We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly stay, shame about the price of the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Ranked #48 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The staff were friendly, I checked in just before 5pm, which took a matter of minutes, I was pleased with the standard of the room. I ordered a meal from the limited menu, as its an Express Hotel, I wouldn't have expected food to be available. I had a jacket potato, which cost £8.95, with a small salad and 2 pieces of garlic bread, which I thought was steep though, apart from that it was an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for your comments.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

We arrived at the hotel for a stopover on the way home from Manchester Airport. The hotel is quite easy to get to being just a few minutes drive from the motorway exit. We arrived at the hotel at about 19.45 and checked into our room very quickly. The hotel reception area and bedrooms are extremely clean throughout and the beds very comfortable.
The hotel has a limited menu for evening meal so we chose to eat at the pub next to the hotel. Unfortunately this was not a good choice as we found it to be quite grubby with the food to be of a disappointing standard. It is a 2 for 1 pub and maybe we caught it on a bad night although doubt we would ever return if we stayed at the hotel again. When we returned to the hotel there was a strong smell of curry which seemed to carry all the way to our room. Breakfast is the usual standard Holiday Inn Express range and quite satisfying. The only staff members we met during our stay where part of the Reception Team and were very welcoming and professional.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank legend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for feedback about the hotel.

We do not recommend the pub next door to the hotel due to the amount of complaints we receive but although the menu we offer in the hotel is limited we would normally always have specials to accompany the menu and every dish I guarentee will be served with a smile.

I hope it will not deter you from staying with us again.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This must be about the 15th time I've stayed here and it has always been fine.

This would be my default choice in Manchester if i don't need need to be in the city center. The price is always very good, particularly when compared to other Holiday Inns and HIE in the city. Normally the rate is somewhere between £45 and £55 which makes it cheaper than Travelodge or Premier Inn equivalents and at for that you also get breakfast thrown in and there is a bar on site to use.

over the past year or so they have also started serving food in the evening. Not a huge choice but reasonably priced, however i have never eaten there yet. There is a pub next door, not sure what it is but have also never used that as it looks like a standard 2 for 1 style pub. I always have a delivery dominoes when I stay here and eat in my room which the hotel have no problem with you doing and will even give you various menu options if you ask (even though they are now doing their own food). Not much choice of other restaurants in the area and certainly nothing to walk to.

If you like cycling and have time after your day at work then bring your bike. There is a track at the rear of the hotel which goes all the way to media city and I have made a big circuit of Manchester a few times whilst staying here. Nice way to spend a couple of hours before dinner.

Staff are very friendly and check in and out efficient. The only think I would say is that some of the rooms (carpets more than anything0 are now looking a bit worse for wear and could do with replacing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank animalthatswims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Hi,

This is great feedback about the hotel and good to hear that we are getting it right at Manchester East.

I take your point about some of the carpets which are scheduled in a refurbishment plan for later this year ans 2013.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the coldplay concert , clean, comfy and very helpful staff ! A little way out of town but taxis readily available at reasonable prices. Great place to stay !

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaylenMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thanks for your great comments.

Hope to see you at the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed here for two nights as my husband and i were going to see coldplay.
The hotel itself is just like a travelodge.our room was down ata corner on the ground floor looking onto the car park,it was an ok room but was designed for a disabled person,it was pretty quiet though which was good.
Breakfast,cereal,yoghurts,but not to much hot food.You only got scrambled egg,sausage and beans which wasn't the greatest so didn't bother on the morning we were leaving.
The bar is fairly pricey too,even for soft drinks as the drinks machine and ice machine were both out of order.
Next door to hotel is a nice bar/restaurant called the bandstand where all main meals are two for one,result,but closes at 10pm.
All in all not a bad stay,quite good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoobydoo22167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thanks for your feedback, its greatly appreciated and will be passed on to the rest of the team.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

booked this hotel as was attending a concert at the Apollo and was really satisfied with stay. The location is just outside the city centre easily accessed by buses which run every few minutes just outside the hotel. There are plenty of small shops and bars in the area and a Tesco 24hour store. The hotel is clean and the service is excellent. We had a peaceful nights sleep in a clean comfortable bed. This is not the Hilton so dont expect luxury but it is clean comfortable and offers a really good selection for breakfast included in price.

Room Tip: rooms are fairly roomy but bathrooms tiny................no bath just showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wholelottaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thanks for your great comments and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express - modern, clean and functional. Room comfortable with all the facilities of budget hotel - the lack of a bath wasn't an issue for us but those who prefer a bath to a shower will be disappointed. Not an extensive range of food at breakfast but the buffet was kept well-stocked. Normally the hotel like this would justify at least a "good" rating but our first night was ruined by drunken youths on a stag night yelling, swearing and banging doors from 2am to 4am. With thin walls and doors there was no escaping the noise, making sleep impossible. The staff seemed happy to tolerate this behaviour but other Trip Advisor reviews confirm this is a common problem in this hotel and frankly the more responsible guests deserve better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

I am really sorry about the level of noise created by some of the other guests at the hotel. We do try to Police this situation as much as possible. I hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
3.2 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
2.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
2.8 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#68 of 120 in Manchester
851 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester East

Address: Debdale Park 21 Wall Way | Hyde Road, Manchester M18 7WY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Manchester
#30 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#37 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £48 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn East Manchester East is just 1 mile from the M60 motorway, Junction 24, and M67, Junction 1. Rates include continental breakfast with hot choices and free car parking and coach access. We are just 2 miles from City of Manchester Stadium, Sport City and Manchester Velodrome home of British Cycling, and a short taxi journey to Old Trafford Stadium, home of Manchester United Football Club.All rooms offer wifi access, telephone and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. Manchester International Airport is 15 minutes away, whilst an hour's drive by motorway from the hotel will take you to the English Lake District and to the seaside coastal resorts of Blackpool, and the city of Liverpool. Within Manchester city centre are major and small art galleries and museums, including the Tate North, the new Lowry at Salford Quays, the City Art Gallery, the Manchester Museum and the Museum of Science and Industry , as examples. Whether you decide to do shopping in the Trafford Centre or attend a concert at the MEN Arena, you are always welcome at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, Gorton, Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Manchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing