

I would very much welcome the opportunity to restore your confidence in Roomzzz Manchester and ask when you next intend to visit you would kindly contact me in order that I can ensure you a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards,
Guntars Tiskus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

After one night in Roomz and you are reminded that even the most expensive hotels can be rather sterile and lack some of the basic amenities that make staying there comfortable. Firstly, the inclusion of a small kitchen area with a fridge, microwave, sink, and plates/cutlery really helps to make the whole experience more enjoyable and flexible, and saves you a great deal of money compared with eating out. The hotel is right in the thick of the Asian quarter, and we treated ourselves to a Thai and Japanese take-away, and ate it in the room.

Next, the service is remarkably good and friendly, and there is a filter coffee maker in the foyer which guests can use as much as they want. It was nice heading off into the cold Manchester air with a fresh coffee in my hand. It is little touches like that which makes Roomz such a pleasure to stay. The only downside is the fact that the breakfast is very basic, and seems to consist of just fruit and extremely sugary pastries. However, there is a Tesco express store a 3mins walk down Princess street with a lot of breakfast goods to keep in the fridge. This will help you have the correct amount of roughage required to have a healthy movement, and lighten the load on the rest of your day.

Three other important points: the bed is incredibly comfortable, the bathroom is large and comfortable (although it is also glass and therefore when Lady Beoirgra was in there I could, as Patrick Stewart would say, see everything), and finally the WiFi is free. Other hotels take note: guests want comfort and flexibility, and free WiFi is now a basic requirement. Roomz seem to understand these issues, and have created an attractive package for city breaks.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room at the back of the fourth floor, and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeamusBeoirgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We went to Manchester for my BF birthday and decided to stay at Roomzzz as we had stayed at them previously but in Leeds.
Really easy to find from Piccadilly Station, its general location was great, close to the northern quarter, deans gate and central Piccadilly square. Little Tesco's close by.
First room we had on the first floor smelled quite strongly of someones previous cooking, so we asked if we could change rooms and we were moved straight away and given late a late check out as a way of compensation. Which was lovely as we really weren't upset about the room.
We had a Liberty suite which was ace, great views of china town, nice and spacious, Mac pc was great, really nice lighting. Big bathroom.
The only 1 thing was could have done with a few more lamps or the lights a bit brighter, it was a bit dim when dark.
If you too lazy to go to Tesco the little pantry downstairs has everything you would need.
There is also a grab and go breakfast on till 10.30 every morning which we didn't know about until checking in but was really good.
In general a very stress free and relaxing weekend away. I would highly recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ppickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We were warmly welcomed after a long flight from Australia and pleased with the standard of accommodation. The location suited us during our short stay as we could explore the main attractions of the city. It is located at the border with China Town meaning we could enjoy a great Chinese meal one night. Having WiFi and an Apple Mac running through the TV was an unexpected bonus.
There was a breakfast bar where we could help ourselves to fruit, yoghurt, pastries and juice each morning. Even though it's located near city centre the room was quiet and meant we could get a good night's rest.
When we go to Manchester next time, we will consider staying at Roomzzz again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Really enjoyed staying here. It was the first stay of a 5 month trip. Needed to get over jet lag & didn't want to do it in a hostel! Was concerned because it faced the street but noise wasn't an issue for me after all. Good bed, huge shower with strong spray & hot water, friendly & helpful staff and clean. It was a great location making it very easy to get to all the sites in Manchester! Recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gottakeepgoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

One in my group had stayed at Roomzzz in Leeds and was very satisfied we booked one night at this hotel for our trip to Manchester.

We got a room in the basement (116 i think).

+ room, location, rate, staff,
- basement smell, glass door to the bathroom (no privacy), the lamp next to the bed was broken, the extra bed that was given was horrible.

Despite some small issues, it was a great stay, and we had a good night sleep. For my next trips to the UK, i will check if Roomzzz have a hotel in the city i`m visiting. Superb!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haraldsenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#15 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#8 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#9 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roomzzz Manchester City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomzzz Manchester City

Property: Roomzzz Manchester City
Address: 36 Princess Street, Manchester M1 4JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#5 Business Hotel in Manchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#18 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roomzzz Manchester City 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roomzzz Manchester - As you'd expect from a luxury hotel in Manchester, there's every concession to contemporary style and comfort with 59 individual apartments to choose from - from compact studios to spacious suites. Each one fully fitted for the practicalities of daily life; each one finished with a subtle suggestion of the Orient inspired by the bustle of nearby Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Agoda, Lastminute and Priceline so you can book your Roomzzz Manchester City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roomzzz Aparthotel Manchester City Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing