We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Ranked #51 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

All staff very friendly and helpful, great they let us check in 1 hour early with no fuss.
Whole hotel very clean and functional. Right next to Manchester Oxford st train station, so perfect if you have arrived by train. Friend traveled by car and she got discounted car parking, also very nearby.
Quite a walk in to town centre if its raining and/or cold!, but nice in summer Im sure.
Breakfast was more then adequate, great coffee machine, scrambled eggs were the best I have had, anywhere in world!

Room Tip: Get to breakfast before 09:00 on Sunday..very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumaparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    445
    197
    54
    38
See reviews for
139
282
66
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

First impressions of the hotel were excellent! Very clean and welcoming in a central location. Upon arrival the manager on duty - Laura was extremely helpful with checking in and showing us to our rooms. We were in Manchester for a birthday night out wanting a change from Yorkshire!! Laura mapped out the best places to go and routes to taking. She also gave us vouchers for Revolution Bar next to the hotel. After a cocktail or two we went back to hotel for for a taxi as the ones outside the hotel were expensive, again Laura was more than helpful in getting us a taxi! The hotel was secure which was reassuring having a night man after we came in from our night out.
Breakfast was from 6.30am - 10.30am offering a cooked breakfast along with cereals and fruits. We went for breakfast at around 9.30am which was a busy period but we soon found a table. All tables were cleared promptly and the service was good.
The rooms were very clean and well presented with a fantastic power shower!!
I would definitely recommend the hotel and will be visiting again!!!

Room Tip: We were on the eighth floor which was nice and quiet with views over Manchester
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LH365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

This hotel is superbly located, but thats where the praise ends. I requested a heater for my room but the staff at reception were unaccommodating. I was advised that heating switch for my room was deactivated. I returned to reception to remind them of this issue. I ended up being move to 2 different rooms, all with no heating, and this matter was never resolved. How can they charge me £150 a night, and not be able to provide guests with heaters?

The temperature of the water was luke warm at best.
The shower drain in my room was clogged up, and water was overspilling outside the cubicle, leaving the bathroom floor extremely slippery and very dangerous to walk on.

Breakfast was unenjoyable. The bread was stale with mold around the edges, and the croissants tasted as if they had been reheated over and over again. Some of the mugs, bowls and spoons were visibly dirty, and it was possible to taste what the guest before had consumed.

Besides its location, this hotel is massively overpriced and offers poor value for money. For the same money, I'd recommend staying at the Radisson or Midland Hotels which are further up the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Keith S,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving feedback about our hotel. It is pleasing to know that our location worked suitably for your needs. However, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the condition of the room accommodation that you were given and breakfast which is not up to par. I appreciate you letting us know about these unsatisfactory circumstances as this is our best means of improving our efforts.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Graham and will were fantastic in sorting out a room for myself and my colleague when we arrived and was told that we were not booked in, they went out of their way to make sure we were ok and assured us that they would sort it out for us, which they did, they are an asset to your company and their customer service was amazing, the only thing lacking was no bacon at breakfast

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilleybet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

One of the worst experiences ever. Let me list out the only positive of this hotel - The Location!

We were given a room which was for the disabled. When we told them to change it the front desk staff was rude enough to say that they wont do anything about it. The toilet resembled a swimming pool after taking a shower as the drainage was clogged. They did not even send someone to solve the problem.

The check in and check out process was another nightmare thanks to the rude front desk staff. When we requested them to keep our luggage for a couple of hours they told us that they would charge us for the same.

Ridiculously rude staff. I wouldnt recommend this hotel to my anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at any cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikramogale14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear vikramogale14,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Manchester, England

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

A great place to stay, whether going to a business dinner or the theatre. It's so nice to be able to "fall off" the train and land in such an hospitable place. Despite being deservably business at times, the staff are always helpful and make you feel like they care. The rooms are excellent as well as excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnH456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed overnight when going to see a show at the Palace Theatre. Hotel was ideally located, being a stone's throw from the theatre and the parking was only round the corner. The room was great, beautifully clean and everything you need. Only niggle was there was only one lift working for 10 floors (and we were on the 10th floor!). Also the fruit selection for breakfast was quite poor, could have done with a proper fruit salad. Other than that, highly recommend for a city break.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.2 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#48 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Address: 2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Manchester
#39 Business Hotel in Manchester
#39 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Oxford Road is an ideal hotel to stay if you are in Manchester for business or pleasure. Located next to Oxford Road train station the hotel has a central location with the main shopping area only 10 minutes walk away. Situated in the vibrant Oxford Road part of Manchester it is next to both the University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University.Transport links are very good to both Manchester United and Manchester City as well as the National Football Museum, Palace and Opera House theatres and the Museum of Science and Industry. The hotel offers inclusive breakfast and all rooms have High Speed Internet Access as well as air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and choice of pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Cc-Oxford Road Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing