We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Ranked #47 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not impressed!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

After returning from Italy, and the very friendly Italian staff in hotels, this was a bitter disappointment. Except for one person in the restaurant at breakfast none of the staff showed any interest at all. On a positive side the shuttle bus was efficient and the driver very pleasant. Our room could have done with a good vacumming. Glad it was only one night and not too expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaO165_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay on Trip Advisor, I am disappointed to learn that you found it to be lacking after you trip to Italy.

We work hard to make the guest experience an enjoyable one and on this occasion, it would seems that we did not achieve this and for that I am truly sorry. Our Customer Service training and subsequent skills are extremely important to us and is an ongoing focus for 2014. We are fully aware how important first impressions are and I am confident that should you choose to stay with us again we would be able to turn the impression that you have been left with around.

I would be happy to assist with any future bookings should you wish to contact me directly.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,645
    1,879
    825
    294
    200
See reviews for
1,058
2,163
356
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

In the past I have been rather negative about Bewleys but this time I have no complaints of any kind. The Reception was very busy but the staff carried out their duties quietly and efficiently. The walking route from terminals 1 and 3 has changed and I think it should be signed better as it is quicker to walk than wait for the hotel bus.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kendoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review you recent experience at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport. I am happy that we have managed to change the impression you have been left with previously, it is always nice to hear when this happens as we do work hard to make the guest experience an efficient, friendly and comfortable one.

I would hope that you would consider using us again in the future and should this be the case then we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A great way to start a Holiday.
Excellent location for all 3 terminals.
Booked 1 night accommodation, evening dinner, 7 days parking, for an excellent price.
Well organised re-car, for parking and pick up. Good quality room, and an excellent evening dinner. Hotel staff were really helpful and courteous too.
Definitely a relaxed way to start a get-away

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your lovely review regarding your recent stay at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport.

I do understand that there is a great deal of choice available to you when choosing accommodation in and around the Airport complex and therefore we a truly grateful for your booking.

I am delighted to hear that we were able to provide you with a relaxing start to your get-away and we look forward to the opportunity to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I love using this hotel. I buy the Park and Fly pachage as it is not much more than the room on it's own, but you get 8 days of parking free! That has saved me a lot of money in parking fees.
I the rooms are of a very high standard, and the food in the resaurant is superb. I used Bewleys this time as I taveling to New York the next day so it made sense to stop over the night before and get a good night sellp. The staff are really friendly and I'll choose Bewleys over the Crown and Radission every time I fly from Manchester.
I've used Bewleys half a dozen times recently and never been disappointed with the fantastic high standard they keep.
I will recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to fly fron Manchester on any trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lamby180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

What a fabulous way to start your review, thank you so much.

It is great to hear that we continue to provide you with a high quality stay, we are extremely grateful for your continued loyalty to Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport and look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alva, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here the night before I had an interview in Manchester. Picked up by the shuttle bus - excellent service. Went for a couple of drinks in the bar - Ok atmosphere. On returning to the room we noticed this box by the side of the bed - when we had a good look at it, it was some sort of trap!! I am petrified of any rodents! The room was very dusty - which didn't help my friends chest infection! Anyway we got a new room which was better and Jordan (I think) was lovely and accommodating. Had a really good sleep - very comfy beds. Woke up and my friend had small bite marks on her leg and back. We told the manager Emma (I think) and she took contact details and said she would get back to us. She left a voicemail and said ' housekeeping have thoroughly inspected your room and nothing has been found, thanks'. And that was that!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience on Trip Advisor.

I was sorry to learn about the issue with your room. The box you found was a precautionary measure that we use across the hotel to continually check for evidence of bed bugs. As I am sure you aware, these insects are bought into hotels by guests that have travelled to foreign climes and we have the strictest procedures in place to ensure that should they be found they are dealt with straight away and thus are unable to spread.

The incident you have mentioned in your review has been fully investigated. We have a team within our Housekeeping department that have been specially trained to inspect any rooms brought into question and on this occasion Emma was correct in so far as informing you that the room you were in was clear but I admit this was perhaps not delivered in a way that would have been expected and for this I am truly sorry.

Should you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me directly at gr.manchesterairport@bewleyshotels.com and I will be only too happy to help.

I do hope that this has not deterred you from choosing Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport again in the future and do hope we will be able to restore your faith in us in the future.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Staff efficient, but not welcoming. No smile just doing what appeared to be just a job. Whatever happened to customer service. Rooms very basic, Premier inn would have been better. Food in restaurant better than expected tho and service slightly better and quick, so not all bad. Just glad our room was paid for by someone else, £110 for just the room and bus across the road for the airport not value for money. Well trained and welcoming staff would have made it more palatable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. All comments, both positive and negative, are extremely important to us as they help us see what we are doing well or indeed what we can do to improve the product and service that we offer.

I am disappointed to learn that you were underwhelmed by your experience. We do strive to provide a clean, friendly and comfortable stay to all of our guests and certain aspects of this appear to have been lacking on this occasion and for this I am truly sorry. Bewleys Hotels takes Customer Service extremely seriously and as such, provides on-going training and development sessions to ensure that all of our Team Members are equipped with the right tools to do the job. Your comments have been forward to the relevant Heads of Department for them to show their teams just how important first impressions are to guests like yourself.

I am confident that should you consider using Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport again, we would be able to change the impression that you have been left with and prove to you that the service you received on your recent visit is not indicative of what we strive to provide on a daily basis.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you need to make a future booking and I will be only too happy to help.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Excellent shuttle service from the station and back to the airport next morning, Comfortable room, staff very polite and helpful. Good food, good service, will definitely use the hotel again, glasses of wine fairly expensive, by a bottle !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your short stay with us at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport.

I am glad that we were able to offer you a clean and comfortable place to stay before your early morning flight and really do hope that we will be able to do so again in the future.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#57 of 116 in Manchester
2,906 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Property: Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Address: Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4HL, England (Formerly Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#35 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
#36 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport (formerly Bewleys Hotel) is located just minutes from terminals one and three of Manchester Airport. A complimentary shuttle service to both the airport and train stations is also provided for added convenience. Quality and value in warm friendly surroundings is what this stylish hotel is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Manchester
Airport Bewleys Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing