We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not even close”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Ranked #47 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not even close”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was taken in by all the good reviews. The place is very difficult to find from the airport and a bit of a walk if you have heavy luggage, but they do have a convenient shuttle. It looks nice enough from the outside, but once you get beyond the reception desk it goes down hill quickly. The halls are dingy, most of the hotel smells of smoke, the carpets in the room are nasty, the bed was not comfy, they don't even offer wake-up calls. It wasn't even that cheep. Avoid this one if you can.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank laetulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport. I am sorry to hear that the hotel wasn’t to your liking but completely understand that everyone’s tastes are different.

I was concerned to hear about the smell of smoke in the building as the hotel is completely non smoking? We have an area at the front of the hotel for anyone wishing to smoke to go out to, but this is at the front of Reception and away from the doors, nowhere near to the bedrooms or other public areas.

With regards to the wake up calls, all of the bedrooms are equipped with alarm clocks and instructions if required; our Reception Team are available 24 hours per day and will happily assist with setting these. As we are a busy Airport hotel, we are unable to take the responsibility of missing a wakeup call in error, or indeed a system failure hence the decision to implement the alarm clocks which are checked on a daily basis to ensure good working order.

Once again I am sorry that you were disappointed in you stay with us. If the need ever arises again then we would be happy to welcome you back and I am confident that we would be able to go some way towards changing the impression you have been left with.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,601
    1,834
    812
    279
    191
See reviews for
1,029
2,102
351
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a park and fly again 5th one now, super service, fast and efficient , no waiting or delays, great food and drinks at good prices I asked for a ground floor room near reception and that's just what I got 2 double beds for the price of 2 singles, only 4 miles on the car clock they use a park close by, will be back again in 2 months

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubba193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your great review of your recent stay with us at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport. I have looked at your other reviews also and am delighted to see that we are still ticking the right boxes for you.

I do understand that there is a great deal of choice available to you when choosing accommodation in and around the Airport complex and therefore we a truly grateful for your continued loyalty.

I see we will be welcoming you back again in a couple of months, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is anything I can be of assistance with.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The staff were lovely and the room/ bathroom was spotless. The downsides are the quality of the main meals for the price you pay (avoid the 'bolognaise' at all costs), as well as the fact we didn't sleep a wink because of a gush of water falling from a faulty waste pipe all night outside our bedroom window onto the hard roof below. It was extremely loud even with the window closed. That said you can't complain too much about the price given it's location. Average all over.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wilkie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience with us at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport.

I am obviously pleased that you were impressed with our team and our rooms however I was sorry to hear that you were not overwhelmed by the food you received. I have ensured that these comments have been passed to both the Food and Beverage Manager and the Head Chef who use comments like this to better the offering that we provide throughout the food outlets.

With regards to your sleepless night, I am so sorry you were disturbed by the noise outside. I am unsure from your comments if you reported this issue to the Reception Team on departure and would be interested to find out the room number you stayed in so that I can check that this issue has been resolved. I do understand that this does not change the stay over you had, but I would like to ensure it can be prevented for future guests. Please feel free to contact me directly at gr.manchesterairport@bewleyshotels.com

I do hope this has not deterred you from choosing the hotel again in the future. I am confident that we can improve on the average impression that you have been left with and hope we are given the opportunity to try.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We chose Bewleys based on the fact that there was a shuttle service to and from the airport and for an extra £20 charge you can check in as early as you like. We flew in and arrived around 9 am, the courtesy phone for the shuttle request was answered promptly, politely and efficiently and we were picked up within 5 minutes. The bus driver was very pleasant and helpful, check in was equally friendly, efficient and straightforward. Our room was clean and quiet and perfectly fine. We were attending a family function all day and during the evening and left at 7 am the next morning for our return flight. It was such a nice morning and the airport terminal is so close, we chose to walk rather than take the bus and it was good to have that option. Happy to recommend Bewleys as a very reasonably priced airport hotel. Only issue we had was that the pillows were very fat man made fibre which refused to be beaten into submission, we ditched them onto the floor in the end rather than end up with a stiff neck!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paulyn_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you had a fuss free stay that went according to plan.

I cannot tell from your review when you stayed but we have listened to the comments about the pillows in the bedrooms and this week have taken delivery of brand new pillows that are being rolled out into all of the rooms; I do hope you will be able to experience these on a future stay when we can welcome you back for another convenient, friendly and quiet stay.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great location being a 5 minute walk for all terminals, although I believe there is a free shuttle bus if you dont want to do the walk.

Check in was a breeze and we got the high floor room we requested.

Rooms are fairly basic as you would expect but they were absolutely fine and there was no outside noise so a good night sleep was had.

Restaurant/Bar was great, super quick service and reasonably priced.

All in all, it did the job of being a convenient airport hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your great review of your recent stay with us at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport.

I do understand that there is a great deal of choice available to you when choosing accommodation in and around the Airport complex and therefore we a truly grateful for your booking.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again, so we can continue to build on the good impressions we have already made.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here recently before flying out on holiday.
The hotel is in a great location especially as we were flying from terminal 1 which is only a 5 minute walk away.
We had booked a package for 8 days parking, an overnight stay and a 3 course meal.
When checking in the lady on reception kindly informed us if we ate before 7pm our little one could eat for free, so we booked a table and headed off up to the room.
The rooms are nice and big, they are clean and modern and have everything you need, my son was really impressed as he got his own double bed and not the usual fold up bed you get!
The food in the restaurant was really nice. For starters we had prawn cocktail and bury black and white pudding. Mains were steak and pepper sauce and pork steak and BBQ ribs. For dessert my wife had date and toffee pudding and I asked if I could pay extra and have the cheese board as it was not on the set menu.
All the food was really tasty and everyone enjoyed it.
This is the bit where people might think I'm been a bit fussy but little things let it down.
When we had our mains no one brought any more cutlery and as it had been taken after our starters we didn't have any. We tried to get someone's attention but as they were busy we ended up taking it off the next table so we could eat. Also my main came with coleslaw, it came in a paper pot on the plate and was wet and soggy. Finally when the bill came it was wrong which meant another long wait while we got it sorted.
It was a real shame about these few things as if it had not been for this everything would have been excellent!
This has not put us off staying here again as I would still rate it as very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tired-out-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your very informative review on Trip Advisor. It is only through open and honest feedback that we can evaluate our business as a whole and see what we are doing well or indeed where there is room for some improvement.

I am glad that on the most part you had an enjoyable stay with us but slightly disappointed that there were areas that perhaps lacked attention to detail. I have passed your comments on to our Food and Beverage Manager for him to use with his team. First impressions are extremely important and feedback like this helps us to give real life examples as to how a stay is impacted if the little things are overlooked.

I am glad to hear that you have not been deterred from staying with us again, and therefore if the need arises we look forward to the opportunity of being able to welcome you back.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel the night before an early flight to Spain. It is very good value for money with very clean rooms and more than friendly staff. The transfer to the Terminal in the early morning was on time with an efficient and friendly driver. We were checked in by Alison who was a very helpful Receptionist and should be commended on the was she treated us. We also took advantage of the FREE Safety Deposit Box, which was bonus. The bar was clean and well maintained and the bar staff were polite, helpful with first rate service. The meals were good value for money and of a high standard. Would not stay at any other Manchester Airport Hotel.
We have already rebooked for June.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport.

It is always great to hear when members of our team have made such an impression that they are named in a review. It is such a boost to morale and I always make sure that these comments are shared with the team and relevant Heads of Department.

I am glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a clean, comfortable and friendly stopover and delighted that we will have the opportunity to do it all over again in June when we welcome you back.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#58 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Property: Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Address: Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4HL, England (Formerly Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#35 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
#36 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport (formerly Bewleys Hotel) is located just minutes from terminals one and three of Manchester Airport. A complimentary shuttle service to both the airport and train stations is also provided for added convenience. Quality and value in warm friendly surroundings is what this stylish hotel is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Manchester
Airport Bewleys Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing