We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Ranked #50 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I was happily surprised by this Holiday Inn hotel.

Room: double, a good size with a nice floor-to-roof window. Sofa for extra comfort and a very nice bathroom.

Staff: very polite, helpful, warm. Always happy to help and a credit to the hotel.

The hotel is just minutes away from Oxford Road train station and is no more than a 15 minute stroll into the centre of the city. For a short break, I'd highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank cjhall86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Your comments will be passed on to the staff and I am pleased that they were able to provide you with such good service.

Kind regards

Jonathan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    439
    194
    53
    38
See reviews for
138
279
66
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I have nothing good to say about this hotel other than the rooms were spotless. We visited on a busy weekend and the price per room although expensive at £140 per night when booking somehow increased to £169 when checking in, we had no proof of booking at checkin so were forced to pay the extra as the manager informed us this was the price. We eventually got refunded after a number of emails and a phone call. Even though there was nobody at checkin when we arrived the process still took 20 mins, we gave credit cards and asked to pay cash on departure but when checking out it transpired we'd already paid. The general manager blamed his night staff for the mistake and didn't seem interested in an apology even though he checked us in. I do appreciate it was a busy weekend but 2 lifts for a hotel this large is not adequate, you could be waiting 10 minutes to get up or down. The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night for a number of minutes, these things happen but on similar experiences in other hotels i was always offered an apology on checking out, not here. The breakfast too was awful. I wouldn't be inclined to stay in a holiday inn again, 100% not this one.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mat789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for bringing your experiences in our hotel to my attention.

Firstly I would like to apologise for the problems that you experienced with the payment. I have been able to establish that when the reservation was made it was made for 3 people in two rooms. However, when we have split the reservation it has retained 3 people in each room and therefore charging an additional £30 supplement for the extra person in each room. This could and should have been picked up by my Duty Manager who checked you in when there were only 3 people stood in front of him. I can see that we have been able to get the refund back to you.

You should also have been given the option to pay cash on departure and I am truly sorry that your payment was processed incorrectly.

I can see that you arrived at the hotel at the same time as a large party who were here for the Manchester United match. Unfortunately, even with additional lifts you may still have waited when 100 people arrive at the hotel at the same time.

I have noted your comments on breakfast and this is something that we are working on in order to give our guests the breakfast experience that they desire. Your comments will help us to improve our offering.

It appears that during your stay you experienced a number of problems that could have been dealt with before you departed the hotel and it is clear that there is some additional training is required in the hotel.

I am genuinely disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and that my Duty Manager was unable to assist you adequately. I would like to apologise on his behalf for your frustrations and myself for the fact that you have left the hotel unhappy.

Kind regards

Jonathan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, Arkansas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Short trip to look at university's and had heard loads of good things about holiday inn ...the reception staff will and Ricardo were amazing didn't stop laughing while we was there .. One of the breakfast staff I think she was called jemma was telling us about co estate agents that do student accommodation only she gave up directions on how to get there .. Really enjoyed our stay .. Would recommend to anyone thank you to all the staff :-) x

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for giving us your feedback following your stay.

I am pleased that my staff were able to leave a positive impression on you and make your stay an enjoyable one. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Wil, Ricardo and Gemma.

Thank you again.

Kind regards

Jonathan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

New hotel, with very nice and clean rooms. Was positively surprised to get it for the price it was. The "restaurant" got a bit crowded in the mornings and the choices for breakfast were quite limited. Coffee was no good, but luckily there was Starbucks right across the street. Had a room on the courtyard side, so it was quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Z G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback following your recent stay.

We appreciate that breakfast does get very busy and give advice as to the best time to come to breakfast in our lifts. Up coming changes to our Great Room will improve the breakfast area and make this an far more enjoyable experience.

We do appreciate your comments.

Kind regards

Jonathan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed in manchester for 1 night. Having had car problems and arriving at 5am we were greeted by waseem, who extended our check out time and went out of his way to find us a mechanic who was open all day on a Saturday as well as directions and slipped them under our door for the morning. Fantastic customer service. Credit to the hotel for his actions to go over and beyond.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nees507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding the service that received in our hotel.

I am truly pleased that Waseem was able to assist you and make your stay memorable. I will be sure to pass on your comments to him.

Many thanks

Jonathan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, Kent
Level Contributor
164 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here two nights on business.
Location is excellent, couple of minutes walk from Oxford Rd Station
Check in was fine and had a room on the 10th floor.
Room was a decent size and there was a flat-screen tv, desk and comfortable bed.

Bathroom was fine - room 1003 is an accesible room and therefore suitable for someone in a wheelchair, therefore room and bathroom larger than normal. Shower ok - nothing special and the water temperature just about hot enough - may not be for those who like a really hot shower though.

Never stayed in a Holiday Inn Express before so was unaware that a full cooked breakfast wasn't available - this wasn't a major issues (my fault for not researching properly) but what there was, was a little limited.
House-keeping didn't replace toilet roll, tea or coffee on the second day I was there, but my biggest issue was the noise. Lots of buzzing and electrical noises from outside and despite being on the 10th floor could still hear noise from the street and station nearby. Would suggest needing to upgrade the windows so properly sound proofed would be in order.
I stayed a Monday & Tuesday night - wouldn't like to stay here over a weekend if the noise kept me awake on a week night

Would consider staying here again due to the location but wasn't blown away

Room Tip: Room 1003 is a disabled accessible room, suitable for wheelchair users.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

Your comments are very welcome and help us improve the levels of service that we are able to offer.

I have taken your comments on board with regards to the noise and apologise that we failed in replacing the tea and coffee in your room.

Many thanks again.

Kind regards

Jonathan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel was well presented and comfortable. It was located within walking distance of the nightlife in Manchester as well as the shopping.

The staff were lovely and the price was reasonable. Wi-fi was included as was breakfast.

The only negatives were the noise and the breakfast.

Our room was at the front on the main road but we weren't in the room for very long so that didn't bother us too much.

The breakfast was a buffet and the cutlery looked dirty. There were no where near enough seats/crockery for the number of guests.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor, away from the road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

We are situated in a vibrant part of Manchester and on a busy road, you are right to advise other travellers to ask for a high room if they are particularly light sleepers.

We are in the process of changing the breakfast layout, following guest feedback, which will increase the number of seats available at breakfast and there should be a noticeable difference in the near future.

Thank you again.

Kind regards

Jonathan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
4.6 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
5.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
4.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Address: 2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Manchester
#39 Business Hotel in Manchester
#39 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Oxford Road is an ideal hotel to stay if you are in Manchester for business or pleasure. Located next to Oxford Road train station the hotel has a central location with the main shopping area only 10 minutes walk away. Situated in the vibrant Oxford Road part of Manchester it is next to both the University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University.Transport links are very good to both Manchester United and Manchester City as well as the National Football Museum, Palace and Opera House theatres and the Museum of Science and Industry. The hotel offers inclusive breakfast and all rooms have High Speed Internet Access as well as air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and choice of pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Cc-Oxford Road Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing