We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing pre-holiday stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Ranked #47 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing pre-holiday stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Thie is the first time we have booked an airport hotel prior to an early start ski holiday. The reception was good and the staff friendly and helpful. The bar was comfortable and the food basic but good with good service. Where the hotel disappointed was the rooms. They were in need of refurbuishment and there was an overwhelming smell of stale cigarette smoke which could not be removed by keeping the window open. Friends in an adjoining room found there's to behave the same problem. The transport service to the airport was good in the morning but disappointng on the journey home when our party waas split up despite their being plenty of room for people and kit.The driver appeared to think that having half of two parties rather than transporting one full party was a better deal for all those involved. Very tiresome after an already difficult journey back with four children. Though the price was very competitive we would not want to go back because of the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you for your comments. The older wing of the hotel will be undergoing a refurbishment programme in 2013. The hotel has recently become a non-smoking hotel and your comments have allowed us to ensure these rooms are included in the refurbishment. We have more than one bus ferrying passengers to and from all the airport terminals and we must ensure that the passenger limit regulations are adhered too. I do hope that you would reconsider your decision to stay at the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,627
    1,860
    818
    286
    196
See reviews for
1,044
2,137
353
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Booked a pre-holiday package here for one night that included a room, dinner & parking. Very handy for Terminal 1, however, I would recommend using the courtesy bus as there are a couple of very busy roundabouts to negotiate. The car parking system is quite simple i.e. find yourself an unnumbered slot, hook your ID label onto your rear-view mirror & lock it up. Ours was kept on-site for the duration of our holiday, so no lengthy wait for it to be brought to us on our return. The reception staff & the bus drivers were friendly, helpful & courteous. The rooms were quiet & clean and the hotel location was very good.

Room Tip: I doubt there's a bad room here, the most important thing is the triple glazing to minimise air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirlee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Reviewer, I am pleased you felt our service met with your satisfaction and thank you for taking the time to share your comments on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel the night before our flight. It's our second stay in the last 4 months and we liked it the first time and wasn't disappointed the second time.The rooms are comfy clean and modern with everything from a kettle to an iron. The bar downstairs is huge with leather chairs and coffee tables and a great atmosphere. The restaurant serves good food and the staff are polite and helpful. We can't fault it. We have stayed in many hotels and this is one of the better ones. We shall be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Reviewer, I would like to thank you for your kind comments. It gives me great pleasure and reassurance to know that we are providing our guests with the service and standard we aspire to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England UK
Level Contributor
231 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Having made a genuine mistake by booking on wap whilst travelling very tired I booked the wrong 1 night - Emma, the extremely cold manager on the front desk simply said I have to pay again, this was after realising I had made a genuine mistake.

Paid a much higher rate so paid twice for one night.

I could have even accepted paying the difference!

I have stated at all Manchester airport hotels, many excellent, this is not one of them.

Next the room service food quality - the burger was £13.95 and it was a joke, the cheapest nastiest ingredients - wouldn't have looked out of place for £1 on Blackpool prom.

Shambles through and through and rundown and bed-sit style inside.

Lady who delivered the room service food was pleasant, just a shame what she was delivering.

Never ever again - premier inn are incompatible to this dive.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aash23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Reviewer I feel your comments are unfair and having investigated the matter would like to put the record straight. You did indeed book the wrong night with Expedia.com. As the booking was made via a separate agent, Emma asked you to ring them and cancel the booking, she offered to book you into the hotel at the best available rate for the evening. Whilst I am aware that the rate offered was higher than your previous booking we were unable to match the price for that date as you had been able to avail of a reduced rate for advanced bookings. Your comments regarding the room and food are unjust and I am proud of the service and standards that we offer to our guests at Bewley’s Hotel Manchester Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This is a very well located hotel right at the airport- so close in fact that one does not even need to get the free shuttle bus to get there. Rooms are excellent and surprisingly very quite being so close to the airport. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection- self service. I held a conference at the hotel also and found it an excellent choice. Staff very responsive. Coffee tea lunch all served on time. Meeting rooms are adequate with a good choice depending on numbers

Room Tip: No need to get shuttle to the hotel- it is that close. (unless you have bags)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat1955021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put a review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased we were able to meet all your requirements and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Lying in bed at the minute in this hotel.Changed room since our arrival.We are a family of six with two rooms.Both of the so called non smoking rooms on the third floor absolutely stink of nicotine.Carpets dirty and don't want to walk on them in bare feet.
Bedding clean and bathroom modern.Location fantastic.Modern bar and restaurant,kids menu terrible and main menu selection okay and standard of food okay.All the staff have been lovely.
The smell of the corridors and rooms the biggest problem for non smokers.Non smoking rooms deffinately not non smoking.
Wouldn't stay here again personally,but I am really anti smoking,so if smoking not an issue for you,then this hotel will be fine.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1234emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Used this hotel before our xmas break and parked the car for 8 days, the service was good, the room was comfortable although a ittle cold at first, had an meal at night in the hotel which was lovely. On our return the bus was there in no time, would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyCalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#59 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Property: Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Address: Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4HL, England (Formerly Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#35 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#36 Business Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport (formerly Bewleys Hotel) is located just minutes from terminals one and three of Manchester Airport. A complimentary shuttle service to both the airport and train stations is also provided for added convenience. Quality and value in warm friendly surroundings is what this stylish hotel is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Manchester
Airport Bewleys Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing