We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask carefully about the bathroom arrangements....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roomzzz Manchester City
Ranked #5 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ask carefully about the bathroom arrangements....”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Great value, nice service, comfortable bed. My requests for a quiet room were met (at least in terms of being at the back - though we did hear the pre-dawn bottle collection and there is some pretty loud plumbing in the hotel - maybe it's all the exposed brick, magnifying it...). It was a flying visit - just somewhere to sleep - and on that basis it was fine. But...what's this: a glass-walled bathroom, pride of place slap bang in the studio itself? The toilet featured a brief attempt at a brick wall, but so small it left very little to the imagination of the room-sharer. I've experienced the see-through bathroom phenomenon in London, when happily travelling alone, and have heard it's a peril in New York. If I'd known it was a danger here, obviously I would've asked! I was assured by the nice man on the desk that rooms (zzzz) are available with lots of opacity in the toilet walls. Good - that's what I'd like next time (and I would stay again, as it has lots to recommend it otherwise - particularly in terms of value and location).

Room Tip: You'll need to specify a bathroom with privacy-provided if this is important to you.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keentravelplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guntars T, General Manager at Roomzzz Manchester City, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Keentravelpalnner,

Thank you for your positive comments regards Roomzzz Aparthotel Manchester and please accept our apologies that this time we were not able to move you to a room with no glass walls. We have made notes on your booking profile for future and when you next visit our hotel reception team will do their best to accommodate you in a room with no glass walls or doors.

Hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards
Guntars Tiskus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    338
    61
    22
    16
See reviews for
96
744
54
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My partner and I stayed at Roomzzz for 3 nights to celebrate my 30th birthday. We selected the Maximo suite.

The concept of an apart hotel is perfect for us. We had initially wanted to stay at the DoubleTree but had been out off by the price. In hindsight, we made the right choice. The suite was a lot more spacious that what we could afford at a city centre hotel. One night, we invited eight friends for pre-dinner drinks and felt that the facilities (fridge, cutlery, bottle opener, dishwasher, iPod dock, worktop space) suited the serving of drinks and nibbles. Seating space was also ample for this, and I loved the acoustics of the room for music. We found the apartment very comfortable, and enjoyed uninterrupted sleep and a TV for the bath tub.

I didn't miss not having a hotel breakfast. The Grab and Go station was stocked with three types of pastry, and a decent selection of teas and fruit, as well as coffee and juice. Even had we craved bacon and eggs, Wetherspoons was just a stone's throw away (for the budget-conscious) while Harvey Nicholls is only a 15-min walk and have a nice luxury breakfast scene. On one of the three nights, we wanted to just chill out watching TV and so ordered in a takeaway and that flexibility you don't get with a hotel. It was cool to have all the plates and cutlery you could want available without having to wash up (as part of their daily service, Roomzzz will load and switch on the dishwasher).

Two thumbs up to Roomzzz, look forward to staying with them as they continue to expand throughout the UK.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huw J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Planned a 2 day shopping trip & visit to the Christmas markets in Manchester & found this place on line £30 p/p for bed & breakfast facilities.. Sizeable room, bathroom with walk in shower, jacuzzi bath & small kitchen area - also nice touches such as free wi-fi in all areas, tv & I-mac facility, ironing board, even a dishwasher! Very thoughtfully designed rooms. We only used the kitchen facility to warm some mulled wine but even so great to have that as an option. Well done Roomz, for shopping, theatre or just a night out in Manchester ... We will be back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela and Davi... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Booked Roomzzz for a trip to Manchester with my partner.
Even after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor I was still a bit dubious but booked either way.
On checking in Alexander was very helpful and welcoming. We headed off to our room and opened the door....wow! The Grande Studio was fantastic, with an oriental theme and plenty of room we were so pleased with our choice. Stylish, perfect location and cosy!
The TV was big with an Imac, the shower had two heads so you could shower together, the kitchenette was well equipped (even had dishwasher tabs!)
With big windows and blinds it light yet still private........perfect!
The only thing I can find wrong with Roomzzz is the breakfast, although the croissants were lovely and there was a good spread of muffins and pastries, the one thing missing is a bacon butty!!!
Other than that, Roomzz was perfect for our stay, in fact, we didn't want to leave!!

Room Tip: If you like a hot breakfast, take your own!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindylou1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in the last weekend of November following recommendations.
The best thing about this hotel is the location, exactly where we wanted to be and easy to find.
Our room seemed fine when we walked in, although not blown away and not what we expected for the price. On further inspection, problem with iMac computer was resolved after going down to reception and sorting it ourselves, extractor fan in kitchen hanging off and holes in the bathroom wall filled with toilet paper.
Noise from outside was very loud, although we understood this is not the hotels fault it is still very annoying! The 'continental breakfast' we expected was a disappointing 'grab and go' system with an option of fruit or small selection of pastries.. And of course warm juice boxes or coffee from the machine.
Spoke to the staff member on check out who was pleasant enough but unwilling to do anything other than write our comments down. Overall very disappointed and won't be spending money on this hotel again when there are cheaper hotels around for the same quality.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Limit1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guntars T, General Manager at Roomzzz Manchester City, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Limit1991

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Every feedback is important to us and highly appreciated.

I feel very sorry to read that you didn't like our hotel to your liking and that we didn't meet your expectations.

To maintain high room standards our housekeeping and maintenance team inspects every arrival room on daily basis. Our housekeeping & maintenance teams would like to offer their apologies for overlooking the piece of toilet paper stuffed into service door lock and the kitchen extractor fan.

I hope you will change your mind and we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and provide you with the service you deserve.

Kind regards
Guntars Tiskus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here in a luxury studio apartment for two nights. Room was amazing, lovely bed, lovely room and lovely bathroom.

The kitchenette was great, allowing us to eat in one night. The bathroom was nice, however there was a hole in the wall, which on further inspection was a little door to the plumbing for the toilet. It would have also been nice for a railing underneath the sinks for the hand towels, instead of being hung above the toilet.

The only problems we found with the apartment was that the bed itself was very low to the floor, and the metal feet of the bed, we found to accidentally kick whilst walking past. Also the showers (Of which there were two) didn't have a very good pressure, especially if you used both.

The shower curtain as well was a little short, allowing for water to go out the shower area, requiring a towel on the floor to catch the water.

Due to the old building, they've tried to add a type of double glazing, however it does cause for a lot of condensation. We stayed when it was quite cold, and we couldn't really see outside. We did open the window they'd added and wiped the old window down to see outside, however the condensation came back pretty quick.

The reception staff was absolutely amazing. We saw only one member of staff, she was very chatty, very polite and very welcoming. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: There were rooms underground. I can't comment on the view though. We stayed on the 4th floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The aparthotel is about 15 minutes walk from Manchester Piccadilly train station. It is also right next to Chinatown and many Pubs. Food, drinks were so convenient. There is microwave, induction cooker and full set of cutley, utensils and cooking pots and dishwasher.
The best part of this is that the floor of the bathroom is heated. Nice if you know what I mean.
The staff at reception are all so helpful. Breakfast is a new concept of Grab and Go. Tea and coffee and hot chocolate is wonderful if you just came in from the cold.
there is also free laundry as washing machines and dryers are located in seperate areas of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Lower ground floor have a weaker reception on certain mobile phone service providers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savedwater S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 118 in Manchester
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#6 of 118 in Manchester
1,575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 118 in Manchester
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roomzzz Manchester City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomzzz Manchester City

Property: Roomzzz Manchester City
Address: 36 Princess Street, Manchester M1 4JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#5 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#18 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roomzzz Manchester City 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roomzzz Manchester - As you'd expect from a luxury hotel in Manchester, there's every concession to contemporary style and comfort with 59 individual apartments to choose from - from compact studios to spacious suites. Each one fully fitted for the practicalities of daily life; each one finished with a subtle suggestion of the Orient inspired by the bustle of nearby Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Roomzzz Manchester City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roomzzz Aparthotel Manchester City Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing