We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here if you like to sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels Laystall Street
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you like to sleep!”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

The apartments are fantastic, clean and well equipped! All was well until our return from an early evening meal.......the noise levels until 11:30pm were terrible and again between 2am and 7am! Banging doors, shouting, knocking, screaming, shouting....need I go on! We were due at a conference the next morning and did not sleep well at all! The reception staff were unhelpful and basically said that it should be expected on weekend nights! Terrible nights sleep.....do not book if you want to sleep!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Student29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    299
    120
    46
    61
See reviews for
211
152
26
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I have stayed 3 weeks in Laystall appartments Manchester on a business trip.
I have appreciated the personal service and reactivity of Olga and the team on making sure my stay was confortable.
I have booked a one bedroom appartment. Spacious saloon and bathroom and well equipped kitchen. Very important for me a good bed!
Conveniently located near picadilly station (5min walk), shops are available within walking distance. Far enough from city center (15min walk) to avoid the night life noise but close enough to explore the town.
No problems with security or noise

Room Tip: Noisy rooms on
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the unit, and were pleased with the beds and fittings. Most of the staff were very helpful, apart from a couple of male reception staff who seemed uninterested, or did not have the skills to answer our questions. Overall, it was good value for money for us as we had 5 people in one unit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaihill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Excellent location just far enough away from the centre of town to miss the city centre revellers but close enough to walk, approx 15 minutes to the MEN and 20 minutes to the Palace Theatre.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Aldi was just around the corner sorted out breakfast

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

These were in a great location near to Manchester Piccadilly railway station and about 0.5mile walk to city centre, of which it didnt seem 0.5miles if you're walking and talking to friends!
I stayed in an apartment on the other side (near Salford Central and Spinningfields) in Feb and that apt was not a patch on this one. This was spotless, both the apt and public areas - paintwork gleaming, lovely new modern/classy furnishings and excellent kitchen faciltities.
Hot water was always on tap, even at 7pm when lots of people will have been getting rready to hit the Town. Yes, there was lots of young to middle aged people staying here, but we didnt hear any noise or inappropriate behaviour.
I will defo be returning and reccomending to people to becuase if you fill your room it really is better value than a hotel with tiny bedrooms, no lounge or kitchen area and most charge for brekkie these days. APARTMENTS ARE THE WAY FORWARD for me!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Myself and a friend booked these apartments for a 2 night stay in march 2011. We visited manchester to attend a concert at the M.E.N arena on the second night, and liked the idea of having more than just a hotel room to get ready and eat and drink in.
The apartment may not look like it is in the best location upon arrival as it in situated next to a retail park, but once you have a walk about, you realise Manchester city centre, and in particular the shopping area really is on your doorstep.
We were able to walk to the apartments from Picadilly train station too, a simple 5 minute walk (i had printed out instructions, and even suprised myself how easy i found it) but im sure a taxi would take you if wanted.
The apartment itself was lovely, one bedroom, bathroom aswell as a kitchen and living room diner. It wasnt huge, but fine for two people, and even had a little balcony.
It really was a great idea for space, and much nicer to relax in a living room rather than being cramped in a hotel room.
The kitchen was ideal for us, it was nice to have a fridge for drinks to chill in, and facilities to make our own food.
As two young girls (both aged 20) we felt really safe here, although we didnt see too many other guests, we only noticed a few business man, and workmen - it was a midweek trip, and it was nice to have 24/7 staff on the desk, happy to keep our key safe when we went out.
Overall, I would say these apartments are excellent value for money, especially considering for us it was a cheaper option than a travellodge!, a great distance from the arndale centre, the m.e.n arena, as well as the nightlife.
For us, it really was perfect, excellent location- albeit the views werent great (we were looking onto go outdoors and aldi! ha ) but thats hardly a problem, a great price, and a lovely place.
We would definitely recommend this to family and friends as a slice of luxury on a budget way to stay, and we both look forward to coming back soon! x

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralouisa_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2011

The layout of the apartment was great and allowed all of the party even the person sleeping on the sofa bed some privacy during the night = so we all had a good few nights there. We would definitely recommend others stay there as we will if we have to come up to Manchester in the future. We had read one review that did not show the place in a good light but having stayed there one has to assume that the authors of that review had been trying it on as some do to get the free ride. Staff were lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickgettingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#5 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#39 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Place Aparthotel
The Place Aparthotel
#37 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels Laystall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels Laystall Street

Property: Staycity Aparthotels Laystall Street
Address: 40 Laystall Street, Manchester M1 2JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Staycity Aparthotels Laystall Street 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These Serviced Apartments offer superior accommodation in a convenient city centre location. We have a superb selection of one, two and three bedroom self-catering apartments to suit your needs. We offer a selection of 28 one bedroom (sleeps 3), 55 two bedroom (sleeps 5/6) and 1 three bedroom (sleeps 8) apartments, which come fully furnished with bed linen and towels. All apartments also come with fully-equipped kitchens, washer/dryer, microwave oven, TV and lounge/dining area. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi available. Just minutes from Piccadilly Gardens and Deansgate St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels Laystall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laystall Apartments By Staymanchester Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing