We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value! Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roomzzz Manchester City
Ranked #6 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Returned to Roomzzz for a second time. Situated 2 blocks from Picadilly Gardens & the Manchester Picadilly Train Station.

It's all about expectations. I needed a place for one night and Roomzzz provides excellent facilities considering the price and location. The grab & go breakfast was adequate and acceptable.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank RedDotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

There are plenty of pluses for this aparthotel. Firstly, a great central location, great price, very friendly staff and the grab and go breakfast was fine for us. However, although our Liberty Suite was very nice on first glance, we decided it was more style over substance. It has wooden slated shutters which are totally useless and certainly don't keep out the light in the morning. Our son's room had blinds as well as shutters. Our room didn't so we were awake very early! Our heating didn't work and we had to borrow a small convector heater. The Apple Mac didn't work, although it spookily kept bursting into life every so often scaring the living daylights out if us! Shame really as thisvhotel is a good concept. Too many things not right for us to return though.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guntars T, General Manager at Roomzzz Manchester City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Bertie,

Thank you for taking time to leave your review on TripAdvisor. It is nice to read that you liked our hotel but I am really sad that you experienced some issues with the heating and iMac.

Our heating system has five different settings available (e.g. cooling, heating, fan, etc.) to accommodate individual preferences. It's very unfortunate that the settings were not set right for your comfort.

As to regards the iMac computer I wish you would have called our 24/7 reception to rectify this for you.

Once again thank you for your positive feedback and I hope you will stay with us again in not to distant future allowing us to deliver you great customer service.

Thank you
Kind regards
Guntars Tiskus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed one Night in room 402. No idea what sort of room it is but it cost £99 pounds on hotels.com. Lots of space and an extremely well equipped kitchen. Am not sure if this is the room for disabled mentioned in another review since it had pull down handles in the shower. They were no problem. But the ridiculously low bed with the super soft mattress that slopped to one side was. That coupled with a lot of road noise and some noisy guests lead to a poor night's sleep. The shower had 2 heads but the problem was the place to put toiletries was next to the showerhead at the shower curtain that was too short end of the cubicle rather than the glass walled end of the cubicle. And the hand basins were so low I had to stoop to use them. None of these are deal breakers but all add up to why this was not a 5 star experience. The grabbed breakfast is just that - not really anywhere to sit even if you wanted to. And only decent caff coffee available - no decaff. The pastries were nice. The fruit choice was underwhelming.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirminghamNetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stopped in the hotel for 1 night and we will never forget it, our stay was absolutely AMAZING!, couldn't fault it at all! The man who greeted us as we arrived was so helpful and friendly, the room was immaculate! Loved everything about it!
..Ive stayed in hotels that cost £700 a night which wasnt even as nice as this!
Infact we don't want to leave!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hduxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

While I was very impressed by the friendliness of the staff and the services available, the room itself was smaller than I'd expected and - though clearly new - already showing signs of wear.

In general the facilities were excellent, but I felt the rooms weren't big enough, grand enough or clean enough to warrant the price tag.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mistercakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Excellent! Can find no fault, other than perhaps it being a bit to close to traffic on busy streets (Princess and Portland) and it could do with better indirect lights in the room. I stayed in a Liberty suite, a very spacious designer rooms, the service was excellent and very helpful, grab to go buffet breakfast for free much better than many other "breakfast included" option in other hotels I had stayed in Manchester, with good coffee, plenty of fruit, decent pastries), Apple computer with free internet access in the room, very clean, great design. All the best from both an hotel and an aparthotel. I have stayed at a number of hotels in Manchester including the Malmaison (very good, though no better than this one and considerably more expensive), Britannia (only advisable as an alternative to rough sleeping) and Great Western on Wilmslow Road (just satisfactory), and this is definitely the best one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chema237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel was a let-down, after the reviews we'd read on TripAdvisor. Our first impression on being greeted by the soft-focus photos of Chinese women on the apartment doors was of a seedy hotel or even a bordello. The furnishings and fittings were tacky and cheap. We had a Maxima apartment, with a spiral stairway to the upper floor. This creaked and cranked every time we set foot on it. The apartment felt claustrophobic because the only windows were skylights. On the upper floor we could also hear conversations from people in other apartments. The sofabed was not comfortable, providing no support in places.

If that were the only problem, I wouldn't have bothered to rate this already poor experience, but three days after we checked out we we received a letter with a fuzzy black and white mobile phone photo showing a lampshade which had come away from the metal ribs. The hotel claimed we'd broken the lamp and had charged our credit card £60 (for a broken cheap lampshade?).

We didn't break the lampshade, and there was no proof that we had done so. The photo could have come from any apartment or indeed anywhere, and the lampshade could have been broken by a cleaner for all we knew. Given the quality of the fittings, I wouldn't be surprised if it had just fallen apart, and they'd conveniently blamed it on us and used it as a pretext to charge our credit card an extortionate £60 for it. When I called to discuss this, they were most unhelpful. I managed to reverse the charge through my credit card company, but it made a not good experience in the first place a much worse one.

We do not trust this company, and would never stay with them again. We would caution anyone who is considering booking with them to watch their credit card.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluepencil2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guntars T, General Manager at Roomzzz Manchester City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

bluepencil2000,

Thank you for your interesting review.

Firstly I would like to say that it's very unfortunate that you find Oriental Art and Asian culture seedy and bordello like especially considering that our hotel is located in the very heart of China Town.

As to regards broken lampshade and following charges, I can assure you that we have very strict and transparent policy in place when it comes to charging guests after their departure and all the relevant information regarding this is always sent to the guest as you confirmed it yourself. Also I would like to point out that upon checking in the guests are asked to sign registration card and 'agree liability for bill and any losses or damages to the premises or contents'.

It's very sad that you didn't like your room and that it didn't meet your expectations, I can only wish that during your three day stay you would have informed our 24/7 reception team of your dissatisfaction.

Regards
Guntars Tiskus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roomzzz Manchester City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomzzz Manchester City

Address: 36 Princess Street, Manchester M1 4JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#5 Business Hotel in Manchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#18 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £87 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roomzzz Manchester City 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roomzzz Manchester - As you'd expect from a luxury hotel in Manchester, there's every concession to contemporary style and comfort with 59 individual apartments to choose from - from compact studios to spacious suites. Each one fully fitted for the practicalities of daily life; each one finished with a subtle suggestion of the Orient inspired by the bustle of nearby Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Roomzzz Manchester City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roomzzz Aparthotel Manchester City Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing