We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”
Review of La Roma Restaurant

La Roma Restaurant
Ranked #446 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: US$19 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Riverside Italian with al fresco dining at Stoneclough, near Bolton.Stefano ran La Roma in Bromley Cross for 10 years and has now moved the operation to Stoneclough, near Bolton. It’s in a picturesque spot right next to the River Irwell and outside seating makes the most of the location. Expect classic Italian food prepared fresh to order with signature dishes like their Cartoccio Mushrooms, deep-fried mushrooms stuffed with pate and wrapped in filo pastry. It’s a large menu with lots of pizza and pasta choices and plenty of meat and fish mains with seafood a real speciality here. The wine list is all-Italian. La Roma is a relaxed and intimate venue, convenient for both Bolton and Manchester. It’s open for lunch and dinner, seven days a week. San Marco in Blackrod is a sister venue.
manchester
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

4 of us had a meal here 22nd November, and though they were busy the staff were attentive and polite giving a brilliant service. The food was cooked to perfection and piping hot even though each of us had a different dish.Have tried a few Italian restaurants in the vicinity, including the one used by Footballers from the Premier League, and this is the best by a wide margin.To anybody wanting a class meal this is the place

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brandonboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    53
    33
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I wouldn't bother......”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Going anywhere else!! Always concerned about trying some where new, but honestly can't fault the meal, the service, the bill, anything really. If you are looking for somewhere you have been before this would be a good place to start.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hurricane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“At last a Italian with Italian cooking”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have just had one on the finest Italian meals this year in Laroma straight off the weekly special Menu we started with the Focaccia. With antipasti platter. Followed by mixed meat and salad assorted veg home made tiramisu washed down with the house red. What can i say want italian eat here proper italian chefs the real deal great service great food i posted some pictures have a look :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
193 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Fabulous, as always!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We visit La Roma every month or two. Antonello, Lelly, Sergio and of course Stefano the owner and all the staff simply cannot do enough for you! Service is excellent, professional, welcoming and efficient.

The food. Simply put this is one of the best restaurants around! The food is consistently a very high standard from both the specials board and the menu. The chicken liver start is to die for!

We have been to La Roma for family meals, out with friends, and for a romantic meal as a couple. This visit was for a family celebration.

Cosy, good atmosphere, nice decor with artwork on the walls. La Roma is a hidden gem! I look forwards to our next visit! Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craigside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Shocked!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Shocked in a great way. Thought about trying here a couple of times but was happy with my usual choice for Italian food. Wish I'd followed my instinct and tried here earlier. From the attentive patient staff to the lovely fresh food 10/10. My wife had the seafood risotto add I had the spare ribs as usual. Best Ive had in a long time I am happy to report.
Its going to be a regular haunt from now on.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockyk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Roma Restaurant also viewed

Blackrod, Bolton
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to La Roma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing