We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but not the best...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Ranked #47 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Fleet, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OK but not the best...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

I recently stayed here on business and was greeted by a queue at check in of about 15 people in front of me. I have to say though that most of the desks were manned and they were doing a good job of checking everyone in as fast as they could.
The room was comfortable, clean and of a good size.
The TV was an old fashioned CRT TV and I could not swivel this round to watch from the desk.
I ordered room service and there wasn't much choice here, burgers, burgers and more burgers....so I ordered a burger. The food was ok but the onion rings were indedible , I think they had been fried before and then fried again , they were really solid.
The bathroom was ok but a little tired. I was surprised that there weren't any tissues available and no range of toiletries but to be honest the price of the room probably reflected this lack of extras.
Breakfast was ok with a good choice of options.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKNiclak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,568
    1,808
    802
    273
    183
See reviews for
1,011
2,072
343
534
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We have been using Bewley's Hotel at Manchester Airport now for a number of years and it is in the perfect location for an airport departure or arrival. Adjacent to Terminal 3, it could not be better situated. The hotel runs free transportation to the terminals which is ideal. The rooms are smart and comfortable and we have always found the staff helpful and extremely friendly. The food has always been good and the Irish Breakfast is a challenge, especially as it is a help yourself buffet style. Check out the Internet there are usually deals to be had and sign up for the BEWLEY'S group newsletter.

Room Tip: The reservation staff are very good and if booking online then request a quiet room away from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reacher33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax,England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

My sister-in-law & I shared a room the night before our flight to NYC. The check in was smooth, and we left our car in the car park for the duration of our holiday, brilliant. There was a free shuttle bus to the terminal and back, brilliant.
The receptionist was efficient & pleasant.
We move on to the rooms or rather finding the room!!! What a confusing rabbit warren of a hotel - I would hate to think I was trying to escape a fire in there. Perhaps I'm being picky, but the room was in need of a facelift and the TV was out of the ark - for the price of a room - I'm sure they could do some upgrades there.
On the plus side, the pillows were great - very comfy as were the beds. For November, the room was cold and the shower was rubbish - but for one night it was adequate.
Because of the location, I would return - a captive audience I think.
Tip - bring a bottle with you if you'd like a drink - the bar is expensive.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bramley9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

just had to put this on my list off hotels possible one off the best in the airport area double room was tops good start to a long journey to the carribean with a lot off friends well 35 in all that was at this hotel alone the bar staff were brilliant think they only have a small amout at one time but when we arived it was all hands to the pumps would have loved breakfast but flight was to early will use this one again along with the soul crew

Room Tip: think the room are all the same but good and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenneth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gairloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We have stayed here a few times and have found the staff, in the restaurant,reception staff, shuttle bus drivers, so friendly, professional and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. The restaurant food very good and favourable priced compared to some airport hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We have stayed in other airport hotels previously. Bewleys compares with the best of them and is far better than others I could name.We booked a Fly and Stay package with the three course dinner and have to say that, from arriving at the hotel until we returned a week later to collect our car, there was nothing to complain about.
I am partially sighted and have some balance problems so requested an easy access room, which was provided, the receptionist even checking that the room they were offering me was suitable when I arrived.
Check-in was simple with courteous receptionists who dealt with our booking and car parking quickly and efficiently. Not so the couple next to us but that wasn't the receptionist's fault - they fussed about having to hand over their keys and constantly interrupted her asking questions about things she'd already told them. I don't know how she stayed patient!
The room was clean and comfortable and more than adequate for a stay prior to flying from the airport.
The Courtesy Bus drivers lived up to the name. They were courteous and helped my husband with the luggage and the buses ran frequently, allowing us to use the Night Before Check -In and return to the hotel.
We thoroughly enjoyed the Set Meal - plenty of choice, well-cooked and beautifully presented. Wine was no more expensive than we have payed anywhere else and I only wish we had been staying long enough to try the Full Irish breakfast -a fellow traveller told us it was excellent value and quality.
On our return from holiday we were picked up quickly by another pleasant driver and the return of our vehicle was dealt with efficiently by reception, once again.
We will definitely stay here again, hopefully to also enjoy that breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

The hotel s ideally located for the main terminals of Manchester Airport. Their FREE shuttle bus service to and from the airport and rail stations is a huge plus. The rooms are clean and spacious, offering good room service choices but the drinks prices are rather steep- even for Britain's dreadful pricing system. The rooms have great TVs and the bistro restaurant's food is plentiful and tasty. The prices, again, are a bit high but it is a captive audience really and I suppose they have to make a living! We shall definitely stay here again as we can fly home to Spain at a decent time by staying here. Value for money, too!

Room Tip: We stayed in room380 and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank But2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#58 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Property: Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Address: Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4HL, England (Formerly Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#35 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
#36 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport (formerly Bewleys Hotel) is located just minutes from terminals one and three of Manchester Airport. A complimentary shuttle service to both the airport and train stations is also provided for added convenience. Quality and value in warm friendly surroundings is what this stylish hotel is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Manchester
Airport Bewleys Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing