We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean, efficient affordable city centre stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Ranked #55 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Our stay got off to a bad start. I'd booked 3 rooms, and visited personally a few days before to ask for them to be close to each other, and quiet, away from lifts. (traveling with elderly and small children). We were on 2 different floors, and one room was opposite a lift.
Right - grump over. Apart from the room allocation hassle the stay was great. I think I'd just got a trainee or hopeless newbie when I made my request, as the rest of the staff were enormously helpful - Graham in particular. Their efficient friendly attitude, the spotless comfy rooms and fresh, simple but well laid out breakfast made this an excellent stay. Fortunately there were no noisy late arrivals in the lift, and the hotel allowed us to store our luggage(and subsequent shopping! after check out while we went to see a show. Will definitely use again

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher in the hotel to minimise street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asharah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 768 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

Spent 1 night in the hotel on a busy trip.
Unfortunately the hotel is located next door to an incredibly noisy club/pub. The noise was unbearable & went on until after 2am, impopssible to sleep.
I did contact reception who were very apologetic, but couldn't offer another room as they were fully booked.
However that would only have helped if the room was at the front of the hotel. The hotel backed onto a small canal as did the club (on the direct opposite side of the canal to the hotel), the construction in the immediate area is highish buildings on either side of the narrow canal thus creating a narrow tunnel effect. Thus the noise just reverberates along the "tunnel", any room on the back of the hotel would be effected.
I am chartered surveyor & to me the quality of the double glazing was not good, you could clearly here the party goers conversation!!
Hotel very clean & good size room.
Breakfast poor
They could learn a lot from Premier Inn, Oh & of course move the hotel.....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frost62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Frost62,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am sorry that on this day you were inconvenienced by the noise levels experienced and the breakfast served did not live up to standards. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

From early check in when we left our bags til leaving bags on day of checkout everything was great. About 10 mins wlk from city centre but on all main bus routes, Airport bus every 10 mins frm across road. Complimentary breakfast more tan enough.

Room Tip: We had 409 on side street, Fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We were greeted with warm, welcoming smiles by the reception staff who were also very helpful with our enquiries about the city. Our room was on the 8th floor and we both have to admit to finding the floor to ceiling windows a little daunting but other than that the room was very comfortable and well furnished; small couch, comfy bed, choice of firm and soft pillows, tea tray, hairdryer and toiletries. The bathroom was outstanding in decor and cleanliness.
The buffet breakfast was served in a dining area adjacent to reception and was well stocked with a good selection of hot and cold items.
Parking is within a short walk (£15 24hrs) and the hotel was well placed for our evening at The Ritz. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you suffer from vertigo, or have a fear of heights ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

All staff very friendly and helpful, great they let us check in 1 hour early with no fuss.
Whole hotel very clean and functional. Right next to Manchester Oxford st train station, so perfect if you have arrived by train. Friend traveled by car and she got discounted car parking, also very nearby.
Quite a walk in to town centre if its raining and/or cold!, but nice in summer Im sure.
Breakfast was more then adequate, great coffee machine, scrambled eggs were the best I have had, anywhere in world!

Room Tip: Get to breakfast before 09:00 on Sunday..very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumaparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

First impressions of the hotel were excellent! Very clean and welcoming in a central location. Upon arrival the manager on duty - Laura was extremely helpful with checking in and showing us to our rooms. We were in Manchester for a birthday night out wanting a change from Yorkshire!! Laura mapped out the best places to go and routes to taking. She also gave us vouchers for Revolution Bar next to the hotel. After a cocktail or two we went back to hotel for for a taxi as the ones outside the hotel were expensive, again Laura was more than helpful in getting us a taxi! The hotel was secure which was reassuring having a night man after we came in from our night out.
Breakfast was from 6.30am - 10.30am offering a cooked breakfast along with cereals and fruits. We went for breakfast at around 9.30am which was a busy period but we soon found a table. All tables were cleared promptly and the service was good.
The rooms were very clean and well presented with a fantastic power shower!!
I would definitely recommend the hotel and will be visiting again!!!

Room Tip: We were on the eighth floor which was nice and quiet with views over Manchester
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LH365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This hotel is superbly located, but thats where the praise ends. I requested a heater for my room but the staff at reception were unaccommodating. I was advised that heating switch for my room was deactivated. I returned to reception to remind them of this issue. I ended up being move to 2 different rooms, all with no heating, and this matter was never resolved. How can they charge me £150 a night, and not be able to provide guests with heaters?

The temperature of the water was luke warm at best.
The shower drain in my room was clogged up, and water was overspilling outside the cubicle, leaving the bathroom floor extremely slippery and very dangerous to walk on.

Breakfast was unenjoyable. The bread was stale with mold around the edges, and the croissants tasted as if they had been reheated over and over again. Some of the mugs, bowls and spoons were visibly dirty, and it was possible to taste what the guest before had consumed.

Besides its location, this hotel is massively overpriced and offers poor value for money. For the same money, I'd recommend staying at the Radisson or Midland Hotels which are further up the road.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear Keith S,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving feedback about our hotel. It is pleasing to know that our location worked suitably for your needs. However, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the condition of the room accommodation that you were given and breakfast which is not up to par. I appreciate you letting us know about these unsatisfactory circumstances as this is our best means of improving our efforts.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#56 of 120 in Manchester
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.2 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#45 of 120 in Manchester
1,730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Address: 2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#39 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £58 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Oxford Road is an ideal hotel to stay if you are in Manchester for business or pleasure. Located next to Oxford Road train station the hotel has a central location with the main shopping area only 10 minutes walk away. Situated in the vibrant Oxford Road part of Manchester it is next to both the University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University.Transport links are very good to both Manchester United and Manchester City as well as the National Football Museum, Palace and Opera House theatres and the Museum of Science and Industry. The hotel offers inclusive breakfast and all rooms have High Speed Internet Access as well as air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and choice of pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Cc-Oxford Road Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing