We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overnight stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Ranked #48 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Halifax
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was the start of an eight week holiday flying to Australia and sailing back,and we were not disappointed.The staff were very welcoming and efficient.We booked in at 2pm..and were promptlyer given access to our room,which was all we expected.It was beautiful and clean and our bed was very comfortable.We had been picked up at the train terminal by the complimentary bus.The food was of good quality and reasonably priced.The following morning we had an early morning call and had a buffet breakfast before being picked up by the complimentary bus and transported to the airport terminal.We will definitely use this hotel again jf we fly from Manchester

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriciahalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to pen your great review for your fellow travelers to see.

I am so glad that we were able to provide you with a clean, comfortable and friendly stay that allowed your amazing holiday to get off to the relaxing start it deserved.

Should you require any assistance when making your future booking then please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We look forward to the opportunity of being able to welcome you back.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,570
    1,813
    802
    274
    187
See reviews for
1,011
2,080
344
535
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

It made sense to use the hotel for a night before an early flight as it's close to the terminals and offers very cheap parking, compared to the official airport short/medium stay. There is a 24-hour shuttle to terminals 3,2, and 1 (in that order, I think) leaving every 15 minutes and this service is not only invuable but really well organised with very helpful drivers.

There's not much to say about the hotel. It's a block-hole 3-star airport hotel - rooms quite basic - no potions or lotions in the bathroom (pump-action shower gel etc) but clean and comfortable beds. Importatly, no noise from the airport or roads. I had a twin room with plenty of space, good TV, desk and a small sofa. This is the kind of hotel you happily spend a night but wouldn't want a week.

Due to my early departure I didn't venture into the restaurant - but it was quite large, which is always a good sign. There's a gym but again, not used by me. The staff were helpful and on the way back I walked from Terminal 3 to the hotel in less than 10 minutes. There are other on-airport hotels, notably a Hilton, Crowne Plaza and Radisson Blu. This was 15% cheaper for the room and had lower cost car-parking. This felt like about the right price-point for the type of place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seat2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Review

Thank you so much for you honest and positive review of Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport. It would seem that we have achieved all the things that we set out to do on daily basis and have provided a clean, comfortable and friendly overnight stay at a reasonable price.

I do hope that if the need arises you would consider using the hotel again in the future as we would look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

2nd time we have stayed here . Good hotel when you have an early start . Clean room nice and quite . Very efficient check in and nice staff on the desk . We had a very nice evening meal . We had to leave early but there was still a buffet breakfast . They can provide a free shullt bus to the terminal , we decided to walk to get a little exercise before the flight . We will be back .

Room Tip: room as high as possible are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your great review of your recent stay with us at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport.

I do understand that there is a great deal of choice available to you when choosing accommodation in and around the Airport complex and therefore we a truly grateful for your loyalty.

We look forward to the opportunity of being able to welcome you back and continuing to build of the good impressions that you have been left with.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having used other airport hotels, Bewleys did not meet the same level of service. Checking in was very tedious and took far too long. However, our experience of the restaurant was very good and excellent value for money. As we had arranged for parking with the hotel the airport transfer and collection was faultless. On returning and collecting our car keys from reception, which again took some time, we were not able to exit the hotel car park because the barrier refused to accept the ticket. Embarrassingly, we created a very long queue of irate drivers. We were then informed by one of the hotel drivers that the barrier had been temperamental all day.
Overall good value but the service was not of the standard offered by other hotels at the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 873David_L873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport.

I can see from your review that on the whole you had a comfortable stay with us and that there were a couple of instances that you believe let the stay down.

As I am sure you understand, we operate a large and busy Airport hotel with flights arriving and departing at all hours of the day, although we aim to provide a quick and efficient Reception service there are occasions when the frequency of the flights and the influx of the guests make this more challenging than usual. Please accept my apologies if you were caused any inconvenience by this.

I am also sorry that these delays also coincided with a mechanical issue of our barriers. As with any type of equipment there are occasions when things can break and unfortunately this was one of these times. We use external engineers to fix any problems that arise with these and aim to do this as soon as we are aware of the issue. This is a rare occurrence and beyond our control but I do understand that hassle that this can cause and I am truly sorry for this.

I do hope that should you ever require accommodation near to Manchester Airport again in the future you have not been deterred from considering another stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance with this.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Booked 'stay and fly' package. Wasn't sure what to expect as we usually stay at The Hilton.
Check-in was fine but very busy, staff friendly and helpful. Two rooms together, both were clean, spacious and ideal for us as a family. We ate in the restaurant: we expected the usual rubbish served up in airport hotels and instead had a delicious meal with excellent service, at a good price! Check out was easy, we waited a few minutes for a shuttle bus to the terminal. On our return, the shuttle bus took us back to the hotel where our car keys were waiting for us at reception, so we were straight into our car. Really great service at a very good price (relatively), will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We emailed the hotel and followed up with a phone call to ensure we were allocated rooms next to one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlliC_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport.

I am so glad that we were able to create a good impression on your first visit and provide you and your family with a clean, comfortable and efficient stay. We hope that we take the stress and hassle out of an early morning flight with our Park, Stay and Fly packages and from your comments I can see that this worked for you.

I do hope that if you require accommodation in or around the Airport again in the future you will consider staying with us again, as we would certainly welcome the opportunity to welcome you back.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our stay did not get off to a good start when it took 50minutes to check in. When we got to the room it was spacious, but smelt very musty. The windows are only double glazed,which is not adequate, the plane noise was very loud. I did not get a good night sleep at all. The only positive for the hotel was that the airport transfers went smoothly. But to be honest I would not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shropshirenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport. All feedback, both positive and negative, is important to us as it helps us see our business through the eyes of our guests.

Please accept my apologies that on the occasion you arrived to check in, you experienced a delay. As I am sure you understand, we operate a busy Airport hotel with flights arriving and departing at all hours of the day, although we aim to provide a quick and efficient check in service there are occasions when the frequency of the flights and the influx of the guests make this more challenging than usual.

As stated in your review, our rooms are double glazed, however, we rarely get complaints regarding external noise from the Airport complex. I am sorry that you were disturbed during the evening and disappointed that from your experience you believe that the hotel is not your first preference.

Should there ever be a need to stay with us again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to allocate you a room away from the runway which may provide a quieter stay. I am confident that we can change the impression you have been left with and hope to hear from you again in the future if you require Airport accommodation.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here before a morning flight from Manchester.

It's everything we could have asked for - except the food, which I will cover in an entirely separate review!

Check in was quick and friendly. The rooms were spacious, clean, well-equipped and modern.

The shuttle service was fantastic and was so easy. Much better than paying less to stay further out and getting a taxi!

I would definitely stay here again, just for the convenience, holiday starting a day early & saving on travelling to Manchester in the morning!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to pen your great review for your fellow travelers to see.

I am so glad that we were able to provide you with a clean, comfortable and friendly stay that allowed your holiday to get off to the relaxing start it deserved.

Should you require any assistance when making your future booking then please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We look forward to the opportunity of being able to welcome you back.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#58 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,785 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Property: Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Address: Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4HL, England (Formerly Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#35 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#36 Business Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport (formerly Bewleys Hotel) is located just minutes from terminals one and three of Manchester Airport. A complimentary shuttle service to both the airport and train stations is also provided for added convenience. Quality and value in warm friendly surroundings is what this stylish hotel is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Manchester
Airport Bewleys Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing